We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location on a peaceful lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location on a peaceful lake”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

we stayed in Feb. 2012 2 nights in Peninsula Petit and enjoyed every minute. rooms look onto the lake, big & clean w/ WI-FI. staff is very helpful. we would love to come back for a week vacation in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rikishefivered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    106
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
191
606
33
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

this place is nearly perfect. Spent $50/night for a double for 4 nights in March (shoulder season: end of trekking, far too early for snow). 4.5 rounded upward because this is a really calming place

Intimate 11-room hotel with large rooms, average/slightly below beds, great bathrooms, (although water took a while to warm up), refregerators with steep mini bar prices, DVD with good selection of films at desk. Fantastic breakfasts with great common areas - floor to ceiling views of lake, mountains. Wonderfully friendly staff, treated like royalty. Grounds are forested. You can feel your blood pressure drop. Bariloche is a ski-town tourist trap, with the only redeeming feature being Jauja ice cream parlor (14 Perito Moreno, try the Chocolate Profundo), so this is much nicer, but...

You need a car. Boy, do you need a car! Sans car, it is a 500m walk to intersection where you catch bus to town (40 min), trailheads. This is doable, bus runs every 20 minutes from 6am-midnight and at 2 and 4 am., but there is no supermarket and hotel restaurant is closed off-season. Nearest restaurant is Il Gabbiano (great but expensive Italian 5 km away)

Room Tip: Every room is good - they all face the lake/mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelindave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly with one of the best 'continental' breakfasts we have had since we have been travelling.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded for the first two nights of our three night stay. Both rooms had a great view of the lake (all rooms face the lake - i'm not sure about their view).
If you stay at the Petit Peninsular, you either need a car or be prepared to wait for the bus which passes the hotel, as it is about 20km from Bariloche, but as a result the hotel is very restful and quiet. We did some lovely circuit drives - it is well positioned for Circuit Chico.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank originalgroucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed 2 nights with a friend in a twin room. The view down to the lake from the room was lovely, however the view from the lounge area through a huge panoramic glass window was even better. We moved here after spending 3 nights in Bariloche. The weather had been dry so there was a bit of volcanic ash dust around Bariloche, however Llao Llao was fine. This was the main reason fomod hooding this hotel. My friend enjoyed running in the forest trails & I loved relaxing in the lounge.

We had a hire car enabling us to easily get into town & around the Llao Llao park. The walk from the main road is easily do-able in nice weather with no luggage but would not be fun in the wet. The bus stops right at the end of the access road to the peninsula.

We ate dinner at the restaurant on our first night & after we had issues with the headlights of our hire car we had intended to eat there our second night. Unfortunately we only found out late afternoon that they don't serve dinner that night which I think was a Friday. We had to buy some food to eat in & they were very helpful in opening our tins, heating our food & cleaning our dishes. The staff were very helpful during our entire stay.

The breakfast was fantastic! After 4 months in South America it remains in the top 2 breakfasts. Fruit, cereal, lovely bread, pastries, ham, cheese, something sweet & a good selection of jams. The dinner was also very good & reasonable value. I ordered a few coffees in the lounge & they came with a small, delicious, home made treat. It's those little touches I really like. I found the hotel very peaceful & relaxing. It's a shame the weather stopped us from exploring the lake.

Overall. Excellent value, lovely location & very helpful staff.

Negatives.
There were a few power blackouts whilst we were there. They seemed to affect all buildings back to approx. KM15 & didn't trouble us but may be a factor to others. The first was short & meant we had an impromptu candlelit dinner (didn't prevent us having a hot dinner).
The shower takes about 5mins to heat up which they tell you when you check in. You just turn on the hot tap & come back 5mins later.
Sheets on the twin beds were a bit narrow. In the morning my friend & I would wake up to find the sheets had come out the sides.
They weren't accepting credit cards at the time of my visit.

PS It rained whilst we stayed at this hotel which seemed to clean the trees & keep the dust down. Despite the dust we thoroughly enjoyed our week in Bariloche (Feb 2012) & were happy to support the local tourism industry which has suffered since the eruption of Puyehue Volcano in Chile last year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very nice and quiet hotel with a small beach for a good price. No better place to read trough a whole book on one day! Very nice and helpful staff, simple but excellent dinner!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flurin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The breakfast with the fresh medialunas, hot coffee and fresh fruit were awesome. The service and afternoon tea was a bonus. The best asset however, was the view from the room. Absolutely ridiculous onto the lake. Rooms were clean, tasteful and modern. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFinOrotavaTenerife
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Hotel clean warm friendly
Outside of town-magnificent lake views
Staff the best-helped us so much.
No credit cards!
Had a fantastic Christmas Eve dinner.
One of our Best experiences in Argentina!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelRuralOrotava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
6.4 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,550 reviews
2.6 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,140 reviews
9.8 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#4 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
634 reviews
6.7 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Petit Hotel

Property: Peninsula Petit Hotel
Address: Avenida Del Campanario 493, San Carlos de Bariloche R8401FGE, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Peninsula Petit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Peninsula Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing