We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Marblehead, Ma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Altuen was our first stop on a 30 day trip to Argentina and Brazil and what a wonderful way to start our trip. Paula and Luis could not have been nicer and what great bread Luis made every morning for breakfast. They both made us feel very welcome and at home.

We had a spectacular view of the lake from our balcony. Our room was clean and nice sized with plenty of hot water and as many bath towels as you may need. The hotel itself was immaculate.

The Altuen is situated somewhat out of the city but is on the bus line which makes it very easy to get to all the sights. The hotel sells bus tickets and the bus stop is just a short walk away. There are several great restaurants within walking distance and if you want to go into the town they will call a taxi for you. The taxis are not expensive so that is not a problem.

If you want a boutique hotel with A-one service, you will want to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtrippers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    54
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
168
341
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doral, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have been around the world and have never felt so much at home as when we stayed at the Altuen Hotel in Bariloche. Our room had a beautiful view of the lake and it was spacious, very clean and bright. Luis and Paula have to be the most wonderful hosts we've ever encountered, they organize for us great excursions and recommended outstanding restaurants in the area. We felt pampered at all times, they even made cook to order breakfast a warm experience. They made you feel like long time friends. We truly enjoyed the Jacuzzi Spa with a glass of wine while enjoying the fantastic view of the lake. This is the place to stay in Bariloche

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 night stay in the Altuen hotel. Paula and Luis went out of their way to make us feel at home. They were extremely helpful with organising excursions, rent-a-car and restaurant tips. We had a beautiful room with a stunning view from the balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muireanndp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Altuen - it is situated on the main road about 8km out of Bariloche, but that is no issue, as there are many excellent restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel - al of which hosts Paula and Luis can recommend.

Paula and Luis are the most charming hosts - a super warm welcome and greeting - and the friendliness and warm hospitality continued throughout our short 3 days stay there. Nothing was too much trouble, Luis helping us plan our day trips in the car we'd hired (though a word of warning, don't take Luis' suggested direct route from St Martin de los Andes to Bariloche, the road is awful, it ripped apart one of our tires and that of a car coming the other direction!). On leaving we got a hug and a kiss and were reminded that we always had 2 friends in Bariloche. We were genuinely sorry to leave.

The rooms have comfortable beds and are simply furnished - the upstairs rooms have a balcony with amazing views over the lakes - with the long summer days the rooms were bright and it was hard to draw yourself away from the stunning views. A perfect place to end the day with a glass of wine on the balcony. The bathrooms also functioned well - and were spacious and not cramped.

Breakfast is the standard Argentinian fare, with the exception of the lovely freshly baked bread each morning - you could smell it from your room and was a nice added touch.

In short, an excellent choice if you're staying in the area - far nicer in every respect than staying in Bariloche itself.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a room with a view of the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

From the moment I stepped into Altuen Hotel I felt at home with the warm and friendly hospitality of the beautiful owners Paula and Luis. The hotel is in a very good location with absolutely breathtaking views of the lake and mountains. The rooms were clean and I especially enjoyed the bed which was very comfortable. It was a truly wonderful experience and I'm looking forward to my next trip with friends next year!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want the B&B experience to include fabulous owners, this is definitely a place to stay. The owners are kind and very interested in making your experience in Bariloche as good as possible. They gave great recommendations for restaurants and activities and helped us book when needed. They also assisted in getting us bus passes which were nice to have; however, the hotel is well located so we often stayed within walking distance.

Our room was on the upper level and faced the lake, and the views were stunning. The hotel is very simple, but very nice and incredibly clean and safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantwon
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The views from the lakeside rooms are breathtaking. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The floor tiles, towels, and sheets are all brilliant white. The indoor hot tub is large. The grounds were landscaped thoughtfully with very lovely flowers. Although all of the rooms were nice, I recommend the rooms with the lakeside view because they have a deck. You can sit outside with coffee in the morning and enjoy the scenery before going out, or star gaze at night with a lovely glass of wine. The hotel is not on the main strip, but instead is in a more scenic and quieter area of Bariloche. Although renting a car is possible, it was easy to get anywhere by taxi, city bus, or tour bus. Several places were within walking distance of the hotel as well. Every morning we woke up to the smell of bread baking, which Paula and Luis served at breakfast along with homemade jam, eggs, and croissants. The coffee is fantastic. Paula and Luis are very accommodating. They are well connected in Bariloche and can arrange for any meal (including reservations or carry out) and absolutely any excursion. They are genuinely warm, friendly, and honest. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have a better view and a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,526 reviews
6.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
948 reviews
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
286 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#6 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,122 reviews
2.9 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Property: Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AEK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing