We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the Best Hostel”
Review of Penthouse 1004

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penthouse 1004
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2014

super clean, 2 kitchens that accomodates everyone, delicious homemade bread for breakfast, most amazing view of the city and lake. The location is ideal- close to the water, right in the center of town and close to the bus stop for local trip for hiking. Staff was helpful in daytrip planning. They give you an orientation to the hostel upon arrival. soft toilet paper too!! :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you Erika for taking your time to write this lovely note!
It was really nice to have you both here in our home.
Have a nice travel and hope to see you soon again!
Love
Penthouse 1004 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 317 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

I visited Penthouse 1004 on the New year season 2014.
I had great time in this hostel.
The staff were so kind and the breakfast were also great :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahreum H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for this very nice note!
We are happy you had a good time with us.
Hope we can spend next New Year together as well!
Love
Penthouse 1004 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our time in this hostel in Bariloche was increible!
The staff is extremly nice and helpfull, they gave us all the advice and hints we needed to organize our tours and busrides and also helped with any concerns and questions about the hostel and the region. Something we can espaccialy recommend is the mountainbike rental, which you can book through the hostel (probably the best experience on our hole trip throug argentina) :)

The hostel is located in the only high bouilding of the village (which is ugly from the outside, but don't be scared), on the 10th floor. Once you've enterd this magic place, you will be completly enchanted my the breathtaking view you have all over the parque nacional nahuel huapi, the lake and the surrounding mountains (and that for only 110 pesos per night!!). The hostel is perfectly clean, and you can even see the lake while showering through the window in the morning! it has a perfectly equiped kitchen, a great coomman area and the beds are extremly cosy.

This is the perfect place to go if you're planning on visiting bariloche (which is a great place it self already), also because of the central location of the hostel, directly next to the mainplace of the village and the lake.

Thank you Penthouse 1004 for our great time!! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you girls!
This note is wonderful! Thank you for being so expressive! We really appreciate taking your time to write it! It was very nice to have you in our home and we wish you have the chance to come back soon again!
Lots of love
Penthouse 1004 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

The sixties-style tower block housing this hostel might be more Bracknell than Bariloche but persevere to the tenth floor inside and you will be rewarded. At the end of a slightly uninspiring hallway room 1004 opens into a Tardis of large, welcoming rooms and possibly the most breathtaking view the whole town has to offer.
The staff are very helpful and the kitchen is huge, allowing you to have Masterchef style cook-offs. The common areas are very comfortable. We never had a problem with noise. There are ample bathrooms. Breakfast consists of homemade bead and jams, and a strange-yet-satisfying cereal mix.
This is a very popular hostel - we only left because we were a drop in and they became fully booked so book a room in advance and hold on to it!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank weetruffle_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for this well informed and amusing note! We are very pleased you felt good and had a nice time with us!
Hope to have you here soon again!
Love!
Staff of Penthouse 1004

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Situated in large building in the middle of town, it is much nicer inside than what the building looks like. Its location on the top floor allows for spectacular views on the lake. Rooms and facilities are nice.

While most of the staff (esp owners ) was very nice, one temporary lady was not very friendly and once kind of rude to us when we were asking for our laundry that was due for 2 hours and we wanted to go to bed. Thus, only 4/5

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write!
We are sorry you had an inconvenience with a staff member. We will improve that.
Hope to see you again in the future!
Love
Penthouse 1004 Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom. The views are as stunning as everyone says. The bedroom was comfy, clean and warm with great views. Although it overlooked the square it was not noisy while we were there. The balcony and lounge are great for relaxing and meeting up with people. The kitchen is large and well stocked with equipment and several cookers. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and always available. They can help organise various things (bike rides, kayaking etc). It's really good but Nothing is ever 100% perfect and we were surprised that they want advance payment if arriving after 4pm but they do not accept PayPal or credit card! The hostal staff managed to work it out for us, so no major problem. Breakfast is basic but with fresh homemade bread. Wifi is available in the rooms although it can be a little slow. Overall we would highly recommend this hostal. It was excellent value and cheaper than some we've stayed in. If you're in Bariloche try Penthouse 1004, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toptravellerKeighley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to write this lovely note! We are really glad that you had a good time here with us. Thank you very much for the wonderful photo as well!
We hope to see you again someday in the future!
Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Penthouse 1004 is in the perfect location with friendly staff and an incredible view over the lake. Great atmosphere with comfy common areas to meet and chat with other travellers. Dorms are spacious and plenty of bathrooms. Massive industrial kitchen with everything you could need. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you very much! We really appreciate taking your time to write. It’s always very helpful.
Hope to see you again!
Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#11 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#25 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse 1004? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse 1004

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 127 | Piso 10 - Dpto. 1004, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 257 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penthouse 1004 is the most famous lodge in Bariloche not only because of the stunning panoramic views, but also for its cozy and homely atmosphere. You can enjoy the scenery from every area of the house, including all bedrooms. We have dorms with 4,5,6 and 7 beds. As well 3 beautiful double rooms, two matrimonial and one with a twin option. All of the rooms are spacious and luminous! They have central heating and individual lockers.The large living room invites you to chill out on the comfortable couches after a long day of hiking. The size and the furnishing of the dining room make the perfect place for socializing with guests from all over the world. An eclectic selection of music helps to create the right atmosphere for each moment!The Penthouse 1004 was born due to the human quality and warmth of all its visitors. We don’t want to break this important spirit of friendship, that’s why we decided not to have a TV. We have a fully equipped large kitchen with utensils and basic ingredients (spices, salt, oil, tea, coffee, sugar), three big stoves and a microwave.The free breakfast includes fresh homemade bread, butter, homemade jam, dulce de leche, a healthy cereal mix, milk, coffee and tea.There is free internet access and Wi-Fi. You can’t miss sun bathing, having a drink, reading a book or just relaxing on the large balcony looking at the lake and the mountains. As the house is non-smoking there is a smoking gallery on the balcony.We offer free luggage storageBook exchangeOther services: laundry and a small selection of drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks). There is a parking area in the building. We have lots of information about things to do in Bariloche. We can help you to organize different tours, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, paragliding, rafting, fishing and so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Penthouse 1004 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing