We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Certificate of Excellence
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great setting”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

There are so many reviews here of this hotel so just some other points. We stayed at a Lake Moreno superior studio and was on the third floor, try to get a high room as we did. (there are only four floors) We went in early November so it was before season...at night only one or two dining rooms were open, so the menu is limited if you are there in the buffer season. The view is terrific as are the rooms. It is a little convoluted getting from the Moreno side to the Main area but you can either do some stairs, or three elevators. We did (on our own) a full day tour with a private guide on nearby lake, with a hike to a lagoon and back (about 2 hours) and ended on a beach with a lunch set up for the two of us, and a musician playing while we ate! Then a long sightseeing ride on the boat. It was a lifetime remembering experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjjja97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
bjjja97 Woooow! Thank you for allowing us to be part of your lifetime memories. We feel very proud for it. And very thankful. It is our philosophy, our daily task, our life election. So, when we get to know that our guests take back home Llao Llao...it is our honour. Your words are really flattering. Always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,768
    297
    56
    33
    20
See reviews for
653
921
46
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

There's no doubt that one of the main features of this hotel is its location and no matter where you go inside or outside the facilities, you will a million picture opportunities.

The room and the overall hotel decor is not ostentatious, but cozy and welcoming. This is something that can't be said about a lot of 5 star hotels.

Breakfast was excellent: from the baking, to the freshly made ommelletes and the stunning view. Even the small changes in the options (you madeed torrejas available one morning!) were a great small detail which made me look forward the next one.

The restaurants service was a bit weak, no one was able to recommend us wine for our meals, not even at Los Cesares. It would expect Llao Lao to have a sommelier on site during the meal times.

The gym facilities were very well equipped and it has a big "studio" for group classes.

One thing I must highlight is the superb concierge service: they always helped, provided options and ideas no matter what random question we came up with.

If there was one thing I'd ask them to do next time, is to provide better information around the restaurants and shops that are close by. Also, the drivers were quite quiet and cold. Several of them took us to multiple destination and none of them engage in conversation.

Llao Llao is a one of a kind experience, full of history, first class but always making feel comfortable and at home.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrPablington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
MrPablington, woooow!!! Such a rich description of your stay with us. More than grateful for your kind words. And for your recommendations. They help us, teach us, and allow us to improve. Our goal is your satisfaction, and the memories treasured. And it is a huge responsibility. Because there was once upon a time, a visionary that selected one of the most beautiful spots, and created Llao Llao. All through our history -next year will be our 75th anniversary- Llao Llao survived difficult moments. nonetheless our pride was never at stake. And we try hard to honour our history by delivering a spotless service and that cozyness that you pointed out. On behalf of the whole team, thank you. We do appreciate every word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The town of San Carlos de Bariloche draws huge droves of tourists in packed buses. However, there is a more sedate and beautiful side to the town, overflowing with tourists and chocolate shop. It is to escape from it all, by staying at the Llao Llao Hotel & Resort, Golf, Spa.

From the minute you arrive in the hotel, you will note that you are not in any hotel, but one of the top hotels in the world. The lovely lobby bar is there as you enter, inviting you to sit down for a drink. The winter garden is a conservatory that overlooks the Nahuel Huapi Lake, as well as the golf courses.

The hotel rooms are well-proportioned and the wifi Internet access is available throughout the hotel. The grounds are expansive, taking into account the private docks and golf courses, and the spa and gym overlook the lakes and mountains in the distance.

If I had to fault anything, it would be that the hotel is rather snooty. Perhaps it is the power-distance in Argentina, as well as the clientele (which consists of many older people). Things are still promptly and well executed though.

Room Tip: If you can spare some cash, try to opt for rooms in the more modern Lake Moreno Wing, which looks ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_matthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Public Relations Manager at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Colin_Matthew, thank you for such a great review! You pointed out the location. And you were so accurate, That is the reason we deem Llao Llao is a destination itself. A reasonable distance from town, and the privilege of the setting, and nature at its best.
Calling us "Grand Dame" is so very flattering! Style and elegance among the mountains and lakes, wow! Our challenge is keeping the cozyness and the pampering we love to deliver to you guests. And we feel very proud if you got it, and treasure great memories at Llao Llao. Thank you for your words, and thank you for your time. You are very welcome, always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Lovely hotel of great charm in an intensely beautiful setting. The views from the rooms overlooking the lake really were postcard perfect.
Slightly old fashioned rooms, but his added to the charm. Very cosy public areas with log fires...you could settle in here with a book and glass of whisky for many hours, shame I was here on business!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnessw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Barnessw! Thank you so very much for your lovely description of our Hotel! We feel very proud to know that you did appreciate the atmosphere that we love to grant. The whisky is awaiting for you...the book is your call! You have to visit us again and enjoy the Llao Llao sensation overlooking the lakes and the mountains. Always welcome, Barnessw!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Andres and Providencia Department, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The grounds and facilities are superb, with careful attention to every detail. The service is easily the most polite, well-mannered, and good-tempered anywhere. Breakfast buffet and dining restaurant have a wide variety of very good food. Views are breath-taking. The price is comparable to any fine hotel in the world, but the value is much, much higher.

Rent a car to get around the area.

It is easily the best hotel in the Americas - bar none.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the hydropneumatic pumps: the noise will drive you crazy and deprive you of sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riccardo_Iname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Riccardo_Iname Wow!! Thank you so much for your review! It really empowers us to keep on honoring this setting, this history, and the fantastic staff that is so committed to grant our guests the very best we have to give. We do appreciate your words. Thank you again Riccardo, for your time and generosity. Always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My enthusiasm for this hotel is overwhelming. The location is quite beautiful - perched on a hill overlooking the bluest of lakes with snow capped mountains in the distance. The architecture with wood beamed ceilings, antique wood floors throughout the entry, grand foyer and enormous reception area/bar is cozy and very welcoming. The hotel is sprawling with rooms in the main hotel and a new separate wing comprised of junior and full suites. We were located in a full suite in the new wing - it was one of the most perfectly designed suites I have ever stayed in - wonderful living room with wood burning fireplace, wood floors and french doors to an enormous balcony. The bedroom was large with a wall of closets and wall of floor to ceiling windows. The living room, bedroom and gorgeous bath overlooked the lake and mountains. The staff were top notch - professional and courteous. Concierges were outstanding. My tip - splurge and go for the full suite in the Moreno wing.

Room Tip: Breakfast is included in the hotel rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kecoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
KeyCoco! Thank you so much for the great description of our Llao Llao! Oh yes, it is a privileged setting, and a magical vision of an architect in the 30's...who said "this IS the place". From then on, a rich history filled with stories in every corner. In Dec2007 we opened the new wing, called Moreno Wing after the lake this rooms face. The historical building you have mentioned is called Bustillo Wing, after the visionary that pointed out this beautiful spot. Keycoco, we are happy to know that you had a great experience with us. Very flattered. Thank you for your kind words, and your time. You are very welcome, always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel built in the 30s has a kitschy lodge decor. Be sure to ask for a new room. It is pretty big and seems to attract a lot of tour group type. There are many hiking tails from the hotel and nice views. The food was average, again, a big hotel trying to cater to many guests and tastes. The concierge (Vanessa and a guy whose name escapes me) were pretty rude and unhelpful. We went straight to reception for help. Seemed like they were botherd by our questions.
Bariloche has many boutique hotels which are a nice option if you don't want to be one of the many with average food and rude staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank globetrottertoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LlaoLlaoHotel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Ooooops. We were so ready to open a new review full of nice words and congrats and wows. But it didn´t happen. Instead, a description of a forgettable experience. Firstly we flushed. Then we read it again. Faced every word. And accepted that something in the way went very wrong. Starting from your perception of "big old property". The Bustillo Wing is an historical landmark, Built in 1938, it is one of the most iconic buildings in argentinian architecture. And in this extraordinary setting, Nahuel Huapi was the first National Park, and Llao Llao the luxurious hotel to host argentinian and international aristocracy, presidents, kings and queens and all the charm and glam of that "epoque". Years went by, Argentina faced difficult periods. And Llao Llao closed in 1978. But in 1993 reopened, and from then on, we strive to deliver a unique experience .In 2007 we opened the Moreno Wing, to combine history and contemporary functionality. As of the "kitschy decor", your opinion of course counts, but style per se is a subjective perspective. On the contrary, rudeness is objective, and unacceptable. Our apologies. On behalf of Llao Llao, We try to be guestoriented every moment,in every detail. And are very conscious of the importance of service. And service quality. And if you did not get an excellent service it is OUR mistake and not your perception. Sorry for this. Your opinion is really useful for us. We hate cliches, so, please take this response with all the responsibility that it takes. As of the "massivness" or the "average food", again, is all we do not want to deliver. Customized service, high quality in every detail is our duty. We are hoteliers. We know when we do right, and when we do wrong. It happens, and unfortunaly it happened with you. We cannot turn back time, but we can accept the challenge of getting back to our basics. Excellence. Thank you again for your "wake up call".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,569 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
972 reviews
6.3 mi away
El Casco Art Hotel
El Casco Art Hotel
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,250 reviews
12.6 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
823 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Arelauquen Lodge, A Tribute Port...
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa

Property: Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Address: Av. Ezequiel Bustillo km 25, San Carlos de Bariloche R8409ALN, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#7 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Cerro Lopez and Tronador mountain peaks and the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes, the Hotel has a 15-hectare park, including the 18-hole golf course, the marina, beach, solarium, heated indoor and outdoor vanishing edge swimming-pools, Spa and Healthclub with sauna, Fitness Center and other leisure activities.The Hotel has two wings: Ala Bustillo and Lago Moreno wings. The first wing has 162 rooms, 11 studios and 12 suites overlooking the Moreno and Nahuel Huapi lakes and the Cerro López mountain peak. The Lago Moreno wing has 43 deluxe studios and suites: 23 Deluxe Moreno Lake Studios, 17 Deluxe Moreno Lake Suites, 2 Deluxe Master Moreno Lake Suites, and 1 Deluxe Royal Moreno Lake Suite.Llao Llao has five restaurants. Guests can enjoy a wide variety of dishes, from International Cuisine to our top level traditional food, such as the popular "Llao Llao Tea" which is served overlooking the spectacular view of the Hotel gardens and the breathtaking Nahuel Huapi Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llao Llao Hotel And Resort, Golf San Carlos De Bariloche
Llao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing