We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Views second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Views second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here with a group of fellow travellers and warmly recommend this luxurious establishment. Some of our party were less fortunate and did not have the same glorious views that we enjoyed, so people making their own bookings would be wise to ask for a lakeside outlook. We were on floor -2 (the entry level from the road being on floor zero) and can confirm that room 2303 directly overlooks the lake and the mountains. The waves lap onto the rocks almost directly outside the large picture window. By all accounts, the rooms backing onto the main road were noisy from the constant stream of traffic and should thus be avoided if possible. The layout of our bathroom was intriguing, with a glass door separating the loo and bidet and one end of the bath from the glassed-in shower and washbasin. As a very welcome touch: not only is the room safe thoughtfully placed at eye level (no need to lie on the floor to use it), it also has an interior light and is particularly easy to operate.

Breakfast (buffet style) is delicious. The two dinners we ate here were satisfactory and the views over the lake from the dining room are superb - so what if the service is a little slow!

Natalia in the spa provided an expert and vigorous body massage on the eve of our return home -just what was needed before being cooped up for hours and hours on a transatlantic flight.

It's just a short walk from the hotel (very irregular pavements) to the town itself, which has an attractive lakeside promenade. The main street is crammed with hotels, restaurants, bars and souvenir as well as more up-market shops.

Room Tip: room 2303 on floor -2 was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    250
    64
    31
    14
See reviews for
207
397
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Alma del Lago. We were coming from a long trip and we took the day off at this wonderful new hotel.
From the reservation agent Andrea that was very attentive, to the rest of the staff Matias and Florencia that helped us finding our way around Bariloche and programming the excursions.
Their breakfast is great and the restaurant outstanding. Ricardo and Claudia made us feel at home. Something that we like very much when we're traveling.
The views are phenomenal and the spa and the gym facility are very clean.
We would go back in heartbeat.

Room Tip: The suites are phenomenal, well worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilioka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Although fairly simple, the hotel is clean and new. The views of the lake are fabulous and the heated pool (on the edge of the lake) was very enjoyable. For the caliber of hotel, the service could have been better. The front desk staff seemed disorganized and the waits were long. We went toward the end of breakfast and the buffet needed to be refilled. Despite these hiccups, I would recommend the hotel, location and views.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I loved my stay at Alma del Lago. The views of the lake and mountains from the hotel are amazing. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and the hotel has a modern feel.
The front desk staff all speak English and can make great recommendations for activities in Bariloche. And the bartender, Sasha, at the upstairs restaurant was one of my favorite people we met while traveling. He told me and my boyfriend about growing up in Bariloche, plus he mixes a great drink.
When I booked our room, I was worried that the hotel was too far from town but it's actually really close to everything. We were able to walk to the center of town in about 10 min.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snd485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Modern hotel with neat rooms and great facilities. heated pool is fantastic. Would have had a 5 star from me but the room that we had shared a door with the neighbouing room which had extremely loud guests that partied all hours.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that doesn't have an access door to the neighbouring room as they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice hotel, nice location, astonishing views. One of my best experiences in panoramic views, and it´s possible to be seen from the room, the restaurants, pool and gym. Cozy rooms, comfy beds. Average breakfast. Staff a bit hard to reach by e-mail, as they don´t write you back, but the experience itself is marvelous.

Room Tip: Avoid the -2 clasic lago and superior lago suites, as the view is partially blocked by the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFIATKOSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Our stay at Alma was pleasant. It is only about one year old and about seven months of this time was during the Chili volcano eruption all but which shut down the Alma. They seem to be still in the new stages, some unfinished construction. Some are very small things (wall plugs not finished) but some are big (sauna not ready to use in the spa).The service was attentive. Food was good in dinnig room but one friend had bad experience with room service(language barrier). There were a few times when no one at the front desk spoke English, but we communicated ok. The hotel sits on Lake Nahuel Huapi, we walked down to the water, beautiful site. There is not a beach but it didn't matter we enjoyed an hour before sunset at the waters edge. We walked into town every day (10 minutes walk), found a number of great eateries. Good shopping.
We took a van tour of the lakes and mountain area west of the hotel, this is a must! Four hours with numerous photo stops and a chair lift ride to the best view I have ever seen in my life.
Dinner at Don Molina's (quite/ low light atmosphere) and Tony's Parrilla (bright lights and fun), two wonderful establishments. Be warned, if you go to Tony's go very hungry!! They cook right in the same room and the portions are large. Lunch at La Providencia, where Bebia will welcome you with a hug and the biggest smile ever.
We were followed every day in the restaurant area of town by our new friends, a group of town dogs. We found we were looking for them every time we left the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dedemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
3.7 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#9 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
0.8 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#16 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#5 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,758 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#18 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#24 of 135 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma del Lago Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma del Lago Suites & Spa

Property: Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo km 1,151, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 135 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alma del Lago Suites & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Alma del Lago Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing