We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal restaurant in Bariloche near Llao Llao”
Review of Il Gabbiano

Il Gabbiano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: It is an Italian restaurant with Mediterranean approach. Pasta, meat and fish. Classic Italian cuisine with innovations and products of the region. Elegant rustic atmosphere.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We just returned from a truly fantastic Italian dinner just a short complimentary ride from the Llao Llao Hotel where we are staying. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, with an extensive wine list and creative offerings. I had a unique shrimp and avocado appetizer followed by osso bucco while my wife enjoyed her Greek salad and salmon entree. We shared semi-freddo zabaglione for dessert and complimented our meal with a bottle of Patagonian Chardonnay. This restaurant far surpasses any options in our hotel and, thanks to our concierge, was the place we selected. Make sure not to miss this truly fantastic find just a few steps away.

Date of visit: November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JJSFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 111 of 592 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

Portions a bit small, but food was delicious, very rustic/intimate/romantic. Great service. Mains US$ 18-26, salads/appetizers 10-15. Great wines starting at 20 and going to 500.

Date of visit: March 2012
Thank travelindave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

If you're tired of eating Argentinian grill every night, take a break at this Tuscan quality Italian!!!

Date of visit: February 2012
Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

we have been in many italian restaurants all over the world. even in italy there was no restaurant that served such excellent delicious italian food as we had in Il Gabbiano.
the staff was very helpful and professional. the restaurant is very nice ,romantic and quiet. the whole atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant. the wine selection is great. above all the food was excellent and cooked to perfection. try the Oso Buco, nowhere else can you get something equal to it. compliments to the chef.

Date of visit: December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alerda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We visited while on Induction phase of Atkins - probably not the best idea. However the Proprietor and menu accommodates everyone. I had walked by this lovely spot earlier in the day and the beautiful flowers which surround the front entrance caught my eye. I had read good things here in TripAdvisor though was nervous about our diet. Everything was fantastic ! The restaurant is small and intimate with beautiful fresh flowers from the garden on every table. We were waited on by the proprietor himself. I had a juicy steak topped with spinach and a little cheese. Amazing parilla grill flavor. Perfect for my diet and the portion was considerably more than I could eat. They have a nice wine list and the service was very attentive. It was a very lovely evening outside of the hotel. All the pasta dishes we saw looked lovely and presented great temptations to us. :) We were staying at Llao LLao and the restaurant actually provided transportation in both directions (about 5 minutes from hotel by car). Note: cash payments only.

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DeeF217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gabbiano also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to Il Gabbiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing