We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quillen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quillen Hotel & Spa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We only booked this as we got a good deal through booking.com - having seen the list/rack prices, I don't think we would have been happy to pay full price. However for the price we were very happy with our room:

Positives:
- Really comfortable bed with excellent feather duvet
- Modern bathroom, with warm shower
- Excellent breakfast buffet
- Friendly reception staff
- Good location within walking distance of centre

Negatives:
- Wi-fi didn't work in our room, and struggled to pick it up in communal areas
- Very small room despite having one of their rooms advertised as more spacious
- TV didn't work properly, something was wrong with the screen

(Nothing to do with the hotel - but for information - if you are looking for somewhere to get laundry done (the hotel is expensive) then DO NOT use the one a few hundred metres down the road as you turn left out of the hotel. We arranged to pick up first thing in the morning and told them we were getting a bus in the afternoon - clothes were not ready even by the afternoon, so half an hour before getting our bus we were racing around town trying to find the place they send it to so we didn't loose all our clothes. We managed to retrieve them soaking wet which when getting a bus for 24 hours was not good, we still had to pay and further more items were ripped and missing.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    135
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
153
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We I booked this hotel, I thought it would be a little luxurious but I was quite disappointed with the exterior of the building and the size of the room.
The inside of the building is very colorful, clean and design.
The price was fair but the room extremely small, with just the space for the bed and the windows offer a view on the inside of the building totally uninteresting. I felt so claustrophobic that I didn't choose to stay for more that one night. But perhaps I just go the wrong room... The say on booking.com that rooms with view inside can accommodate an extra bed but I really wonder how that could be.....
Apart from the size, the room was clean, but no fridge. The check in was quite cold, with no explanations at all about the spa or the breakfast, but the check out was much better with a very friendly and helpful staff. In the night, we were recommended the Spanish restaurant next door...I would not...but probably I had a really silly idea to choose seafood in Bariloche....
The breakfast was nice but with the constant noise of the refrigerator.

Room Tip: choose a room with view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloemaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The hotel is very modern and well laid out. The rooms very nice yet not designed for summer. They desperately need fans in the rooms, and as we did not have one, we had to leave the window open. The street is very noisy so we chose listening the the late night patrons of nearby bars over sweating in the bed all night long. We asked multiple times for a fan, and even though we were promised one, it never appeared.

Room Tip: Dont get a room overlooking the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanaeBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms - big, clean, comfy beds, good toilets and with a TV.

The girl at the reception was very nice.
She had offered us an early breakfast (we had to leave early) for free.
She also helped us with calling the car rental agency.

I certainly recommend this hotel since the price is fair (about 70 dollars for a room).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdv23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Staff are attentive and friendly all buzzing around to keep place the keep clean and tidy but it really stops there. This is a tired place and for a summer break with temps in region of 30C we were only saved by virtue of the lake view, I dread to know what the roadside rooms must be like, at least we could partially open the side window to allow a breeze in the absence of air con. Breakfast quality really was dubious with plastic cheese and ham the norm but again clean and pleasant enough with hot tea and coffee. After 3 nights we were more than ready to leave, I almost fell out of my bed one night, so small and narrow in a small room !

Room Tip: Lakeside view otherwise better options elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitScotlandFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

good place to land from airport, close to great restaurants and main plaza. much better off in rooms facing lake - steet side noise can be an issue. reception team is great. plenty of hot water. modern style in rooms

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
136 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed two nights here, coming from San Martin de los Andes and before moving on to Puerto Montt in Chile. Comfortable hotel, very modern, located just outside the shopping district but well within easy walking distance of that. Bariloche is easy to get around, even by car, so it's very easy to use the Quillen hotel as a base to explore the nearby sights like the "Circuito Chico", which I can highly recommend.
My room was not that large, but it was comfortable enough and had a nice partial view of the lake. The bathroom was fine and everything was in working order.
Breakfast was good, varied, and plenty.
The hotel provides free parking in a parking lot next to it - very practical if you're there with a rental car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyKingBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
4.1 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#3 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
12.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#5 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 1,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#21 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#34 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#24 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quillen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quillen Hotel & Spa

Property: Quillen Hotel & Spa
Address: San Martin 415, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALE, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quillen Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Quillen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing