We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not bad but a bit overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hostel Achalay to your Saves list
Hostel Achalay
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad but a bit overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a bit surprised by all the extremely positive reviews here for this hostel. While we didn't have a bad experience by any means, it definitely wasn't 5/5. It's true the breakfast is tasty and home made and definitely a cut above the usual hostel fare. However the private room we had was absolutely tiny, I can't remember how many times we bumped our heads on the bunks and the cupboards! The shared bathroom wasn't particularly clean and with the exception of Pablo, the staff were not particularly friendly. It's one of the few hostels where we never really felt at home.

Also, the morning that we arrived we had just got off a 30 hour bus from El Chalten and we were tired and cold. We arrived at the hostel at 7am to find all of the shutters down and the hostel in darkness. We rang the bell 4 times but no one came to the door. Eventually we left our bags in the doorway and went for a walk around Bariloche and to get some food/coffee only to find the whole town was still asleep. We came back to the hostel at 8am and were very glad to find some signs of life. However we were not made to feel particularly welcome and I got the impression we had inconvencied them with our early arrival (we didn't want to check-in, just leave our bags). I've never come across a hostel that was totally dead at 7am.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homesick_Alien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    40
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
65
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

By far one of the best hostels we've stayed at. The dorm rooms have pretty large lockers, beds have great fluffy duvets. Breakfast consists of fresh baked bread and out of this world tasty homemade jam. The asados are legendary. Seriously super delicious. But the best part of the hostel is the staff. Pablo is wonderful. He is the perfect host. Highly recommend this charming hostel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Karin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Amazing hostel to stay at...great homey atmosphere. The family that owns the place are so nice and very helpful. Don´t miss out on this place! highly recommended. We stayed in the private double room.

Room Tip: The "doors" (room number 5 ) is a great room for couples...with private bathroom, quiet, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

One of the best Hostels I have stayed at. Pablo does amazing and reasonably priced Asados on Tuesdays and Fridays. You shouldn't miss those!
Breakfast is great, with homemade bread and jam!
The staff is always friendly and help everywhere they can (booking accomodation, rental cars and even learningbspanish). Rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are clean. Beds are comfortable and prices are cheap. Wifi connection is stable and free, also two computers are available for surfing the web and planning your trip.
All in all this Hostel and its staff offer you a nice and comfortable place to stay. The atmosphere almost makes your feel at home.
PS: Don't pay any attention to reviews of German people who always have something to complain about! I am German and know those people all too well! They should stay at home.

Room Tip: As a dorm room I would recommend to stay at the Jimmy Hendrix 4 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xrds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hostel Achalay is a great place to stay...it quite literally has every you want in a hostel; it´s clean, easy to meet people, staff are SUPER friendly and of course...it´s cheap! Pablo (the owner) is an amazing cook, he bake fresh bread every morning for breakfast (and there is no limit on the times for breakfast!!!) does an suppper cheap Asado (BBQ) that is to DIE FOR with beer and wine and is always getting you to try a bit of his new experiment with food. Really lovely family (Flor is such a warming woman, and emma is the sweetest little girl i´ve met!). They have great lockers, it´s warm (beds have duvets!!!), comfortable, REALLY clean, best kitchen in a hostel I´ve seen, a computer room, wifi, code on the door and great location.

Thank you for such a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place. Private single room was small and simple but comfortable, bathroom was clean and large and kitchen was nice. Pablo was a terrific host, baking homemade bread every day and firing up the grill for a killer parrilla one night (one of the best meals I had in Argentina!) while explaining just what it means to be a Boca fan. He offered lots of good info about activities and a warm welcome.
It's a couple blocks up the hill from the main square, just around the corner from some nice bars and restaurants but in a quiet, residential spot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Pablo, the owner, is a gem. He provides a clean, comfortable hostel with full amenities while being an amazing host, offering advice and ideas to anyone who comes in. I've even seen him call other hostels for people when it's been booked.

Also Pablo has no qualms with offering advice on how to do trips on your own without a guide service which is a huge plus for budget travelers.

The location is great, just 300m from the civic center area and close to all the bus lines. Also close to club andino for those with questions about trekking.

It's very clean and the kitchen/common room have great space for multiple people to hang out at once.

The asado he offers twice a week is massive. We had chorizo, black sausage, a huge ribeye and another type of sausage with rice, salad, grilled onions, and wine.

If I ever came back, I'd be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#24 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#8 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#23 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#16 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#22 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 243 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Property: Hostel Achalay
Address: Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 243 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing