We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing Almazen -- a dinner here will make your trip to Barilochie special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Almazen de Sabores

Almazen de Sabores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Delicatessen, Argentinean, European, Fusion, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Almazen de Sabores is a warm restaurant where attended by its owners served with love creative dishes gourmet cuisine with a capacity for 20 people is an ideal place to have a nice quiet dinner
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
364 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Amazing Almazen -- a dinner here will make your trip to Barilochie special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This small restaurant about 1/2 hours ride north of Barilochie center is owned and run by a loving and very capable husband and wife team. Each dish is unique and served with its own special styling, flavors and plates.The flavors are complex and complimentary. The blend and are special for the item being served. Try the multi-course surprise special. Let them know at the start of the meal what you can't, or don't like to eat. They will accommodate you. The wine list is quite nice and all prices are very reasonable. There are only 7 tables and you should get directions off of their web site. You will not regret and fondly remember your experience at Almazen. Lucile & Franco are great hosts - pay them a visit..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    26
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just ate here as one of our first meals in bariloche and it didnt disappoint. Though its a but outside the city it's a gem to find and well worth the drive. Six course menu and bottle of wine for about a third what we'd pay back home. The owners/chefs were amazing and so kind. Truly a delicious meal coming from a foodie from Sam Francisco, California.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sailinbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Best away-from-home birthday dinner imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband turned 30 during our 7 months of travel, and we happened to be in Bariloche for his birthday. As a treat, I wanted to find the best possible restaurant to have dinner to celebrate. We had the entire restaurant to ourselves since we eat "early" in Argentina (i.e. 8pm), and we opted for the 6 course tasting menu. It was FANTASTIC and included fish, shrimp, soup, beef, and of course delicious dessert (including this ricotta cheese with raspberry sauce that I wish I could eat everyday). The service was EXCELLENT - from our email correspondence for reservations to adding a candle to my husband's dessert plate. The location is a bit remote from the town, but cabs are cheap, and since it's a home, it adds to the ambiance. To top it all off, the same meal in the US would've cost us at least 4 times as much. They also have an excellent and reasonably priced wine list. Please visit this restaurant - you won't regret it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best food in Bariloche, sin duda!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Hosted by its owners, the service could not be better and the food is always special and unique. I had many dinners here and have to say that is an experience well payed for the drive to Dina Huapi. Do not miss is if you are in Bariloche.

Muchas gracias chicos!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Carlos Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, people and amazing flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was amazed with the incredible flavors!!
The place is very special, small but cozy.
The music, the quietness, I would really like to go back again.
Thank you Franco and Lucila for your special treat!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EliPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almazen de Sabores also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Almazen de Sabores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing