We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better ones”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Periko's Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the better ones”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

A very comfortable hostel, we stayed in a double with bathroom and it as good as some motels we have been in. Nice atmosphere and very helpfully staff. Kitchen is functional, could be improved with a little effort. The worst thing about Periko's is the breakfast. Imitation corn flakes and slabs of white bread. Needs to be a bit better I think.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hatobuilico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    67
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
124
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place is a gem. Rooms were really well appointed with log cabin effect and plush tiling also. Seemed really new and spotless. We had a private double, lots of room & a great bathroom. More like a really nice hotel than a hostel. It's really close to the bars & restaurants yet a couple of blocks away so maintains quietness. It is also only a few minutes walk to the bus stops for Circuitto Chicco or the ski slopes at Catedral. The staff here were really good with lots of great recommendations for hikes, trips, bars, restaurants, transfers etc. The Hostel organised a shuttle bus back to the airport for us, costs 25 pesos. A taxi works out at 100 pesos. Really good laundry service too. Common areas all nice and the necessary basics for breakfast. Good crowd too. All in all this is a brilliant hostel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RayBanJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week to explore the region around Bariloche. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great. Kitchen was big and it was easy to have laundry done. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperKlewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very kind and incredibly helpful staff; beautiful, clean, and comfortable rooms; great location to walk all around town; awesome and decently priced tours booked directly through the hostel; good movie selection; great communal kitchen and sitting areas; really strong wifi connection; hot showers and warm rooms. Seriously one of the best hostels in our 7 months of traveling and easily the best in Argentina!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel has it right. We had a great room with a really comfy bed and full wifi in the room which was a huge bonus. There was no problem with booking extra nights´ accommodation and the staff were great, especially Charlie, even refunding us for our wine when it got broken in the fridge. Fantastic kitchen, everything you might need and lots of space to sit and eat. I´d say there were 4 people cooking dinner at once one evening, impossible in most hostels. They have lots of DVDs to borrow and a comfy couch to sit and watch them. The people staying here were chilled out and friendly too which helped. Great location, really close to the bus stop for Cerro Catedral for snowboarding and also to the supermarket. Definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrazyPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I loved my time in Bariloche and at this hostel. I met lots of other travelers from Argentina, Puerto Rico, and the UK. There were people of all ages so if you are an older adult you will be comfortable. The staff speak English.
If you are taking the public bus into Bariloche make sure you buy a bus card because the public bus does not take cash. A taxi from the hostel to the terminal de omnibus costs 26 AR pesos.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprueitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Perikos is simply great. A beautifully renovated cabin style hostel that's warm in temperature (great during winter) but also with ambiance and friendliness. The rooms feel new, are clean and fully featured with heaters and some great novel furniture. The showers are hot and bed's comfortable with a generous amount of bedding to ensure you stay warm through winter.
The hostel itself has a fantastic kitchen which is fully featured with appliances and utensils but also with all those odd ingredients as part of 'free food; you don't necessarily want to buy. You might find oregano, oil, chilli, garlic etc.. The hostel is friendly and a great place to meet new people.
There's a great new television and lounger and staff that can assist with your expeditions or general town information. The hostel is in the center of town, a few blocks from the main square and shopping precinct which is a 1.5k or so bus ride or 30 peso fare from the main bus terminal. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The private rooms on the upper floor are warm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#14 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#27 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#20 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periko's Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periko's Youth Hostel

Property: Periko's Youth Hostel
Address: Calle Emilio Morales 555, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400GHK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 252 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Periko's Youth Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Periko's Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing