We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hidden delight”
Review of Almazen de Sabores

Almazen de Sabores
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Almazen de Sabores is a warm restaurant where attended by its owners served with love creative dishes gourmet cuisine with a capacity for 20 people is an ideal place to have a nice quiet dinner
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“hidden delight”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

While staying in Bariloche, Argentina we checked Trip Advisor and found this cozy, delightful local restaurant. It is run by a husband and wife team who have made part of their house into a tiny restaurant.

We chose the chef's six course dinner so that we could have a chance to sample as many tastes as possible. The food was truly excellent and cooked to order, taking our wishes into consideration along with what was fresh and on hand for the day. There were different dishes for each of us since our food tastes are not the same for some things. Since my husband is a seafood lover, he had three seafood dishes. I had one of these and two vegetarian courses to suit my requests.

The chef is formally trained with extensive experience in Buenos Aires and Spain. His food shows the years of work he has done. There are creativity, good presentation and interesting combinations here. What a pleasure.

It is worthwhile to call ahead for reservations and to get directions to the restaurant which is in a small neighborhood off the main highway into the town of Dina Huapi as it could be hard to find otherwise.

We found

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rita and bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    30
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little pearl”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The place is hard to find, in a residential quartier. on GoogleMaps check for the Los Radales/Quintral crossway, or just ask the locals.
Once you get there it's another world, it looks pretty much like a Restaurant in Paris: family business, tiny (reservation is recomended, they can also help you to find the place), nice atmosphere... The portions are not "argentinian" ones, but we didn't left hungry. Everything is prepared with care and well presented, while waiting for the main dishes we also got different little snacks. A good way to take a break from the parrilla.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hyksos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bariloche, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

After reading the raving reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to go here for a change. We were arriving from Villa la Angostura and it´s on the way to Bariloche so that helped as well. You do have to know the exact address, it can be a bit hard to find. That´s a big plus as well, you won´t find the tipical tourists hanging out here. But if you´re staying in Bariloche, keep in mind that it is located in the neighbooring Dina Huapi, about 15 km out of town.

The service was perfect, very professional but with a kind personal touch. The food, simply amazing. I can honestly say that you can compare it to any Michelin-star restaurant in Europe! The price though is VERY reasonable, that was to my biggest surprise. I was sure the prices I saw on TripAdvisor had to be in Dollars, but it´s really in Argentine Pesos, so they will score an 11 on a scale from 1 to 10 on pricing!

All in all a perfect find, we surely will go here again and recommend it to every one who wants to have a nice dinner in a special (little) place, off the beaten path. Don´t expect the typical Argentinian food, but that is a big plus in my opinion to have a healthy change in your diet every now and then (and trust me, I´m a big fan of Argentinian cuisine).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipica_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best dinner experience we had in Bariloche!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We found this jewel almost by chance, it was recommended by a local; and indeed most of the guests are locals (We love that! So we ended up coming here 3 nights in a row :P).
The food is simply wonderfull! It has influences of spanish, french and local cuisine. We asked them to surprise us and they kept on bringing small dishes, one after the other! (We recommend doing that, the seem to love showing off their best stuf!).
The atmosphere is really cozy, we didn't want to leave!
As a side note, our server turned out to be also the owner of the place and married with the chef! They both run the place by themselves which makes things an even cooler experience!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Z83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Cozy atmosphere + friendly staff + great service+ the most delicious food we've had on our trip to Argentina. We had shrimps on an oyster sauce which were superb. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almazen de Sabores also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Almazen de Sabores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing