We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antiguo Solar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Antiguo Solar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We extended our stay at the Antiguo Solar several times because we like it, and the city, so much. Bernardo is wonderfully welcoming, and the B&B itself is comfortable, spotlessly clean, and well appointed. Our double room was light, airy, and spacious for two and the kitchen is well equiped. Bernardo arranged two wonderful tours for us as well which I would recommend, especially traveling to see the "Black Glacier".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A small guest house in the centre of town reasonably priced and comfortable. What makes this place special is the enthusiasm and welcome of the owner Bernado who could not have been more hopitable and informative. Useful also was the use of the small kitchen.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back as the B&B is on a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is not a hotel, but rightly terms itself a "guest house". It has 4 or 5 rooms above the owner's (Bernardo) house. The room we had was pleasantly furnished and exceptionally clean and tidy, overlooking the garden full of heavily laden apple trees. The other rooms appeated to be similarly well appointed. Bernardo could not be more helpful, and speaks excellent English.
Situated about 4 blocks back from the lakefront it is about a 10 minte walk to the main street in Bariloche, but is in a great area close to many of the the restaurants that are top-rated on T.A, and also close to a supermarket.
The breakfast is the only slight negative , consisting of dried toast and weak coffee, but nothing else can be faulted.
It's merits seem not to have been discovered by the taxi drivers, who plainly had never heard of it, but if you want an exceptional value guesthouse that is well situated, this is a gem you should check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEDDINGTON35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a lovely time here, made all the better by the hospitality of Bernardo. This is a really affordable and friendly place, clean, secure, and in an ideal location. If you are wanting to save a few dollars in Bariloche, then this should be at the top of your list.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Delightful owner Bernardo is friendly, personable and willing to help with EVERYTHING. And, speaks English.
Nice common area for breakfast; great to have access to a small kitchen with refrigerator and coffee or tea making facilities. Free access to a fast internet. Our room was small with a tiny bathroom. Everything was very clean. Convenient location to downtown. We would recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Hello,

We slept only one night at Antiguo Solar, but it one of the hostels we remembered for the best out of 3 months trip in south america.

The room was very nice and cozy, but most of all we like the home-atmosphere.
The place is running by a very nice couple with a cute child and a sweet dog.
The rooms are very clean, well decorate and spacious.

You can use a free kitchen that is also great with all the necessary equipment.

We highly recommend the place, good people with great atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

In this place you can get the most value for your money. It was quite clean and the bedroom was pretty comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was great once you are told a little trick on how to open it. The room I stayed was too noisy for me, as it was in front of the house and the street is a busy one. Also, as the dining room and kitchen are so near, it could be difficult to relax. Hence, I would recommend to avoid this room (I think it was room #1) if possible. Another detail is that there weren't many sockets either in the room nor the bathroom. I stayed two nights and the room was not cleaned, and the towels were not changed. This can be a problem if you are staying many days. Breakfast is pretty poor.
The only way to access the rooms is going up a stair, so anyone with mobility issues should choose another place.
All in all, for less than 30 dollars per night, I think it is a great option.
The staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lufin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#31 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#24 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiguo Solar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiguo Solar

Property: Antiguo Solar
Address: Calle Dr Angel Gallardo 360, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400AYH, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Antiguo Solar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing