We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reuse of bread rolls”
Review of Jauja Restaurante

Jauja Restaurante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Jauja Restaurant and Grill is one of the oldest and most traditional restaurants in San Carlos de Bariloche, with over 30 years of uninterrupted activity. This has led them to have a very caring customer treatment and a very extensive menu, with the aim to offer variety and service, both to tourists and residents; therefore, in our menu, apart from the traditional cuts of Argentina grill and Patagonian lamb special, you will see two types of trout of the area, Chilean salmon, Spanish squid, fried calamari, shrimp and haddock Atlantic. Pasta varieties: vegetable ravioli, pumpkin or trout, sorrentinos, lasagna. Typical dishes of European cuisine cuts alternate with hunting deer and wild boar. They are also classic smoked trout, deer, boar and lamb, venison and lamb patties, as their variety in desserts make up a large and sober menu. Accompanied by a dozen Argentine wineries that make a balanced menu Rutini wines, Nieto & Senetiner, Terrazas de los Andes, End of the World, Rock, Las Perdices, Tomero or Andeluna, make a wide range of alternatives.
Bat Yam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reuse of bread rolls”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The food is OK, not a "wow" experience. Me and my wife noticed that they reuse bread rolls from one table to another, which is just disgusting , and dare to charge for it. Value for money is poor and the atmosphere feels like something is fake...
Also we had a coupon (which we couldn't understand what it says) that we gave to the waiter. In the end after we paid the bill and were ready to go, he offered us a champagne (that's what the coupon said) which we refused...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Igor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    254
    91
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointingly average”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Place was rather mediocre and lacked personal touch, service I attentive.
Food was average, pumpkin soup ok, empanadas ok, venison fillet lacked panache and salmon was very average, with jacket potatoes also very average.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnslowBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jauja Resto B, Gerente at Jauja Restaurante, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear OnslowBath:
Thanks for giving us your opinion. We will continue working to meet as many of the needs of our customers. It is our objective. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bariloche
Level 6 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Jauja, still a classic in Bariloche”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

being local, and being a cook, I have to say that Jauja, is one of the classics in Bariloche...service, atmosphere, is relevant...plus their wide variety of very good dishes makes them one of my favorites restaurants in town,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Big&tasty”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Went to Bariloche in february to ran a trail race. Wandering around the city I dined a couple of nights in Jauja, a friendly place a couple of blocks from the main street. The lasagna is awesome, It is good that you walk all day and the mountain air makes you hungry, otherwise it is impossible to finish it. Another day I had a great steak, very tender. Prices are very reasonable and the owner, José, is a friendly character and knows a lot about wines. I had a great Angelica Zapata Malbec. Best way to finish a day in Bariloche.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enrique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our guide suggested that we try Jauja because one member of our group wanted lamb . . . the others wanted to try the trout and Jauja has a menu that can satify anyone - at least 8 pages long. That said, the fish was dry and overcooked although my husband's lamb was excellent. However, the service was inattentive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jauja Restaurante also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Jauja Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing