We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice start in Bariloche, but one night was enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostel Achalay
Certificate of Excellence
Targu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A nice start in Bariloche, but one night was enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at Achalay for one night, we didn't have a reservation and they gave us a double room with bunk beds, the room was clean, but very small. The double with matrimonial bed might be bigger, but we didn't see it. The staff is friendly and quite helpful, good breakfast with homemade bread and jam, coffee, milk, tea. Good locaion, near restaurants and very close to centro civico (5 minutes walk).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
66
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed 5 nights iand had an excellent experience. I appreciated the fact that it's not a huge hostel, had an amiable & laid back atmosphere, an OK breakfast, clean & comfortable. The staff was freindly and informative, The guests at the time seemed to be more mature and inquisitve rather than focused strictly on partying. Was disappointed that I did not have the opportunitiy to participate in one of the famous BBQ's, but that was not their fault. Certainly would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I loved this place, it really set the tone, when I asked what time is breakfast and they said it runs all day. A great breakfast at that with home made bread and a good spread. The location is very central, a walk away from everywhere in town. The staff were really welcoming and helpful, they helped us make the most of our stay in Bariloche.

There was a great atmosphere in the hostel, a very good place for meeting people and having a few beers. Beers were cheap too, like AR15 for a litre. I was very happy with the security in the place too, as I had quite a few valuables with me, so good security and lockers was very important. Good comfortable beds too.

Overall one of the best hostels I've stayed in on my trip so far!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskennedy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Love this place. Has a great travelers feel. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is awesome. A great location but also very quiet for sleeping as not a lot of traffic on this side street where the hostel is. Internet is fast and available in the rooms as well. Almost a top rating but not quite. The private room was fine but they did not service it on a daily basis during the 4 days I was there. To me this just makes sense. During our 4 days there they did not make the bed, sweep the floor and service the bath. Other than that I do recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back will be a little quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a bit surprised by all the extremely positive reviews here for this hostel. While we didn't have a bad experience by any means, it definitely wasn't 5/5. It's true the breakfast is tasty and home made and definitely a cut above the usual hostel fare. However the private room we had was absolutely tiny, I can't remember how many times we bumped our heads on the bunks and the cupboards! The shared bathroom wasn't particularly clean and with the exception of Pablo, the staff were not particularly friendly. It's one of the few hostels where we never really felt at home.

Also, the morning that we arrived we had just got off a 30 hour bus from El Chalten and we were tired and cold. We arrived at the hostel at 7am to find all of the shutters down and the hostel in darkness. We rang the bell 4 times but no one came to the door. Eventually we left our bags in the doorway and went for a walk around Bariloche and to get some food/coffee only to find the whole town was still asleep. We came back to the hostel at 8am and were very glad to find some signs of life. However we were not made to feel particularly welcome and I got the impression we had inconvencied them with our early arrival (we didn't want to check-in, just leave our bags). I've never come across a hostel that was totally dead at 7am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

By far one of the best hostels we've stayed at. The dorm rooms have pretty large lockers, beds have great fluffy duvets. Breakfast consists of fresh baked bread and out of this world tasty homemade jam. The asados are legendary. Seriously super delicious. But the best part of the hostel is the staff. Pablo is wonderful. He is the perfect host. Highly recommend this charming hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Amazing hostel to stay at...great homey atmosphere. The family that owns the place are so nice and very helpful. Don´t miss out on this place! highly recommended. We stayed in the private double room.

Room Tip: The "doors" (room number 5 ) is a great room for couples...with private bathroom, quiet, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 680 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#31 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel 41 Below
Hostel 41 Below
#8 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Property: Hostel Achalay
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 246 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing