We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great cozy hostel with loads of information” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaska Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alaska Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great cozy hostel with loads of information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our stay in Alaksa Hostel was great! It is a small hostel and our double room was actually quite small, but all the other things in Alaska hostel are great.
When we arrived Nati gave us loads of information about Bariloche. She was very helpfull and helped us with all the things we wanted to do in Bariloche. She explained us how we could easily do things ourself by bus (and save money). The hostel itself is a bit out of the centre, but on the way to the lakes and nice viewpoints. You don´t have to be in the centre of Bariloche, because all the activities are outside the centre.
The kitchen was complete! Everything you need is there, even oil and herbs to cook. The common area is cozy, so you meet a lot of other travellers there.
We had a great stay in Alaska Hostel and would really recommend it if you visit Bariloche.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    30
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
70
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed in Alaska Hostel for four nights and it was amazing!

The little Hostel outside the city of Bariloche is a good place to stay some days.
Its a clean, good equipt hostel and wonderful to get in touch with other travellers!

Also Naty and Javi are very friendly and attentive and are helping with all you need!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domi-on-tour13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hostel over new year for 3 nights and it was busy every night. It's a very sociable hostel with everyone up the kitchen or sitting area or in the garden. But it's Naty and Javi, the owners, that absolutely make this place, and why I would highly recommend it. They both couldn't have done more to help....booking tours, advising us on all our walks, hiring bikes, booking buses....and even getting me out of trouble when I needed advice a week after I'd left! They are such a lovely couple and they work so hard at this hostel and really make you feel so at home. Only cons are that the rooms are on the small side, it can be quite noisy and hot, there aren't enough bathrooms, and the place could do with a renovation but they have priced it accordingly so I think that these are easily overlooked when you get to know Naty and Javi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been traveling for the last year; everywhere from Europe to Asia to South America and this is our favorite hostel so far.

It takes about 20 minutes from the bus station and 15 minutes from the center of town to get there, but the location is still great. Bus access is very easy and once you have a bus card, getting around Bariloche is a breeze.

We enjoyed the mountain cabin feel of the hostel. The layout allowed people plenty of space, but made the atmosphere conduce to talking and sharing with other travelers. The breakfast that is included is great. The spread isn't huge, but the bread is baked fresh while you eat, and the coffee is brewed not instant.

The owner/manager Javi was a really informative, friendly, and attentive guy. the rooms, kitchen, bathrooms, and grounds are very clean and well kept. We thought that the patio and grill area were great for hanging out.

Definitely spend some time hiking in the area, buy some meat from the carniceria a few blocks away for an asado, check out the local brewery for happy hour.

We would 100% stay here again and recommend this place to people looking for budget accommodations with a chill/relaxed hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here as everyone I ran into so far on my travels that had been to Bariloche had stayed here and raved about it. I was not disappointed. Alaska is a home away from home, the best hostel I´ve stayed in so far in 2 months of travelling in South America.
Naty, Javi and Luca are wonderful hosts. On arrival I was given a full induction and run down of the hostel, the town, transport, what there was to do and see in the area and advice on how to maximise my time there.
The hostel itself is very cosy, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms clean, great breakfast of homemade bread and jams. The atmosphere was very chilled out and friendly.
It is out of town, but there is no reason to go into town at all - except to the chocolate shops! Everything you want to do is out of town, and you´re halfway there if you stay at Alaska. The buses are easy to use and run frequently.
Get in early and make sure you book to stay at Alaska.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel_cox_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Lovely place, best hostel I stayed in on this trip. Javi was very helpful, gives you a proper 'induction' session at arrival and explains everything you would usually have to ask - like trasport, hiking options, attractions etc. I find it a great value service. Atmosphere is very chilled, it's nice to come back after a long hike. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojomojoboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

As hostels go this is at the top of the list. The owners Nati & Havi are a young couple & have really put some effort into making the place welcoming & well equipped.

It's out of the main town (absolutely no need to stay in Bariloche town) off the main road & really close to the transport links, supermarkets, local stores, 3 micro breweries & a darn good steak house if you fancy a well priced meat fest!

It had a really well equipped kitchen (2 cookers & more equipment than you could ever need) The social areas were great & with the place being so chilled, everyone tended to hang around mix in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDMVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#17 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#5 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Green House Hostel Bariloche
Green House Hostel Bariloche
#20 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.2 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#11 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Hostel

Property: Alaska Hostel
Address: Calle Lilinquen 328 | Pinar de Festa, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402HUD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 246 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stunning view of Cerro Catedral, 4 blocks away from Playa Bonita and only 10 minutes from downtown Bariloche you will find a rustic hostel with great atmosphere, where you will feel at home. We are located at Km 7.5 Bustillo Road, in a pleasant and quiet area very close to Playa Bonita, on the shore of Nahuel Huapi Lake, with an incredible view to the mountains. Just ten minutes from downtown Bariloche, in the way to Cerro Catedral Ski Center and Llao Llao Hotel. Once at the hostel you will find a full equipped kitchen and washing facilities, a garden with a place for BBQ, parking, free internet access, WiFi in all the hostel, TV, DVD & movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alaska Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing