We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Gabbiano

Il Gabbiano
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After so much steak, this was a refreshing change of pace. Great Italian food and service near downtown!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OK805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    79
    31
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant , food is good but not amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited this cute restaurant- it was really nice - first courses about 70-85 Pessos and the mains are 110-140. We took the shrimp and avocado starter- was tasty and the trout ceviche was way too salty and soaked in lemon. Not a great dish . For the mains we took the trout ( over done and nothing special) and the meat tortellini( I didn't try it) .they had a few gluten free option and said they had a gluten free pasta( store bought and they don't remember the brand). Overall- nice meal but don't expect anything special, an average good restaurant and that's it

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 223Lee223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We LOVED it here! We were able to charge it to our room at Llao Llao, and the owner of the restaurant came and picked us up and brought us home. The place itself is charming and romantic, with rose petals on the table, candles, etc. The plants, landscaping, etc is fabulous. We loved our meal and we loved the experience----don't miss the creme brulee for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank el04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful meal, adorable setting, and excellent service. Complimentary car service from Llao Llao resort and a very nice change of scenery. The shrimp & avocado starter was simple, but impeccable. And the pastas are incredible. Ambiance is really cute as well.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Msantiag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent experience here in Jan 2013!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The food here was fresh and delicious. It was to San Francisco foodie standards, even! And one of the most romantic looking places I've ever been in, with the dim lighting, candles, rose petals from the garden scattered on the tables, and extraordinary service. I splurged here and treated myself to a full meal with dessert and some excellent vino. The nice thing abou tthis place for solo travelers is they don't limit your glass of wine to the house wine - they opened whatever bottle I wanted, and poured me a glass. I didn't have this experience anywhere else in Argentina. Much appreciated!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gabbiano also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing