We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
258
66
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
66
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing viewshomemade breadcommon areasliving roomfilter coffeetop floorfantastic kitchenwell equipped kitchenshared bathroombariloche centreevery morningcomfortable bedshot waterstayed nightshostelwifilake
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 334 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Penthouse 1004 is in the perfect location with friendly staff and an incredible view over the lake. Great atmosphere with comfy common areas to meet and chat with other travellers. Dorms are spacious and plenty of bathrooms. Massive industrial kitchen with everything you could need. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you very much! We really appreciate taking your time to write. It’s always very helpful.
Hope to see you again!
Love

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Penthouse 1004 is in a convenient location right in the city center of Bariloche with a great view over the lake. My husband and I stayed over the New Year holiday when the city was fully booked and we were thankful to find a double room with shared bathroom in this hostel. The hostel has a friendly vibe, lots of travelers hanging out in the common areas and cooking in the kitchen. The staff were helpful in getting us bus cards and helping us find the routes to the areas we wanted to visit. They make nice homemade bread each day for breakfast, along with jam and dulce de leche. The staff also organized a potluck New Year's party which was a lot of fun. I think this is a good place for travelers who want to meet other people.

My main complaints are about the quality of sleep and the cleanliness of the place. We were unable to sleep between the hours of 3am and 7am due to the unbelievably loud cars racing outside on the street below the hostel. They revved their engines and were yelling outside all 5 nights we stayed there. The building itself is a bit of an eyesore, and the hostel facilities seem like they may not have been updated since the place opened around 17 years ago. The shared bathrooms were not great and our room had worn out carpet and bedcovers and dingy red curtains. It is fine if you just want someplace central with good social life, but there are nicer places to stay for a similar price in Bariloche.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side away from the plaza get less street noise
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelChica14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was recommended this hostel by a fellow traveller whilst at the Iguazu Falls. It was probably the best recommendation I had over my entire trip. The main thing people say about this hostel is the view, and for good reason, it has to be the most amazing view for any hostel in Argentina. Taking the incredible view out the picture the hostel is still brilliant. Great breakfast, comfy beds, really helpful staff and excellent laundry service. Also a great atmosphere around the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjheale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you!
It’s wonderful to hear that you had a good time and that you felt comfortable here in our home!
Hopefully we have the chance to meet each other again!
Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Stayed a few nights here back in December, really lovely hostel with AMAZING views! Worth staying here for the view alone! Staff are extremely helpful, while here I broke my tooth eating breakfast, as it was the weekend it wasn’t so easy to find a dentist however Annie rang around loads of places and eventually found a dentist that could see me! Would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sinéad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time at this hostel. Only stayed two nights and we didn't make the most of the large kitchen, balcony or living area. Rooms have ensuite bathrooms as they are converted apartments. Say hi to the beautiful Annie working there and if you feel up to it you can challenge her to a game of chess as She's pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews