We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a great place!”
Review of Hostel Achalay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel Achalay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Amazing hostel to stay at...great homey atmosphere. The family that owns the place are so nice and very helpful. Don´t miss out on this place! highly recommended. We stayed in the private double room.

Room Tip: The "doors" (room number 5 ) is a great room for couples...with private bathroom, quiet, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaRav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 221 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

One of the best Hostels I have stayed at. Pablo does amazing and reasonably priced Asados on Tuesdays and Fridays. You shouldn't miss those!
Breakfast is great, with homemade bread and jam!
The staff is always friendly and help everywhere they can (booking accomodation, rental cars and even learningbspanish). Rooms, kitchen and bathrooms are clean. Beds are comfortable and prices are cheap. Wifi connection is stable and free, also two computers are available for surfing the web and planning your trip.
All in all this Hostel and its staff offer you a nice and comfortable place to stay. The atmosphere almost makes your feel at home.
PS: Don't pay any attention to reviews of German people who always have something to complain about! I am German and know those people all too well! They should stay at home.

Room Tip: As a dorm room I would recommend to stay at the Jimmy Hendrix 4 bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xrds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hostel Achalay is a great place to stay...it quite literally has every you want in a hostel; it´s clean, easy to meet people, staff are SUPER friendly and of course...it´s cheap! Pablo (the owner) is an amazing cook, he bake fresh bread every morning for breakfast (and there is no limit on the times for breakfast!!!) does an suppper cheap Asado (BBQ) that is to DIE FOR with beer and wine and is always getting you to try a bit of his new experiment with food. Really lovely family (Flor is such a warming woman, and emma is the sweetest little girl i´ve met!). They have great lockers, it´s warm (beds have duvets!!!), comfortable, REALLY clean, best kitchen in a hostel I´ve seen, a computer room, wifi, code on the door and great location.

Thank you for such a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great place. Private single room was small and simple but comfortable, bathroom was clean and large and kitchen was nice. Pablo was a terrific host, baking homemade bread every day and firing up the grill for a killer parrilla one night (one of the best meals I had in Argentina!) while explaining just what it means to be a Boca fan. He offered lots of good info about activities and a warm welcome.
It's a couple blocks up the hill from the main square, just around the corner from some nice bars and restaurants but in a quiet, residential spot.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutellanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Pablo, the owner, is a gem. He provides a clean, comfortable hostel with full amenities while being an amazing host, offering advice and ideas to anyone who comes in. I've even seen him call other hostels for people when it's been booked.

Also Pablo has no qualms with offering advice on how to do trips on your own without a guide service which is a huge plus for budget travelers.

The location is great, just 300m from the civic center area and close to all the bus lines. Also close to club andino for those with questions about trekking.

It's very clean and the kitchen/common room have great space for multiple people to hang out at once.

The asado he offers twice a week is massive. We had chorizo, black sausage, a huge ribeye and another type of sausage with rice, salad, grilled onions, and wine.

If I ever came back, I'd be sure to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

You will get the best sevice from Pablo. He helped me to arange everything, and did it with a smile. The place is great, clean and very cool. Good location, good people, very good expiriance, great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaZin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have travelled all throughout South America and this hostel was one of my favourites. Pablo is the most warm, welcoming host and hostel owner. The rooms are immaculately clean, beds and linens super comfy. Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llamawhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
Hotel Nahuel Huapi
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
435 reviews
10.5 mi away
Peninsula Petit Hotel
Peninsula Petit Hotel
#1 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
976 reviews
0.0 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#5 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#10 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tangoinn Downtown
Tangoinn Downtown
#105 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Achalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Achalay

Address: Calle Emilio Morales 564, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHL, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 256 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $21 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Achalay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Achalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing