We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel quality with good hostel vibe” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Periko's Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Periko's Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel quality with good hostel vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed 7 nights at Periko´s in December 2013, to attend the nearby Montaña Spanish language school (highly recommended)
We found the Hostel staff friendly and ready to give lots of tips on nearby places of interest and things to do when we first arrived, and throughout our stay. They also booked onward bus and guided tour tickets for us.
There is a well laid out common room, a comfy TV/Compter room and a large well equipped Kitchen.
Our double room was large and comfortable, as was the bed, which had plenty of sheets and blankets for a cold night, though the week we were there was unusually hot, dry and sunny. Our room (No 10) on the second floor had a nice triangular skylight type window above the normal curtained window, the result of which was that sunlight came in early in the morning and heated the room a bit like a greenhouse. I would advise 1) take an eyemask to snooze longer and 2) during a similar heatwave, the corridor and common areas are far cooler areas to sit in. Also the nice well kept garden at the rear offers both sun and shade all day.
The ensuite bathroom was kept immaculate daily and hotwater was plentiful.
Wifi is good, but a little slow upstairs.
All in all I agree with comments that Periko´s is more like a hotel, with smiley staff, clean rooms and towels changed every few days, but as a hostel it offers a great place to meet pfellow travelers in the kitchen and common areas.

Room Tip: See note on room 10 - great room but the large window means it heats up like a greenhouse on very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    63
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
121
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed for one night in a private room with bathroom and the quality was just stunning!
Super comfortable bed, clean room and shower. Soap and towels already there and a nice view on the garden. We regretted staying only one night because we slept like a baby.

Service was great and upon asking we could checkout a little later.
The overall vibe is really good. You can't go wrong booking this hostel!

Bonus: One thing that we really liked is that there's a maximum stay of 10 days. We stayed in a couple of hostels where people would stay for a longer period and it really kills the atmosphere. This hostel has got a noticeably better vibe than average.

Room Tip: The private rooms are like hotel rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben-Imre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Perikos and were delighted with our stay. This hostel is fantastic. We stayed in a our own room with private bathroom and the standard was excellent. Very cosy room, chalet style with spotlessly clean bathroom, really good hot shower and very comfy bed!! The common area and kitchen are kept spotlessly clean and there is plenty of room to chill, watch TV or use the Internet facilities. The location is also excellent only two blocks from some great bars and restaurants (and the best steakhouse ever!). The best thing about Periokos though has to be Charlie, he provided us with great information about what to do and where to go. He helped organise our trip to el calefante and just was all round helpful. I would highly recommend this hostel it's top value for money too!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I traveled with my dad in Argentina last year. We had planned to stay a few days in Bariloche, and just choose Periko's quite randomly. It was such an awesome hostel that we ended up staying for a week (although of course that was also influenced by the beauty of Bariloche and its surroundings).

The building itself is great! Wooden and it has a really rustic feel to it. The bedrooms are really comfy and so are the beds. Of course there were also lockers. But I think the best thing was the Kitchen. It was large, spacious and clean and we cooked very regularly. There were also large dining tables and a TV room that would allow you to meet other travelers. And it's a few minutes' walk from the downtown area.

This is really an awesome place to stay and you almost don't want to leave anymore. There is also a nice garden at the back where you can soak in some sun. Overall, it was a fantastic hostel and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrInternational02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a wonderful few days here, the staff and Tom had great advice on what to do in this beautiful area and where to go. Everything was clean and well looked after. Breakfast was great, tv room was cosy and comfortable. The BBQ or parilla area was great and they were happy for us to use it as long as we cleaned up after ourselves, got quite festive with wine and steak in the garden area. Bariloche is a beautiful town, and Perikos is the perfect hostel while staying there! ?Thanks, one of the best over our 11 months traveling in South America

Room Tip: We were in a six man dorm which was comfortable. they have big lockers so good and secure to lock aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimAndMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We used this as our base to do hikes and treks in the area. They were very accommodating, always allowing us to leave packs in a locked office and small valubles in their vault. Rooms were very clean, nice towels. Beds were comfortable but were barely holding together and I had to constantly "rebuild" ours as the sides bowed outward and the bed supports fell through. This was true in both of the rooms we used. I weigh 160 and my wife weighs 120 so I don't think it was our weight that caused the problem!

Other than that, the facilities were very good. It is 3 stories and we found the WiFi signal weak enough that we had to leave our room and sit on the stairwell to get a signal. No big deal.

Breakfast was "coffee", corn flakes, white bread, jams, and tea, pretty normal.

Location is good with plenty of markets and restaurants nearby and the major bus hub about a 3 block walk, PERFECT!

Quick tip that will save you some $$. Bring American $$ to Argentina in 50s and 100s and you can get exceptionally high exchange rates in the real Bank/Cambios (not the shady sidewalk dealers and fly-by-night cambio shacks). We were getting 5 pesos to the dollar through our ATM but discovered we could get 7.4 at the exchanges. BOOOM! 50% increase in our spending power. I don't know how long this will last but it is worth looking into before you get there so you can come with big, crisp, new bills.

They are very popular so you will definitely want to reserve well in advance. The staff were very friendly and helpful and enriched our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Semievolved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We made to feel really welcome by julieta and the other staff members. The hostel wad clean and tidy and rooms spacious. Located in an ideal area for easy walking access to the main street in bariloche and a host of nice restaurants. Breakfast is free and a real bonus. Thanks for making us feel welcome and helping with our enquiries!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#23 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#20 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#24 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#10 of 137 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periko's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periko's Youth Hostel

Property: Periko's Youth Hostel
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 555, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 251 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Periko's Youth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Periko's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing