We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay despite its little problems, and higher price=recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My partner selected this hotel after carefully looking at the map wanted a hotel near the main square. It's more expensive than I would personally would have wanted to spend, but this is a rather well to do area. Still, little issues did pop up, our card keys wouldn't initially work for our assigned room, the batteries on the security lock died, leaving the door unlocked for anyone to walk in, leaving guests potentially a target from someone with the right screwdriver. They did send someone over promptly to fix the security door problem. The sliding door panel hiding the storage area was inoperable.

On the plus side, I liked their neat looking swimming pool, helpful receptionist Dolores, their vertical axis windows, desktop counter space, wifi, included breakfast. In all, despite the little issues and higher price, I'd recommend this place. This place is filled with foreigners, the locals would stay someplace more economical.

The hotel offer laundry service but at a stiff premium at USD 56 for our load, there is a wash and fold service about a block away from the hotel and offers same day service Monday-Saturday if you drop it off when they open at 9am, for our load USD 5; the laundry service was great, nicely folded and nice pleasant attitude.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 896 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel is amazing,we were very satisfied and happy during the days that we stayed there. The hotel is very comfortable, beautiful, organized and the staff very friendly.I do recommend it!! Localization perfect!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Edelweiss during April. This hotel is situated in downtown San Carlos de Bariloche and within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. The age of the hotel is showing but the accommodation was good and clean. The buffet breakfast was not great but acceptable. WiFi is free throughout the hotel. In comparison with other hotels in Argentina I found the staff of the Edelweiss to be a bit reserved - not unfriendly but not spontaneous at all. One almost got the impression that they try to evade as much as possible any contact with guests. In my opinon this hotel is reasonably fair value for money but nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francoiszar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Edelweiss hotel is located on a street with nice restaurants and icecream places within walking distance. Also the city hall and main shopping area is also a short walk from the hotel but in a less noisy area.

This hotel have a nice comfortable lounge area where you can sit with a large group. The rooms are comfortable, some with a window that opens to a balcony- but on the street side. If you want less noisy, choose a room away from window and street side.

Breakfast at the hotel is very good although the sitting may be crowded at times.

Room Tip: Choos a room away from street side if don't want noise. Also, be aware of stray dogs while walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dharmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is probably a '2' but I have given it a '1' to ensure the average score of this place moves from 4! It is not a 4 out of 5 by any stretch of the imagination!

The hotel is miserable, the decor old, the lighting is depressing throughout... Light doesn't seem to be something the hotel lets in either, when the room is cleaned the curtains are drawn... Dismal!

The doors and windows don't shut easily meaning that you can readily hear the sound of other rooms entering and exiting, and the sound of the wind whistling through the windows. The doors are also very thin so you can hear every person who walks past your room and every conversation in a corridor.

The beds are not queen-size, they are standard doubles and the pillows are v uncomfortable (just the 1 pillow each as well).

The pool is okay, there is wifi throughout, the location is good for centro bariloche and the breakfast is ok, though a new toaster which actually toasts the bread would be a simple improvement!

Considering my experiences elsewhere in bariloche, it is the staff at edelweiss I find most disappointing... When you walk in the front door they actually turn away rather than greet you hello.

The porters and some of the breakfast staff were great though to be fair, and very polite.

In short, when there are so many places in Argentina which offer a more thorough and inviting experience than edelweiss I have no idea why anyone would want to stay here...

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at NH Bariloche Edelweiss, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

AvguyKfarSaba_Israel, we are grateful for receiving your comments. Every review helps us to know our guest and its needs, so we can improve. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Bariloche. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We're on our 2nd night and are underwhelmed. The online photos make the rooms look sleek and modern. Instead, you get drab gray/green carpets and some kind of weird faux wood furniture. We booked a room with a king and ended up in aroom with 3 beds. The bathroom is definitely Motel 6 quality - worn grout lines, a weak shower, dim lighting, water that takes forever to heat up. There is no apparent exhaust fan on this windowless bathroom so steam and smells longer - not quite a 5-star experience. Housekeeping is slow at best.

There are no bathrobes or slippers (who gives the 5 star ratings out for the hotels? Or are they purchased?). Wi-fi is spotty. On the plus side, the hotel's generator kept the lights on when the block lost power.

Breakfast buffet is mediocre - watery scrambled eggs, a plate of ham and oily flavorless cheese, some fruits and breakfast breads.

View to the lake is ok but obstructed by ugly concrete and metal buildings.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNTGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, near city center and close to (but not on) the main shopping street. Street-side rooms are noisy, but have some views (although not of the lake); a back room we were originally offered faced into a hill. There is no AC. The swimming pool is indoors on the top floor -- the pool area was so hot that we could not stand being in it at all. Breakfast is great, and staff is very helpful. Nice supermarket is within a few blocks. Bariloche is in a strange state, with the airport open intermittently because of volcano eruptions -- many businesses are closed, and the tourist crowds are down.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.5 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
608 reviews
4.2 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#3 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,642 reviews
1.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bariloche Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bariloche Edelweiss

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 202, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#19 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $102 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bariloche Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will not only stand out for an excellent service… but we will also be remembered for the pleasure of staying at NH Bariloche Edelweiss.Conveniently located in the downtown area, only steps away from Nahuel Huapi lake and the Civic Centre, our refurbished and modernized infrastructure is in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings; mountains, forests and lakes. It is a place that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Bariloche Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing