We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's difficult for an icon to be an icon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Of course, this is a great (and large) hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff is very attentive, fluent in English. However, staying in an icon hotel has the downside of over expectation.
The hotel is really massive and thus a bit impersonal. The standard room is just standard and at the small end (estimate of some 20 sqm including little entrance and bathroom. The goodies are OK and lavender perfumed.
The restaurant is a bit stiff and the bistro is not as cozy as one would expect.
The breakfast is surprisingly straightforward for those who are used to Asian breakfast buffets in lesser hotels. However, for Argentine standards probably lavish.
A great thing is playing golf here at a very attractive rate, in particular when you pay with 'blue Euro's'. Would I come again? Probably, just for the sights and the golf course, not so much for the rooms and the food.

Room Tip: Pay in blue Euro's or blue dollars and you will have a discount of between 35-45%
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PieterdeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

PieterdeN Thank you for your words, and for the time you've taken to share your experience with us, specially for the readers.
We know you are a highly discerning traveler, and we are very grateful for having the chance to interact with you. We're glad you consider visiting Llao Llao again. We take this opportunity to suggest our rooms of Moreno Wing for you next stay. Opened in December 2007, is designed with contemporary essence, however preserving the identity Llao Llao, iconic mentioned in your review.
Have a joyful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,200)
There are newer reviews for Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

5 stars is all I can say! Where do I start. The views are to die for with huge snow capped mountains views from all sides. Our room was a bit small but we loved how luxurious and clean it was. Restaurant, breakfast, lunch were all amazing. Close to Puerto Pañuelos for boat excursión. A bit far from town but bus ride isn't so bad. Close to Campanario. Excellent Spa services! Worth every penny!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank juamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

juamille So happy to know that your expectations were exceeded!! It is very inspiring when a guest shares an experience like yours. It is our pleasure to deliver lifetime memories. Thank you for choosing us. Have a joyful 2014...and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Llao Llao and were lucky to get an upgrade to a suite, overlooking the golf course, Lago Moreno and the mountains.The suite was located in the old building (1938) and obviously very luxurious and spacious, with nice furniture, good beds and a huge balcony. The bathroom was relatively small, but all you need is there. Regulating the heating though could only be done with the help of housekeeping and the piping system makes quite a bit of noise.
We arrived at Llao Llao by catamaran and the view from Lago Nahuel Huapi on the hotel is superb! The location on a hill between two lakes is absolutely unique.
Breakfast is super and served in a huge ballroom, where you make your Grand Entree descending red carpeted stairs. The variety of food is great and many things can be cooked on order. And the view is great.
We had lunch twice in the winter garden, which again was great.
For dinner we prefered to go outside, as we had a meal in the hotel which was mixed: great starter, mediocre main course and poor service and seating in a corner of a Stube style restaurant.

There are many opportunities for hiking and other activities in the area. We can recommend to do the 10 km hike from Catedral to Refugio Frey (and 10 km back), with great views. And obviously you should play a round of golf. The golf course is very nice, but slopery, especially at the end. You can hire good quality, new golf equipment, but it is rather pricy.
There is a swimming pool, inside and outside, as well as a great spa, where I enjoyed a nice massage twice.
The concierge made a few mistakes in arranging restaurants and massage, so we had to improvise twice, which you would not expect from a 5 star hotel.
Be aware that the hotel only accepts dolars at the official rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

MBMW It's an honor to read your words! Thank you for sharing your experience. We know that you are a very experienced traveler, that's why we especially value the score you gave!
We agree on your description of the scenario. It is truly breathtaking. And for us, a huge responsibility to honor such a paradise!
We do appreciate your words about our services. Of course we love to get compliments... but the observations on the items that did not reach your expectations, are the ones that allow us to improve our quality standards. Thank you for pointing them out.
Your suggestions about activities, golf and spa are really accurate, and will probably trigger great experiences for guests-to-be! Thank you very much for sharing, on our behalf, and on behalf of the readers!
Have a great 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Has to be one of the most exquisite places on the planet. Gorgeous -- beyond words. We were upgraded to a suite (thank you both Llao Llao and Julia K) which was spectacular inside and out (an enormous balcony with a breathtaking view of an astonishingly beautiful vista.) Staff was terrific; attentive but unobtrusive. Spa staff in particular was great (they also manage the gym. And they manage it well.) We borrowed bikes (in good condition) and did archery (with a patient instructor who had a welcome sense of humor.) Absolutely loved the place. It's pricey (the lunch buffet and the cocktails in particular) but very very special. The concierge gave us restaurant reco's and 2 of 3 were excellent (they can't all be gems.) The shuttle bus isn't actually a hotel shuttle - it's a municipal bus. But that was fine and fun in itself, and we got to see more of Bariloche. Also had a great experience with the hotel-provided rappelling guide (will try to review that separately.) In sum: muy fantastico. Would love to return.

Room Tip: everyone says channel view. And everyone is right.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

It is our turn to say WOW! Thank you for your review, and thank you for your kind words! We agree with you, Llao Llao setting is a privilege of nature. We are honored, while responsible for providing high quality service matching the breathtaking scenario around us. We are proud that a discerning traveler like you wrote such a generous compliment!
Our staff is our pride, and our signature. Their sincere smile makes the difference.
We really appreciate your time, your words, and wish you a joyful 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Arriving to Llao Llao Hotel, I was sure this was going to be a perfect stay. Two rooms booked in the Moreno Wing, away from the hassle of the enormous hotel. Upon seeing the view, I was tricked into believing this was one of THE places around the world, such as Beverly Hills Hotel or Badrutt's Palace, where one just wants to sit back and stay forever.

Unfortunately, I was proved wrong rather soon. To begin with, the concierge and the reception weren't effective enough to be able to handle everything at the desired level. They mixed us up with some other guests, telling the guide, for whose time we were evidently paying, that we went for a walk, while we were kept uninformed of her arrival for about an hour.

(Both concierge and reception of the Moreno Wing left at 9 pm, to arrive only at 7 am, with guests obliged to used the rooms' keys to get into the building.)

What's more, the food was uneatable. One of our party got food poisoning, which even provoked a high fever, from simply eating a steak ordered through room service.

The accidents named above were just a few or the many that have happened during our short stay. Another example has been an in-room dining employee stating in an angry voice after handing one of us the receipt to be signed, "Tips aren't included" and trying to insist even after receiving a signed receipt.


On the other hand, the rooms are wonderful. We occupied the corner suite and a connecting double on the first floor, at the very end of the Moreno Wing. The Mount Tronador panorama, opening from our windows at all times of day and night was to die for. The bedrooms were spacious and a living room was very comfortable.

After a lot of time and efforts spent, what seemed in vain, we have planned our two days' stay in the most optimal way, deriving maximum pleasure from experiencing the natural glories of the natural park.

Thus, it's a question of what one's ready to sacrifice to natural beauty.

All in all, this is a perfect place in terms of location and rooms' quality, but the service level still leaves a lot to be desired, like in so many ambitious projects in South America.

Room Tip: Try to book in the Moreno Wing
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

NL2012 Firstly, we want to thank you for choosing us . And we want you to know that we are extremely sad for not having met your expectations. We have read your review , and we have conducted a thorough investigation in our records to identify thr irregularities that you mention, and apply the adequate corrections .
We understand that our task is about excellence . The location is wonderful , however it is the service which complements the experience. We believe in delivering an experience . Not just a hotel stay . We have failed. We recognize that there were human errors that led to your disenchantment . However, we want to clarify a particular point : we have not had any episodes of food unrest in the period in which you stayed .
It happens, unfortunately, in cases like yours, that the possibility of reversing an error vanishes for not being treated at the right time by the right person. It's a shame that your perception of Llao Llao is just about a privileged setting. Because our enormous pride is our people. That this time has become our worst weakness. We want you to accept our apologies , thank you for your time, and hope that in the future we have the chance to prove that our service is in fact much better than what your experience might have suggested to you.
Have a great 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed at Llao Llao for two nights and it is a really beautiful olde - worlde resort in a wonderful location. To be able to look out of our window and see such magnificent scenery was something special. There was one big downside for me, though. I had to use their manicurist as I had broken a nail very badly and the person that claimed to be a manicurist gave me the worst and most expensive manicure I have ever had in my life. I was not the only person to suffer this fate in our group, either. Fancy having to pay AU$142 for a manicure that was bubbling and uneven over all of my nails!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BepeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

BepeAustr... Thank you very much for your generous words. And thank you for choosing Llao Llao.
High-end hospitality, is not just the privileged location, but the service. It has to be flawless. One million details...altogether.
And the only way to achieve excellence, is by creating a uniform experience. No failing allowed. Because every detail counts.
Thank you for taking your time to point out the unfortunate experience with the Manicurist. We are deeply sorry for the dissapointment.
We have engaged our Quality Dept. in this case, in order to make a thorough follow up on the standards control.
We are very grateful for your review, and wish the very best for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The facility is in a beautiful location and offers a lot to do. The free breakfast is an awesome buffet. The staff are helpful. There are two downsides. First, the service here is not as great as other resorts of this caliber. Like everywhere in Argentina, the service is slow. Second, Llao Llao is a little far from the city and some activities.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hessjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Hessjc Thank you for your review. We appreciate both your compliments and your comments on what you didn't like.
Regarding the level of service, we feel very sorry by reading that you felt somehow dissapointed.
Excellence is a challenging aim to reach, And when we fail to meet expectations, it really frustrates us. We will never stop striving. Our deepest apologies.
As of the distance, we are 40 minutes away from the center. Nature did privilege us. If distance from downtown is the cost, we are very happy to be located in one of the most beautiful places on earth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,588 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
991 reviews
2.6 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#10 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
411 reviews
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,266 reviews
8.6 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $250 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing