We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The absolute best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Barraca Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Barraca Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The absolute best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have been traveling for 3 months through Peru, Chile and Argentina. We have stayed in many hostels and B&B's and this is by far the best one. If you are looking to stay up late, drink beer and listen to loud music - this is not your hostel. If you are looking for a modern, spotlessly clean and relaxing place, this is it. Do not look any further. It is up on a hill with great views of the lake and mountains. (Do not let the hill detour you - Bariloche is a hilly town). There were other guests staying when we were there but it felt like we had a home of our own. Clara and her husband live in the guest house next to the main house so you are left with a sense of renting an entire house - but if you need something Clara is full of knowledge and is happy to give you information. The house is tastefully decorated and the kitchen is fully stocked. Homemade bread and jam is served every morning as well as cereal, juice and coffee. We stayed 5 nights and wish we were back there now! I cannot say enough good things about this home!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinandcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    68
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
43
148
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

La Barraca is super nice! The house is so tasteful decorated, the way I would do it at my own home. We loved it so much and stayed much longer than we had first planned. The view from the garden is stunning, you can see the lake and the city, as you are up on a hill. Breakfast is great too, and everything is so personal, but professional. As I said: best hostel I have ever stayed in (and I have been staying in a lot of hostels...) for so little money. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

It's a bit of a walk into town but this didn't mar our stay as our room was very good. We had a double room with bathroom and found it nicely decorated, clean and spacious. We were the only people staying at the time so it felt like we had the whole houes to ourselves. The kitchen had all the necessary equipment and the dining area had a nice view of the lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed in July of 2010 for a week. This place was a great little find, close to everything. The staff, and Clara were wonderful to work with, making this stay quite an enjoyable experience. The breakfast was simple but more than adequate, the rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the location to the ski areas wasn't bad. We loved all the resturants and chocolate shops close by. The steaks were incredible and the italian food in town was great. I had promised Clara I was going to write a review, but couldn't find where to write it until now, sorry for the delay.. Thanks Clara, Vicente and I will be back someday.

Room Tip: no pool, but can't remove the rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Really good place to stay. Everything clean and nice decor. Location is pretty good. Nice garden with hammock and small pool and great views of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We are long term travelers with only basic needs - general cleanliness and sufficient space for our (minimal) stuff. We happened to catch a deal on booking.com for this place, and it was worth way more than we paid...even on our tight budget.

The owners live in the building out front. They are a sweet and attentive family. The main room is very cozy and nicely decorated. It has great views of the water. The kitchen is one of the most well equipped we have encountered on our travels. The room is so adorable, with vaulted ceiling and great lighting. There is tons of closet space. The room has a TV, TV stand, and chairs. The bathroom is definitely new and sparkling clean. Breakfast is pretty good too.

The location is a little far from town, at least a 15 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeDocumented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Salvador
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Because of the closure of bariloche airport we arrived after the normal check in time, about 12.39am. It was nice of the owners to let us do this, but the triple room we requested was not ready and we had to wait a while to get this fixed. Rooms were clean and the back ones had a great view, but the matters was tired and need replacing and the breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielGreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#21 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#8 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Guemes
Hosteria Guemes
#52 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#23 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#15 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kospi Boutique Guesthouse
Kospi Boutique Guesthouse
#1 of 117 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Barraca Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Barraca Suites

Property: La Barraca Suites
Address: Avenida de Los Pioneros 39, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400BIA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Barraca Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Barraca Suites introduces an innovative form of comfort lodging.Is a mountain house with elegant interiors, stylish furnishings and comfortable communal spaces.We are situated 6 blocks from the centre of Bariloche and offer 6 double en-suite bedrooms and a 3-person apartment with kitchen.You can enjoy our tabled terrace and large garden with a stunning view of lake Nahuel Huapi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your La Barraca Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing