We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Food in a Romantic Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandahar Restaurante - CLOSED

Kandahar Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Food in a Romantic Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

An intimate, exotic and attractive interior welcomes the dinner guest to this small restaurant which is a short walk from downtown Bariloche. Having read multiple good reviews, our expectations were exceeded. We ordered two different versions of the tenderloin, both of which were superb. We found this to be the tastiest beef we have had during our time in Argentina. The service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    39
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, what a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Dinner began with 2 delicious mushroom entradas accompanied by Pisco Sours. Main courses of trout and gnocchi with a wonderful Mendozan wine. Cozy atmosphere, great service and a terrific wine list - 5 stars all around!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GregKieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful decor, interesting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful and interesting meal at Kandahar. Quite beautiful and cozy. Venison and smoked trout pates started the meal with freshly toasted bread. Pastas and beef were good (mushroom in pasta could have been rehydrated and rinsed better). Desert was simple but good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

What a great place. From the service, to the food and the venue. Its a little walk up the hill but is one of the best restraunts around that I have eaten at in a lond time. This place should be number 1

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaeBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
432 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Romantic Place, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ended up at Kandahar because Alto el Fuego was full. It ended up being our #2 restaurant, behind only Alto el Fuego. We split a ribeye for the main course after a venison empanadas and beef carpaccio. We also had two glasses of Bianchi malbec. All was excellent, especially the torta de chocolate with ice cream and cherry sauce, which was great.

It's a very small house, so reserve if you can. They take only cash, which is common at many restaurants (but not Alto el Fuego), so plan ahead. The house is quite charming, with many creative touches inside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gailyn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandahar Restaurante also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing