We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most beautiful hotels I have seen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful hotels I have seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Truly one of the most beautiful hotels I have been to. The suite we stayed in was perfect in every way - wood panelled charm with a stunning view of the lake. Serene and cosy yet with every comfort. The owner and the team that runs the resort are wonderful people - we had several conversations with the owner, who made us feel like we were staying at his home instead of just a hotel. He shared the story of how he designed and built this hotel and it sounds like a labour of love - and you can tell, with every detail taken care of. The quality of the furnishings in the room are also top notch. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerH187145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    114
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
304
878
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and its really an outstanding place. they offer whatever you need and even more. you cannot exect more. may the owners presence make the difference
Niklaus DALI, Hong Kong

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niklaus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days in lateOctober 2012. The location is beautiful perched up on a cliff above the lake with wonderful views of the lake and mountains. The spa suite we had was large with a sauna and shower/steam room and a lovely, large soaker bathtub overlooking the lake. It had a very small kitchen with a stovetop and fridge and we even cooked a meal there one night. The king sized bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast is served in the hotel dining room and is all fresh and made on the premises including the baking. What stood out for us above all was the excellent service from Maria Jose at the front desk and the manager Titzianna. Maria Jose helped us with reservations and activities, even carefully booking us into a good hairdresser!

We would definitely stay here again. It is top notch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Very nice hotel in a good location for access to Bariloche town (which you can give a miss except for the chocolate) or driving around this spectacular region. We had a Deluxe Room which was wonderful, especially the sauna, steam shower and massive jacuzzi tub. But it was the service that was most exceptional. Javier and Santiago were incredibly helpful, as were other staff. When the first room we were given did not feel private enough for us (wouldn't be an issue for most people but we had a bad experience at another hotel when our privacy was invaded), the staff graciously moved us to a more private room without a hint of attitude. Breakfast was also very nice. In short, Charming lives up to it's name.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faraway13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here solely based on Trip Advisor reviews; I was not disappointed. After a 11 hour flight from Texas to Buenos Aires, a change of airports and another 2 hour flight to Bariloche, we were more than happy to be ground borne for a few days. Checkin was fast - actually, there was no checkin. The front desk did not ask for the usual paperwork or credit card. They simply handed us room keys and welcome drinks. The front desk manager showed us to the extra large room, pointing out the specifics of the in-room dry sauna, steam sauna and heated floor. The bed was perfect as was everything else. The place was more akin to a Swiss lodge than anything expected in South America. Dinner one night was excellent, as was the bar service throught the day. The large fireplace in the bar was not burning; we wish it had been. The pool was perfectly heated also, and the pool deck overlooking the lake was the perfect spot for relaxation. Next time I'm in this area of the world, I'll for sure make a point to stay here again.

Room Tip: I dont think there's a bad room in the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Having read the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor and coming from a wonderful hotel in Mendoza, I was fully expecting to be disappointed by Charming but not at all! The first thing you have to mention is the view - it literally made me happy the whole time I was there - I could have just looked at it all day. The second thing to mention is the staff who were all excellent - we had 2 lovely waiters in the restaurant and one particularly helpful lady on reception. Talking of the restaurant, the food was excellent too - we had delicious Patagonian lamb one night (it was a special) and the trout I had off the regular menu was one of my best meals of the holiday. A quick note for any birdwatchers too to say that they will be in heaven - there were birds of prey everywhere - at one point literally scratching around by the hotel door! - and some other interesting birds on the lawn every morning. And I haven't even got round to mentioning the sauna, jacuzzi and steam room shower in our room! Just one slight warning which is entirely our fault for not checking but if you need to do laundry, do it in the laundrette over the road - the hotel's service is very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank North_Pole_Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

From the moment you drive down the (rather steep) driveway, you will be completely blown away! There is not a better location! The views from every part of the property are just amazing. After recovering from the views, you will then be further blown away by the staff and level of service. We were very warmly greeted Maria Jose, who is just a gem! She was not only helpful during the check-in process but during our entire stay. She always has a smile on her face and will go out of her way. And the service doesn't stop there. Every staff member we dealt with went above and beyond. Santiago and Javier were extremely helpful in helping us find some amazing restaurants and give us advice on what to see. We were also fortunate enough to meet Alberto and Tiziana, the owner and the manager. They were so friendly and helpful that I felt more like I was staying with friends rather than at a hotel!

We were lucky enough to stay in the Charming Suite. WOW is the best way to describe it. It was spacious, clean and the bathroom was to-die-for! It has a dry sauna, a steam shower and jacuzzi tub (with an amazing view!). Not only that, it is built into the side of the hill with exposed volcanic rock in the shower, behind the vanity and in the toilet room! We spent as much time in our "private spa" as we did in the actual room! This is THE room to have.

There are just not enough adjectives to describe this place! From the views to the service, it just doesn't get any better than this. As a matter of fact, we had reservations at another hotel in Villa de Angustera but ended up coming back to Charming. When we arrived at the other hotel, it just didn't even compare to Charming. I called and Maria Jose advised us that they (fortunately) had room for us for 2 more nights but not in the same room. We didn't care, we just wanted to be back. When we got to the hotel, Santiago had a surprise for us. They were able to give us the Charming Suite again! Needless to say, we were quite happy!

Thanks to the entire staff at Charming (including Pocho), we had an amazing time!

Room Tip: If possible, get the Charming Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
8.5 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
6.4 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
2.9 mi away
Design Suites Bariloche
Design Suites Bariloche
#18 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#13 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa
#9 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
Catalonia Sur Aparts & Spa
#6 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa

Property: Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Address: Av. Bustillo Km 7,500 | Sobre la costa de Lago Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Family Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Spa Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
#5 Business Hotel in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa, built on the bluff of a cliff, delights with panoramic vistas of Lake Nahuel Huapi and the Andes mountains range. The lodge's wood and stone work is reminiscent of a small alpine village. The large balconies of each residence and suite are suspended over the bluff. Just below, the waves crash upon Playa Bonita and the sides of the cliff. The hotel's interior is just as unique. Total comfort is offered in the Private Spas that form part of each suite. One can choose between a dry sauna, a double jacuzzi with ozonetherapy and an LCD TV, a scottish shower, and a finnish shower with aromacolor therapy. Each of these options are integrated into each suite, allowing the guest total control over his or her relaxation. Charming is a place designed to astonish its guests with its beauty, luxury, tranquility, comfort, unforgettable views, and amiable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Charming - Luxury Lodge & Private Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charming - Luxury Lodge And Spa
Charming - Luxury Hotel San Carlos De Bariloche

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing