We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green House Hostel Bariloche
Certificate of Excellence
Hailey, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Greenhouse one night before a three day hike to return for two more nights. They are so helpful with everything from what to do, how to get around and answering the many questions to help get you oriented to the area. Fun, cozy, clean atmosphere with a great kitchen and easy access by bus. We plan to return on our way back through Bariloche.

Room Tip: My son and I shared a room for two with a great view and balcony on the top floor. There are shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
49
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Thank you tripadvisor, we found this hostel through this site and happy to see it has climbed even higher. Bariloche is an odd sort of a town, its best assets are the areas surrounding and as such this place is your best bet- a little removed for the centre (though the guys give you a bus card to get into town for your steaks etc) and perfect for buses to nearby hikes. But the key to this place is the great atmosphere, no doubt engendered by Brian and Santiago's very relaxed style. Best place in Argentina. Book it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, the hostel is in a great location 4.7k on Bustillo. It's a bright and spacious hostel, we had a twin room which was a good size with a shared bathroom which was well designed; separate bathroom for men and women with two showers and two basins.

Breakfast was basic but as good as anywhere else and the kitchen was well set up.

Notably the hostel was spotlessly clean.

The service that we received from the team at the hostel was good they gave some fantastic advice on a walk to Frey which is well worth doing and were really helpful with taxi bookings and restaurant reservations.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 3 which is a double room but has a sofa bed in it so we were able to use it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Raine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hostel is 4km out of town, a quiet place with view over the lake. Greenhouse is close to a supermarket and more important: the national park! The staff provides you with a buscard so if you like you can be in town in a few minutes. We rather walked to town since it is a nice walk along the lake.
But there is no real need to go into town since the hostel has a great common kitchen with even a (pizza!) oven. Trails in national park all starts at this side of town. The staff is very friendly and helpful, explaining about all the trails, buses and bike rentals.
We stayed in the appartement upstairs, a nice room with private bathroom and private small kitchen (perfect for making coffee and lunch).The appartement was AR$240 per night during x-mas. A good price. We stayed for 7 nights and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Greenhouse over my Birthday. Brian and candy couldn't have been nicer. We had the upstairs double room which was lovely, we had a small kitchenette, which we didn't use as the downstairs kitchen was so great! We also had great views of the lake and a small lounge to chill out in just outside our room.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. It's clean and has great communal areas with use of 2 computers.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a lovely place! Small hostel, full of atmosphere, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated, with lovely touches like fresh flowers in the bathroom. Brian and Santiago go out of their way to be welcoming and friendly, the communal area is a great space and the kitchen is good too - you can use the oven as well as the usual gas hobs. Great value and really charming, thanks for a very memorable stay

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HesterPlumridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent over a week here and on top of the great atmosphere, nice outdoor deck, well equiped kitchen, the crew who ran this hostel and Pudu Hostel down the road were probably the most helpful and generous people we dealt with after 8 months in South America. We had surfboards which we had left in Buenos Aires but realised we weren't going to be returning as planned. The staff helped us on the phone organising a shipping company to deliver our boards to Bariloche which was far beyond our Spanglish ability. The Greenhouse Hostel is super chilled, close to Cerro Catedral for mountain biking, climbing and trekking (or skiing in winter). Theres a little secret beach down the front with even a few boulders to climb on if your into rockclimbing. Every now and then they throw an incredible Argentinian style BBQ too. Wish I was still there!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.7 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#7 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alaska Hostel
Alaska Hostel
#17 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hostel Pudu
Hostel Pudu
#113 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hostel Los Troncos
Hostel Los Troncos
#14 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fortaleza Hostel
Fortaleza Hostel
#9 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green House Hostel Bariloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green House Hostel Bariloche

Property: Green House Hostel Bariloche
Address: Calle Tronador 4651 | Bustillo Km. 4,700, San Carlos de Bariloche R8402AWS, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 252 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green House Hostel is your home in Bariloche , come to a hostel where you can relax, enjoy the views from every room and shared with other guests talks in the common area . We help you plan your trip and arrange your stay in Bariloche. We will wait for you. Greetings, Green House Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Green House Hostel Bariloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing