We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costas del Nahuel Hosteria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was a disappointment from the start; it is located well below street level and one has to carry heavy suitcases down a steep set of stairs; the management or staff of this hotel made no attempt to assist at either check-in or check-out. Our room (#1) was at basement level with a window at ground level, next to a guest pathway. The furnishings were old and needed refurbishment. The bathroom was old and tired, with no natural light (since it was actually underground), a noisy exhaust fan and quite a bit of mould on the ceiling. Breakfast was poor and no staff assistance was present at this meal. Reception was friendly and helpful with tourist information. The hotel is reasonably located, although it is more than a short walk to town.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 172 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in a great room with a double aspect view of the lake. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and spoke good English. It's also a good place to get your washing done if you're running out of clean T-shirts!

Buses run to Llao Llao from just outside the hotel and the town centre is about five minutes away - we had a delicious meal at the Trattoria della Familigia Bianchi a couple of minutes down the road. All in all a good choice and really great value for the town.

Room Tip: We booked a lake view room and the view was amazing - definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location of this place is perfect. It's right on the lake with phenomenal lake views, and a 5 minute walk from the center of town. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The breakfast spread is pretty good compared to other places in Argentina, and they're very nice about making sure you get enough to eat, even if you're late. Everybody we encountered at the front desk was extremely helpful and spoke very good English. We paid $70 USD per night, which we thought was a good deal, especially compared to other prices in Bariloche (which we did not care for at all and found extremely expensive...in fact, we left early because we enjoyed everywhere else we were in Argentina and Chile much more than Bariloche).

My only complaint about the Hosteria is that traffic noise can be pretty bad in some rooms. We were in room five the first 2 nights, and it was far enough from the road that it was pretty quiet. But after climbing Mount Tronador, we came back for an additional night and stayed in room ten. You could hear the road very clearly form there and I was up all night with traffic noise (full disclosure: I'm a very light sleeper). There's not much the Hosertia can do, though, they're just on a very busy road.

Overall, we really liked it and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room as far from the road as possible (room 5 is great)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoCardinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed only one night, but were very happy with our choice. The hotel is right by the lake and we had a nice view from our room. Rooms are okay in size and a little wear and tear but we felt very welcome. Breakfast was okay and service staff was friendly.
It is located just outside the center, but easily in walking distance. The bus to Llao Llao leaves right outside the hotel, which is very convenient.
All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I had an outstanding experience at Costas Del Nahuel! The views of the lake are fabulous and the customer service was stellar! The location of this hotel is perfect; within walking distance of downtown and on the way to the National Park. The rooms are simple and clean and a tasty continental breakfast (croissants, fruit, yogurt, juice coffee, etc...) is included in the price of the room. Excellent value in pricey Bariloche! Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWshred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Just ten minutes from the centre of town it has a lovely lakeside setting. Steps lead down to a terrace with sun beds and a swimming pool. A gate provides access to a small rocky beach and the lake. The rooms are a reasonable size with a full bathroom and good satellite TV. The wifi is very good and there are a couple of PCs in reception. Breakfast is served in a room with picture windows overlooking the lake. A limited selection of snacks and drinks are available from reception. The staff are friendly and incredibly helpful. A fantastic little place to stay in Bariloche!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PashWagMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spend there 3 nights. it is a very nice Hosteria. The view is beautiful and the stuff is friendly!
The Hosteria is 10 minutes from the 'city center' near a bus station.
The rooms are simple- but nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noa12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,627 reviews
2.9 mi away
La Cascada Hotel
La Cascada Hotel
#49 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo
Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo
#8 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costas del Nahuel Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costas del Nahuel Hosteria

Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 937, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400AEC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $66 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Costas del Nahuel Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costas del Nahuel Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing