We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Hosts, Great Service and View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
2 reviews
“Wonderful Hosts, Great Service and View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was very impressed by this inexpensive charming hotel. The service is definitely a plus - very personal and friendly. Luis and Paula (the couple who own the hotel) are extremely kind and customer oriented. They've shown a genuine interest in making sure our stay would be a great experience from all perspectives, besides taking care of our stay, they helped plan our time at Bariloche (where to go, eat, etc) making excellent recommendations.
We picked a room with a balcony facing the Nahuel-Huapi lake - highly recommended.

Room Tip: We picked a room with a balcony facing the Nahuel-Huapi lake (highly recommended).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
159
318
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is a charming little hotel....managed by a very warm & caring couple, Paula & Luis.
The Views are beautiful . I loved spending time on the balcony overlooking the Nahuel-Huapi lake.
Paula & Luis add a personal touch to everything. The freshly baked bread at breakfast was delectable! The rooms are very tidy and cosy.
Paula & luis were very helpful in suggesting itineraries and booking excursions..they also suggested restaurants serving great food walking distance from the hotel.
Overall our stay was wonderful..I would definitely recommend this impressive little hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingene, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Immediately when I arrived, I was welcomed very warmly by Luiz and Paola. It was more or less like being home: cosy rooms with lake view terrace, clean bathroom and functional wifi (very rare in South-America). The breakfast was fresh and delicious. But what makes this place special is the interaction with Luiz and Paula. You can talk to them, and they will help you, just like friends. I have stayed on my trip in probably more than 25 hotels and hostels, but this one sticks out, head and shoulders. Highly recommended! Ciao, Steven

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is a small boutique hotel that has a warm and friendly feel to it. We were upgraded from a Park View room to a Lake View room and the views were amazing. Paula and Luis are great hosts, helping with all of our excursions and even tracking down the scarf I left on the bus. The rooms are well appointed, extremely clean and the breakfast was wonderful especially the the hot homemade bread each morning. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a beautiful and magical place. During the days I could relax in the balcony looking at the calm blue lake, with mountains on the background. During the nights, I could look at the stars for hours. The rooms are clean, convenient and comfortable. The service and attention in the hotel is excellent. The breakfast was very good too.

The reason for my trip was business. This was my last stop of my 2 week traveling in South America, and was exactly what I needed after a lot of stress. It was easy to relax and enjoy the nature in Bariloche. I also highly recommend the restaurant close to the hotel, Las Morillas, which serve delicious food.

Location is convenient. Not too far from the airport and the city. Close to the CNEA (National Atomic Center)

The only negative comment I have is that there is no AC, that I could find at least.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that have the balcony on the lake side. Its magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Altuen is everything the other reviews tell you and more. From the moment of our arrival we were made to feel incredibly welcome by Luis and Paola in a warm yet subtle way that I have not experienced anywhere else. The room was spotless, the bed huge and the view from the balcony to die for. The location is excellent, we dined within walking distance at a different restaurant each of the four nights we were there, and the main bus route to all the touristy spots runs past the hotel. A truly delightful stay, strongly recommended to all.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobbers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

This delightful gem has it all. Paula and Luis are over the top as hosts in their desire to please and make your stay great. Paula arranged a door to door car rental, greeted us with croissants, chocolates and kiss on the cheek. Luis helped us use their computer so that we could Skype with our family back home and even drew personal maps to help us plan our daily excursions. Every arrival or departure was greeted personally. We felt like loved family from our first moments at the hotel until we left.

The hotel location is excellent with a lovely view of Lake Nahuel Huapi from the rooms and a number of good restaurants are within walking distance. Rooms are immaculately clean and very comfortable.

For those who would like it, upon request, the oversized spa on the first floor will be heated for a relaxing soak or a massage will be arranged in the room next door.

Breakfast includes homemade bread, jams, dulce de leche, fruits, juice, yogurt, coffee and assorted sweets. Since dinner is always very late in Argentina (restaurants open at 8 pm and we seldom saw other diners before 9 pm) a continental breakfast feels just right in the morning.

We very highly recommend a stay at the Altuen.
Rita and Bob Shapiro

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rita and bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Privat...
#2 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#4 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
3.0 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
Arelauquen Lodge by P Hotels
#13 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa

Property: Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa
Address: Avenida Exequiel Bustillo 7625, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AEK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 136 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Altuen Hotel Suites&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing