We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice play to stay in Bariloche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bariloche Edelweiss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice play to stay in Bariloche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Edelweiss hotel is located on a street with nice restaurants and icecream places within walking distance. Also the city hall and main shopping area is also a short walk from the hotel but in a less noisy area.

This hotel have a nice comfortable lounge area where you can sit with a large group. The rooms are comfortable, some with a window that opens to a balcony- but on the street side. If you want less noisy, choose a room away from window and street side.

Breakfast at the hotel is very good although the sitting may be crowded at times.

Room Tip: Choos a room away from street side if don't want noise. Also, be aware of stray dogs while walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dharmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    282
    91
    27
    14
See reviews for
204
258
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This hotel is probably a '2' but I have given it a '1' to ensure the average score of this place moves from 4! It is not a 4 out of 5 by any stretch of the imagination!

The hotel is miserable, the decor old, the lighting is depressing throughout... Light doesn't seem to be something the hotel lets in either, when the room is cleaned the curtains are drawn... Dismal!

The doors and windows don't shut easily meaning that you can readily hear the sound of other rooms entering and exiting, and the sound of the wind whistling through the windows. The doors are also very thin so you can hear every person who walks past your room and every conversation in a corridor.

The beds are not queen-size, they are standard doubles and the pillows are v uncomfortable (just the 1 pillow each as well).

The pool is okay, there is wifi throughout, the location is good for centro bariloche and the breakfast is ok, though a new toaster which actually toasts the bread would be a simple improvement!

Considering my experiences elsewhere in bariloche, it is the staff at edelweiss I find most disappointing... When you walk in the front door they actually turn away rather than greet you hello.

The porters and some of the breakfast staff were great though to be fair, and very polite.

In short, when there are so many places in Argentina which offer a more thorough and inviting experience than edelweiss I have no idea why anyone would want to stay here...

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissHotel, Ventas & Reservas at NH Bariloche Edelweiss, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
AvguyKfarSaba_Israel, we are grateful for receiving your comments. Every review helps us to know our guest and its needs, so we can improve. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Bariloche. Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We're on our 2nd night and are underwhelmed. The online photos make the rooms look sleek and modern. Instead, you get drab gray/green carpets and some kind of weird faux wood furniture. We booked a room with a king and ended up in aroom with 3 beds. The bathroom is definitely Motel 6 quality - worn grout lines, a weak shower, dim lighting, water that takes forever to heat up. There is no apparent exhaust fan on this windowless bathroom so steam and smells longer - not quite a 5-star experience. Housekeeping is slow at best.

There are no bathrobes or slippers (who gives the 5 star ratings out for the hotels? Or are they purchased?). Wi-fi is spotty. On the plus side, the hotel's generator kept the lights on when the block lost power.

Breakfast buffet is mediocre - watery scrambled eggs, a plate of ham and oily flavorless cheese, some fruits and breakfast breads.

View to the lake is ok but obstructed by ugly concrete and metal buildings.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNTGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, near city center and close to (but not on) the main shopping street. Street-side rooms are noisy, but have some views (although not of the lake); a back room we were originally offered faced into a hill. There is no AC. The swimming pool is indoors on the top floor -- the pool area was so hot that we could not stand being in it at all. Breakfast is great, and staff is very helpful. Nice supermarket is within a few blocks. Bariloche is in a strange state, with the airport open intermittently because of volcano eruptions -- many businesses are closed, and the tourist crowds are down.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a reservation in another hotel but they canceled .....so we changed ,as Bariloche was not too busy due to the Chilean Volcano eruption of last june , even they had no ashes ,there was not crowded as a high season .We used to come to ski ,years ago ,and this last winter we had a reservation but couldn t fly as airport was closed ,so we decided to use our ticket when adviced the airport reopen in January . We choosed this hotel , in Bariloche , due to its location , as we came with my friend , was good to go out at night , nice pubs nearby ,as different budget restaurants .Easy to take buses too .Prices were not as high . Only was not good internet charges , and the atention of the receptionist was good with us .Breakfast was complete . Rooms are confortable , our was somehow small , but price was OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baby1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in Jan 2012. Excellent room 401 on the corner with two windows. Very clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful. Bariloche is fairly touristy with lots of restaurants, It has not suffered too much from the volcano unlike Villa Traful which was coated in ash! We hired a car and drove the grand circuit which takes you through Vill Angustura and onto Traful.Car was dreadful but no surprise as the roads were gravel so take care. On the second day we took bikes and rode the Chico circuit and the viws were absolutley fabulous. The ride is quite hard as it is very steep but manageable. We used Bikeway and they are excellent. Also the restaurant estacion Llao Llao which you pass has excellent home made beer and sandwiches. You will want to stop here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here for almost a week. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. The breakfast was included and was great. Complete with fruit, breads, cereal, yogurt, eggs, teas, coffee, juices etc. Great location, easy to walk to main strip. Not lake side, however, so limited views of the lake. Overall, clean, comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Specify smoking or non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJTravelBug33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#34 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Panamericano Bariloche
Panamericano Bariloche
#35 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
3.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#14 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
1.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bariloche Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bariloche Edelweiss

Property: NH Bariloche Edelweiss
Address: Av. San Martin 202 | Bariloche, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALP, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#11 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#22 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#34 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bariloche Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will not only stand out for an excellent service… but we will also be remembered for the pleasure of staying at NH Bariloche Edelweiss.Conveniently located in the downtown area, only steps away from Nahuel Huapi lake and the Civic Centre, our refurbished and modernized infrastructure is in perfect harmony with the natural surroundings; mountains, forests and lakes. It is a place that feels like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NH Bariloche Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edelweiss Hotel Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing