We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of El Vegetariano

El Vegetariano
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

after too much argentinian beef it was a delight to visit this lovely restaurant. one of the best vegetarian meals we had so far.
the menu ain't that big but is a welcome break from milanesas and bife!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    69
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A GOOD CHANGE FROM "MEAT LAND"”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This restaurant was such a nice change from most restaurants in Bariloche with beef, beef and beef. We enjoyed the fixed menu and every dish was fresh and tasty.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A break from Beef!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

As my boyfriend and I were ending our 3 weeks in Argentina we were definitely 'beefed' out. We came upon this restaurant by a recommendation from a local working at our hostel. We had a wonderful experience. It was such a refreshing break to have a big plate of vegetables that weren't just 'ensalada". You have 2 options, veggie plate or veggie and fish plate. We both got the veggie plate. The giant white beans and the gnocci were amazing, The quiche like item was somewhat dry and slightly disappointing. It was very quiet in the restaurant, almost too quiet, but we were only in there with one other table than ourselves. Our server was very pleasant and did not speak english which was okay as we have spanish to get by. Our bill was very reasonable and we left very satisfied. Would return.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slipperypineapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“not miraculous, but definitely tasty. prices very reasonable.”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

i am not a vegatarian and it took some convincing for me to go. we went during the low season, the restaurant was nice and quiet. food was good but not insanely awesome. gnocchis were delicious, as were the squash and eggplant, but the fish was somewhat dull. the quiche-like item was dry and seemed quite old.

no booze at this place apparently, but the fruit shakes are delicious.

desserts were ok, nothing special. after all that vegetable matter i would have preferred something more zippy like ice cream or sorbet, but all that was on the menu was banana apple flan and tira misu.

prices (at least during low season) were really great. based on the value alone, i'd recommend the place to anyone who'd consider eating meatless for a night.

Helpful?
Thank Balasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as miraculous as everyone said, but definitely good”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

i am not a vegatarian and it took some convincing for me to go. we went during the low season, the restaurant was nice and quiet. food was good but not insanely awesome. gnocchis were delicious, as were the squash and eggplant, but the fish was somewhat dull. the quiche-like item was dry and seemed quite old.

no booze at this place apparently, but the fruit shakes are delicious.

desserts were ok, nothing special. after all that vegetable matter i would have preferred something more zippy like ice cream or sorbet, but all that was on the menu was banana apple flan and tira misu.

prices (at least during low season) were really great. based on the value alone, i'd recommend the place to anyone who'd consider eating meatless for a night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Balasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vegetariano also viewed

San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
San Carlos de Bariloche, Province of Rio Negro
 

Been to El Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing