We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steaksgiving”

La Salamandra Pulperia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Hours of operation: Monday and Tuesday closed,Wed-Sunday: 7:30pm-10:00pm. Reservations recomended Very fresh and homemade small menu, as old Argentine Pulperias
Freeport, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Steaksgiving”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Not many opportunities to find a Thanksgiving turkey dinner in Argentina, so we took the input from others and headed via the public bus to this quaint restaurant ~ 6k out of Town. We were blessed with the best meal we had during our week in Argentina here. The menu was small (which was refreshing) and settled on Rib Eye Steaks that melted in your mouth and the sides were delicious. The house red wine comes in a picture that they get directly from a winery in Mendoza. You can order bottled wine but my question is why would you do that?????
Additionally our server spoke English and she was very accommodating. Were glad that we followed the recommadations of fellow tripadvisors!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaineUSAvisit2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    158
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful night in Bariloche”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We LOVED this place! Not only because the food was wonderful but the service and the charm of the establishment went above our expectations. Is the menu small? Sure, but what they make is all cooked to perfection. The empanadas were the best I have ever eaten, ANYWHERE and the steak was fantastic. What really puts this place over the top is that we never felt rushed, although there are only 9 tables and the owner was generous enough with her time to write down places we should try in Mendoza. We spent two weeks in Argentina and we can honestly say that this was one of our favorite nights out!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILM1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patagonia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Failed to meet expectations, twice”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Everyone talks about this place. It's okay, but I was unimpressed, both times. The last time I had a choripan (sausage in bread), and frankly the guy in the centre of town with a hot-dog stand has a finer offering. the atmosphere is good, the service is good, and it's not overly expensive. But given the choice in Bariloche, there are better places to visit, without needing to make a reservation. It's certainly un-complicated, with a simple menu. It's a nice place, but doesn't justify the hype.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best steak in town”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

La Salamandra is a fabulous restaurant. We were made so welcome from the moment we arrived. It is such a cosy place you just don't want to leave and because of this we went back a second time. The service was fantastic and nothing was too much bother. We had homemade empanadas to start with which were to die for and main course you have to try the steak def the best one I have ever had.salamander was far and away the best restaurant we went to in Bariloche and deserves every success. Lynda, Steve Claire, Portrush, N Ireland.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent - cosy place, friendly staff, simple yet great food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is how we expect a nice restaurant to be: It's personal, uncomplicated, yet of very good quality in terms of service and food/drinks. Couldn't ask for more. The ribeye steak was better than any we tried in Buenos Aires, especially since it did not come with fat fries, but with a decent salad.
Thanks for a wonderful dinner (though it was too short). Hope to come back and try the other offered main courses.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salamandra Pulperia also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to La Salamandra Pulperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing