We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's good, but not amazing”

Cerro Catedral Ski Resort
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.49*
and up
Bariloche Ski Lesson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ski and Mountain Resort at Catedral mountain in Bariloche, Patagonia Argentina. Open all-year-round
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Pelotas, RS
Level Contributor
290 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It's good, but not amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

If you go San Carlos de Bariloche, you can pratice your winter Sports at Cerro Catedral. But, these not only the options. The resort offers tracking and other kinds of sports, even in Summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaccottet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,470
    1,376
    388
    105
    69
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great ski place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Not too expensive...! Good option for July trip instead of normal ski time during the end of the year holidays.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AgungP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneglia, Italy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

it was a really nice trip with amazing views on the lakes from over there. we have taken lots of marvellous fotos.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elisa_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Spectacular and entertaining hike not to miss...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Without doubt one of my favorite one day hikes in the last nine months, the views from the top are fantastic but for me, you will be missing the best parts if you take a ski-lift return ticket so go one way (120 pesos as of 24 Jan 2014) and hike all the way round.

To get there, you need to take a bus marked for Catedral from Calle Moreno (the bus stop is one block past Supermercado Uno if walking east along Moreno). You don't need the bus card for this one although you can use it if you want to, it cost me 10 pesos each way.

You will arrive at a huge car park where you need to buy a ticket for the ski lift. I would advise arriving earlier as apparently there are huge queues if you arrive later. Two lifts and not too long later, you will arrive at the top where you can see for miles upon miles. You then follow an easily marked trail (follow Refugio Frey) with plenty of people (its surprising how many people simply buy a return ticket and spend a mere half hour up top).

You will shortly arrive at a small peak where you can see a narrow looking trail around the side of the mountain with fewer people, that's where you are heading. From here on, you simply need to follow the red dots whilst watching your footing. I found the hike from here really entertaining as its not just a simple stroll, you have to walk and climb your way over and around the rocks on the side of the mountain. It didn't feel unsafe at all but I would re-iterate, follow the red dots and just watch your footing and don't get too casual.

The highlight of this hike for me was the three valleys you see, the first whilst you are working your way around the mountain (there is a beautiful, thin weaving river), and the second two, each with its own lake, as your worm your way down towards Refugio Frey, which is on the second lake. It is not really a taxing hike so most should find it pretty relaxing since the uphill is all the ski lift. It could be a little uncomfortable for those with troublesome knees.

Refugio Frey is in a beautiful setting (at the far end of the second lake) and is a fantastic spot to stop for some food, drink or a little sun bath if the weather is good. Its quite busy as there are plenty of day hikers and even more folk camping out there. It should take around 3-4 hours to get here depending on how often you stop.

On leaving the refugio, the views, sadly, are not so spectacular and you follow a dirt path down into the woods (which look a little like what I would imagine the Enchanted Forest would look like). Eventually, you emerge on a ledge from where you can see Lago Gutierrez in the distance, which is very pleasant. The final stint of the three hour descent from Frey however is somewhat dull and drags a little, especially as there is nothing left to see. Back at the car park, you can take the bus from where it dropped you.

For those, like me, that want to hike all the way to save spending money on the ski lift, I would say it is possible in a day so long as you start early, but frankly I think it would have irritated me had I done it. The hike up to the refugio would be quite taxing and not too entertaining. You would then need to climb up, around, and back again to take in everything, before another lengthy decent from Fray...so unless you really want a tough workout and a very long day (or you are camping up there), I would suggest taking the ski lift.

As always, any questions, please give me a shout. Enjoy...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived before 3 bus loads of tourists thank goodness as there is only one window open to buy tickets.
Great views and worth the visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaH274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerro Catedral Ski Resort also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Cerro Catedral Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing