We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location but not 5 star service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous location but not 5 star service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Absolutely stunning views. Beautiful building. Great food. Golf course is very pretty, reasonably challenging, and remarkably uncrowded. Much to do in surrounding area, and concierge will help. I would definitely come back, but was told by friends that service is not at a 5 star level, and I agree. It can take 20 minutes (in an uncrowded bar) to get a glass of wine. They closed their beautiful outdoor pool for most of the day in peak season for a photo shoot - not exactly "guests first". We got stuck in an elevator in a glass tower - rescue was pretty slow. Staff is unfailingly polite and lovely but they need better trained senior management. Even so, you won't find a more beautiful place, probably on this entire continent.

Room Tip: We loved the views and rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
ThomasB Thank you for your time and your comments. While we feel proud for your compliments, comments about the service rocked us. Our challenge is to provide the highest service. However we have failed you.
We want you to know that your remarks are highly appreciated by the Management. And our Training Dept. is taking care of these flaws, by improving what it takes to correct the weaknesses you mentioned.
While mistakes happen, our commitment is to anticipate and avoid them. Apologies.
And thanks in advance for giving us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    286
    51
    30
    18
See reviews for
616
882
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days at llao llao resort and absolutely regretted we did not spend more time in this area of Patagonia . The setting is stunning and rivals many areas on the Swiss alps . Even though we stayed in a suite , we found the rooms a bit stuffy . The restaurants have magnificent views . The food was very décent And There are better restaurants in the area .we will definitely return and stay longer . I think it is a great place to come as a family with kids , because of all the activities and kids club .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jomit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Jomit Thank you for your words! We are happy to have been your hosts, and it is the best reward to know you had a memorable experience. We will be delighted to receive you soon, with your couple, friends or family! And if we may, we strongly recommend, for your next trip, stay longer and try the Moreno Wing and its rooms. We are sure it will enhance your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have had the best experience in this great hotel, located 40 minutes from the downtown but the view is spectacular, the service is excellent and the food was superb!!! They made our visit very enjoyable. I will recommend to stay there for business or pleasure because you have to visit the Campanario which is half way to downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank npppan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
npppan As per the description of the property and the location, we assume that the review is about us...thank you for your kindness! It is extremely gratifying to receive such a generous feedback!
We want to make an adjustment, and it is about the location of Llao Llao. We are located in Bariloche, Río Negro, Argentina, meanwhile Puerto Varas is located in our neighbor country, Chile.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, Ca
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spent three nights at the beautiful Llao Llao over looking the lake in Bariloche. We were in the "new" section and took all our meals in the original section of this lovely resort. The suite was very nice-size and I especially appreciated the large comfortable bath area. The real beauty is in the resort property surrounding hotel and the recreational activities/spa on property. I booked a blow dry and the stylist was terrific and cost reasonable for a resort of this caliber. Breakfast buffet was very, very good- be sure to add to your reservation.

Room Tip: New section has largest rooms/suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baymom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Baymom1 Thank you for your words! We agree with you, the location is really unique, and breathtaking! We are very happy to know that we were up to your expectations! Thank you for choosing us. And our best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, IL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We had a suite in the new section that faced the small lake and the view were fantastic. We actually liked the new section better as it was quiet. The food was great and the service was very good.
The town is worth visiting as there are many interesting shops.
We would certainly would recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank beatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
beatstew Thank you for your kind review! We are glad to know that you had a great experience with us. There is no reward as powerful as the recommendation of a guest. A super thank you for choosing Llao Llao and for your words!!
Our best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, NH
Level Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I booked a room in the Lake Moreno wing for three nights through the Leading Hotels of the World. Although the hotel is expensive, it is worth the additional expense to stay in the Lake Moreno wing. We were upgraded to a suite that was perfect. The view of the Andes from our suite could not be beat, especially when we awoke to new snow on the peaks. The bathroom had a jacuzzi and a walk in rain shower. The living room had all of the amenities you would expect for a 5 star hotel. The concierge was very helpful in answering our questions and printing our airline boarding passes. I took yoga, pilates reformer, and pilates mat classes. The instructors gave you individual attention and were fantastic. The fitness center did not open until 8:00AM. I wish it had opened at 7:00AM. The treadmills, elliptical, and bikes were all taken by 8:05AM because the weather was rainy and cold. There is a need for expansion in the fitness center in terms space and equipment. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. La Masia is a truly excellent romantic restaurant very close to the hotel and the restaurant will send a driver. We also ate at the Llao Llao Social Club which is near the golf course. The meal was very good, the owner aims to please, and the atmosphere was casual. The buffet breakfast at Llao Llao was okay, but nothing special. It is much less crowded if you eat early. At 10:00AM, it is crowded. We prefer a more intimate setting for dining. We would definitely return to Llao Llao. The setting cannot be beat and the staff is excellent.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Lake Moreno wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
TAHES It is great to have the chance to thank you for your choosing us.
You well deserved the upgrade...thank you for appreciating it!
As of the Fitness Center opening hour and the Buffet Breakfast "rush hour", your suggestions are most appreciated. Thank you for letting us know -first hand- what is yet to be improved.
We are happy to know you did enjoy the property.
Our best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Just about everything at this hotel was done really well - which is extremely rare.

Staff were very good, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are excellent with views of the lakes below and are equipped with bathrobes and slippers, which, quite uniquely, are different for men and women (women get the ones with flowers on - at least in my family anyway).
The TV in the room had an English channel (BBC) - rare in Argentina in our experience.
The wifi throughout the hotel is free and really quite fast.
The pool area is beautiful, with an infinity pool looking out to the snow-capped Mount Trenedor (I think).
Meals were excellent, particularly the buffet breakfast and there was a good choice of restaurants for different sorts of meals.
There are great excursions and walks available in the local area.
This may well be the best hotel in Argentina and we would happily return....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Wow Peter3101! This is not just a regular review...we are... speechless!
Thank you for sharing your experience, and for appreciating those subtle details that distinguish us. Your words motivate us to keep on pampering our guests, every day.
Your words are deeply rewarding.
Thanks, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#16 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
12.6 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Property: Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing