We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, Romantic Getaway- Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Charming Lodge was exactly that - charming. All of the hotels in the area have that rustic/ski-lodge look to them, since the town is home to a big ski lodge, but charming was particularly beautiful. It was also has a very romantic feel to it. The rooms were very spacious and there was a separate bathroom with a big jet tub. The views from your room/the dining room/the patios off the dining room were truly breathtaking, and I know that a lot of the other similar hotels did not have such amazing views. The staff were incredibly knowledgable and friendly- we pestered them with questions about restaurants and activities and they were always happy to explain things to us and make reservations for us. Additionally, the breakfast is incredible (and included). The spread is tremendous, it has everything you could dream of, including typical Argentine foods such as alfajores. The restaurant in the hotel is also pretty good but very overpriced, I would skip it since there are places of equal quality and much better prices.
The only minor complaint we had is that the hot tub is not quite in working order. It kept draining itself to a low level, and then refilling with scalding hot water, making it too hot to enter. However, this was hardly a black mark on the hotel, just something to note.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleyglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Charming for four nights in total. The area is magnificent and the view from my bedroom window was picture postcard percect. The room was slightly dated and the water pressure (even for a.European) was not great. The beds are very comfortable. We found the staff at reception to be very helpful and really friendly. Each excursion they recommended was excellent. Overall it was a good choice and we really enjoyed Bariloche.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank efknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently stayed at the Charming Lodge in Bariloche for 4 nights (originally booked for 3 nights but extended it an extra night as we loved it). The facilities were wonderful and very refreshing after being in the city for a few days beforehand. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, giving good recommendations of what to do and where to visit during our stay. We will be going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The views at Charming are incredible and by far are the main reason to choose this hotel. I visited here in November, springtime in Argentina, while traveling on my honeymoon and couldn't have asked for a better atmosphere. The grounds are nicely kept and there are great views of the lake whereever you are on the property. The staff was very helpful and made it very easy to arrange transportation or schedule day trips.

Breakfast is good, and they offer eggs if you want something more substantial than the carb-heavy continental breakfast offered most places. Based on reviews here and a recommendation from the hotel, we ate dinner at Butterfly one night, which is a short walk down the hotel's gravel road. Definitely eat here if you have the chance.

I wouldn't walk much farther than this though. The main road in Bariloche has many pedestrians but also many fast drivers and is extremely dusty. There also aren't many food options within reasonable walking distance. If you can afford it ($50 / day when we were there), ask the hotel about renting a car. They make it extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The view from your room windows is the best view in Bariloche. The rooms are most comfortable and equipped. Facilities are great, the area is maintained beautifully. Service is perfect, people are most charming. We promised ourselves that we'll come again.

Room Tip: The view dips the key, make sure you get a full view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Moshe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location is breathtaking.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The rooms clean and well appointed.
The food is delicious. The morning breakfast bar perfect to start the day.
What a lovely place to stay. :-)

Room Tip: Ask the owner to keep his dog inside at night. He barks a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 10Gayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fantastic stay From the moment we arrived. Stunning view of the surrounding lake and mountains and close proximity to some great places to eat. Very helpful staff with their advice and assistance in booking excursions and restaurants. Hotel food also very good. Only criticism is to check your bill if you got a discounted rate although I'm sure this was probably a genuine mistake. Will definitely stay there again should we return to Argentina.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter01London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lirolay Suites
Lirolay Suites
#5 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
683 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#3 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,5 | On the shore of Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $193 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing