We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last night in Argentina...”

La Salamandra Pulperia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hours of operation: Monday and Tuesday closed,Wed-Sunday: 7:30pm-10:00pm. Reservations recomended Very fresh and homemade small menu, as old Argentine Pulperias
Oakland, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our last night in Argentina...”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We tried to get in for dinner all week. They are closed Monday and Tuesday. They are owned and operated by a great couple. The menu is short but with plenty of choices. Husband cooks and brings out the food. The service is extremely good as the wife is the wait staff. Food was amongst the best prepared of anywhere we ate in Argentina (BA and Bariloche). Highly reccommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reveilnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    158
    23
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The couple that ran the restaurant were inviting, the food excellent, and the atmosphere fantastic! Try the rib eye steak and add to it the pitcher of red house wine for best results.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MHUBB90888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intercourse, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in bariloche”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great food, reasonably priced. Charming staff and good atmosphere. Best I've had in bariloche. I very much enjoyed my perfectly cooked ribeye steak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ryskalchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, incredible value! Perfect ambiance”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I came here our last night in Bariloche! We wish we had come sooner because we absolutely would have gone back multiple times. They have a short menu with delicious items. They had good options for vegetarians (and were able to modify a few as well). We had a potato dish (baked with cheese - incredible), a choripan (a sausage sandwich), a salad (fresh arugula, tomatoes, and avocado), and mushroom bruschetta. I would recommend all of these dishes and it was way more than we could eat. The ambiance is wonderful - it feels like you are in someone's gaucho home. The service was incredible and the owner recommended a few other places to us that we would like (too bad we ate here the last night, again!). We were shocked when we received the bill because it was so low. This place is an incredible value with exceptional food. You do need to make reservations in order to get a table - they only have seven and they were all reserved when we arrived.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Don't miss this spot! Amazing meal, our best in Argentina after a week of travel. We had the steak (medium rare, which they did well) which came with a small side salad (also amazing), oven cooked potatoes (chips) with bacon/cheese/sour cream, empanada and jar of wine. For two people it was ~$30 in total, which is insanely cheap for such amazing/quality food. To top it off, the owners were super nice, friendly, spoke great English (also rare) and gave us a recommendation for lunch on our bike trip (Aashi) and it was also great. They are eco friendly by providing pitchers of water (no buying the bottles each time). LOVED LOVED this place. It's also right on the main road at mile marker KM 6 on Bustillo, so you can take the bus (20 or 10) which is very inexpensive/easy from the center of town. Definitely go here, it's small inside, so try to call ahead for a reservation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Salamandra Pulperia also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to La Salamandra Pulperia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing