We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Periko's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Periko's Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Periko's”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hostel is incredibly chill. It has a great atmosphere, we met a ton of awesome people! The rooms are really comfortable and the staff was incredible and could answer all our questions about the area. Breakfast was a little sparse, but was fine. I'd come back in a second!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mc00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    67
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
124
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here in the dorm for the five nights I was in Bariloche. Comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Charlie is a great host and helps plan any tour or bus route. Front door has code lock and towel and linens are included in the price. Fast wifi, worked decently in the dorm room. Plenty of hangout space including TV room, three old, yet working, computers, and huge garden with hammock/BBQ area. Only downside? A bit of a walk from the center uphill. However, would definitely recommend Periko's and stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Well we stayed here 5 nights in total and this is the best hostel we have stayed at on our travels in south america. The private rooms were really nice (maybe a little small) and the dorms were pretty good too. Big lockers in the rooms with individual reading lights. Showers were always hot. WiFi a little spotty in rooms but fine in the communal areas. Breakfast - second best so far but all you can eat cereal and bread, good for SA.
Would stay here again...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynbraffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in a great double room on the top floor. Simple decor - exposed bricks and wooden beams with the feel of a ski chalet. Spacious, clean and bright with a comfortable bed. Hot shower.

Communal areas, particularly the kitchen, can get crowded, especially at meal times. This was only problematic when the hostal was busy - 2 out of our 4 nights. There is also a lovely garden with table and chairs which is a real sun trap during the afternoon.

Helpful guy on reception who helped with restaurant recommendations, activities and providing general local knowledge. Laundry service also available - same day.

Good location 5 minutes walk from the main street (up hill - be warned if you have a heavy bag!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - room 15 overlooks the garden and is nice, bright and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimAndJLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff is nice, the location wonderful and the place has a LOT of character. However we are staying in room number 4 which seems to be a last minute room they just added to earn extra cash. I can't blame them for adding this room. However it sucks when you realize that you are the only room on the main floor. Right beside the noisy laundry and the common room and kitchen were blaring music at 6am this morning. That's kind of I considerate in my opinion. That thy would provide an Inferior room and then be extra rude to not realize that you need to do extra things like not blare loud music in the morning or how about sound Proof it a little better since we are basically underground level adjacent to the common room.

No vents in room. No fan for washroom although there doesn't seem to be mould.

Would have refused number 4 and found somewhere else if possible. I am staying here right now and just wanted other transports to know that there are a LOT of friendly nice accommodations in this small little town you can stay at if you get room 4.

Disappointed
- from Canada

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank internationalmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice and clean hostel next to the center of the city. A big kitchen, nice garden for asados and a friendly staff that provides lots of information. You may need to do a reservation during mid and high season

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable hostel, we stayed in a double with bathroom and it as good as some motels we have been in. Nice atmosphere and very helpfully staff. Kitchen is functional, could be improved with a little effort. The worst thing about Periko's is the breakfast. Imitation corn flakes and slabs of white bread. Needs to be a bit better I think.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#20 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periko's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periko's Youth Hostel

Property: Periko's Youth Hostel
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 555, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 252 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Periko's Youth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Periko's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing