We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic hotel with large rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Appart Hotel Las Piedras
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Hi

This is more like a youth hostel than a hotel. The rooms are in bad shape, bad paints, no electrical outlets next to the bed.
Most of the appliances in the kitchen don't work and there are no ustensils.
Breakfast is mediocre.

Location is wonderful with great view of the lake. Must be a good place to stay if you ski and you are coming with a group of young friends and try to get a very inexpensive hotel. However, we paid something like 80 dollars in December and it was not worth it

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JackTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 42 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2007

My wife and I recently visited Patagonia for 10 days as part of a longer Argentine vacation. Our experience was lovely in all respects except for one glaring, abysmally disappointing exception: the Hotel Las Piedras in Bariloche. We had booked the hotel based on its central, lakeside location, its pleasant appearance from the photos on the internet, and its advertising (with a photo) of a sumptuous breakfast. When we got to the hotel, the lobby was a good deal shabbier looking than the online photos promised. But it was when we got to our room that our hearts really sank. The paint was peeling everywhere, the threadbare carpet was full of cigarette burn holes, the walls and ceiling were splattered with brown and yellow stains, and the ancient, torn curtains hung loosely from bent rods and covered only 2/3 of the harsh streetlights outside the windows. Later, when we tried to make a call from the old rotary-dial phone, we got the front desk, who informed us that no calls outside the hotel could be made from the rooms. The entire place looked like it hadn't had a single day of maintenance since the 1970s, and the small refrigerator ratled and rumbled so loudly that we immediately unplugged it. Then we discovered that both the toilet and bathroom sink leaked copiously, requiring us to place a towel on the bathroom floor. We considered asking for another room, but ours at least had a lake view, and the others we had seen on our walk down the dark hallway (two lightbulbs were burned out in the hall, and remained so during the three days we stayed there) looked even more battered and gloomy. The next morning we went down to the dining room, hoping that the breakfast feast depicted online might redeem our miserable room to some extent. Unfortunately, the actual breakfast bore no resemblance whatsoever to the photos we'd seen. Chipped pitchers of Tang, not orange juice, sat next to a tray of stale medialunes. There were a few slices of lukewarm ham next to cheddar cheese that had clearly spent the night uncovered, with dried edges curling up. A few odd muffins and a pot of weak coffee completed the sad display. None of the fresh fruit, juice, pastries, fresh breads, or other delicacies shown online ever materialized. Finally, completing the pervasive unpleasantness of the place, the young woman who staffed the front desk in the morning and afternoon was was incredibly rude for our entire stay, almost comically so, invariably replying to our greetings and questions with only a cold, fishy stare. I want to emphasize that my wife and I are highly agreeable, easy-to-please travelers, and that we were delighted with the rest of our Argentine vacation. The Hotel Las Piedras was such a miserable exception to the rest of our experience, though, that I felt complelled to write this review. Even in high summer (January/February), when Bariloche is jammed with tourists and lodging can be harder to find, travelers are advised to avoid this absolutely awful hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank robceci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank advican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank solcasella56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gerardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Tullio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bariloche Flat
Hotel Bariloche Flat
#127 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
93 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Surena Hosteria
La Surena Hosteria
#116 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel King's Bariloche
Hotel King's Bariloche
#98 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Soft Bariloche Hotel
Soft Bariloche Hotel
#76 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
387 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#112 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
120 reviews
0 mi away
Hosteria Aitue
Hosteria Aitue
#72 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart Hotel Las Piedras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart Hotel Las Piedras

Address: Calle Sgto a Rolando 127, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GQC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $53 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart Hotel Las Piedras 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and bedfinder AG so you can book your Appart Hotel Las Piedras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing