We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star views, but a 3 star hostel”
Review of Penthouse 1004

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Penthouse 1004
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Disclaimer: Most people who stay at this hostel seemed to be traveling alone or in groups, staying in dorms, and were generally on the younger side. For anyone in that camp this would probably be an amazing hostel to stay in (as proven by all the rave reviews), but this perspective is based on my experience in a private double room as a couple both in our late 20s

The view at Penthouse 1004 is undeniably special - from our bedroom, we were able to see the sun set over the lake every day, which was stunning. The hostel definitely makes the most of its wonderful location, and has better views than most hotels. It deserves to have a great rating for this reason alone. There's also a nice culture in the hostel of being respectful to all guests - there's a big kitchen and common area for socialising, but these are closed around midnight so that everyone can sleep easily.

BUT, for us, it didn't tick many other boxes. All bathrooms are shared, the private room was just OK, breakfast was extremely basic compared to other hostels (just bread to toast over a grill), and the quality of the staff was patchy - some members of staff were lovely and extremely knowledgeable, but often there was no one at the desk so you'd have to search around the hostel to find someone to help. Overall, we had much better stays at much cheaper hostels, and were left quite underwhelmed after all the hype and awards. Again, it's probably great for many travelers, but I would not recommend this hostel to a couple.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggpie2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 317 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a lively place to be at..one of the best hostels i have stayed at for sure!

Staff: The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and easy to talk to. In fact we forgot a package there, and they kept it for us to pick up on the way back!

Lounge: AMAZING place to hang out at, its got good music playing all the time and the seating area is good with nice couches to sit on.. they have a good collection of books as well, however the patio (when it is not crazy windy) is the best place to hang out at.

Rooms: All of the rooms have a stunning view of the city and lake, it was absolutely amazing to wake up and open the blinds to a breath taking view of the sun over the lake

Breakfast: They have fresh baked bread/yoghurt/tea coffee/ dulce for breakfast; or you can make your own in the amazing kitchen

Room Tip: all rooms have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking you time to write this detailed and wonderful description! We really appreciate it! It’s important for us that you had a good time here with us and that you felt comfortable. Thank you for letting us know!
We really hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you again and take care!
Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay, found the staff friendly and the rooms very nude. Showers might need a refurb soon but that's splitting hairs - the one I used was perfectly ok.

Will likely go back if I need a place in the centre.

Homemade bread for breakfast is nice as is the free tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hostel is INCREDIBLE. The views, the environment, the staff, the people staying in the hostel, the kitchen....I could go on and on. Juan, Annie, and Cecilia are fantastic and really went out of their way to make everyone's experience the best it could possibly be. They make you feel like you're at home and treat you more as a friend than as a client. Would recommend this hostel to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer and really hope I can go back at some point.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you very much Kyle! It makes us really happy to hear that you had a good time with us and that you felt comfortable. There’s nothing more important than that.
Thank you for taking your time to load up the photos! They look amazing!
We really hope that you’ll have the chance to visit us again someday.
Take care and until next time!
Lots of Love
Juan, Annie and Ceci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything about this hostel is EXCELLENT! You can't fault it at all... If you were ever to open a hostel staying here would show you how to do it and do it well.. It's so well run and everything is spot on. The staff are helpful and happy. The kitchen is awesome, it's huge, and basically had 3 kitchens so there's always space to cook. You can tell the guests care because they wash up and put away which just shows how well the hostel is run because guests respect it. Rooms and views are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

THANK YOU!
What an amazing note! You really warm our hearts!
It was a placer having you both here in our home and sharing some very nice days together.
We really appreciate taking your time and effort to write this note. Thank you!
Wish to see you again someday!
Lots of Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

As hostels in South America go, Penthouse 1004 is pretty fancy! The view is why most people will recommend this spot, however in addition it's centrally located, has delicious homemade bread and jam for breakfast, dorms and bathrooms are big and clean. The dining area is sociable and there's a super comfy couch area too. Kitchen is big so there's lots of cooking space. You could easily set up camp in Bariloche purely for this hostel. Only suggestion would be to shop around for tours (such as rafting) I discovered penthouse charges more commission then others.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank LivvvyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience with the Penthouse. First and foremost the people who work at penthouse are awesome and helpful. In particular Juan and Cecilia were super helpful for booking activities, recommending food and nightlife. The hostel is at the top floor of the tallest building in Bariloche and it makes for one of the best views in town and sunsets. Almost Every room in the hostel has a window looking over the lake making it hard to miss out on the view and peace of mind. It has one of the best hostel kitchens I have seen and kept very clean and organized. The living spaces are very comfortable and this place generally puts all who visit in a good mood. I would really recommend this hostel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ftelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#22 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#11 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
532 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#26 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse 1004? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse 1004

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 127 | Piso 10 - Dpto. 1004, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 257 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $11 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penthouse 1004 is the most famous lodge in Bariloche not only because of the stunning panoramic views, but also for its cozy and homely atmosphere. You can enjoy the scenery from every area of the house, including all bedrooms. We have dorms with 4,5,6 and 7 beds. As well 3 beautiful double rooms, two matrimonial and one with a twin option. All of the rooms are spacious and luminous! They have central heating and individual lockers.The large living room invites you to chill out on the comfortable couches after a long day of hiking. The size and the furnishing of the dining room make the perfect place for socializing with guests from all over the world. An eclectic selection of music helps to create the right atmosphere for each moment!The Penthouse 1004 was born due to the human quality and warmth of all its visitors. We don’t want to break this important spirit of friendship, that’s why we decided not to have a TV. We have a fully equipped large kitchen with utensils and basic ingredients (spices, salt, oil, tea, coffee, sugar), three big stoves and a microwave.The free breakfast includes fresh homemade bread, butter, homemade jam, dulce de leche, a healthy cereal mix, milk, coffee and tea.There is free internet access and Wi-Fi. You can’t miss sun bathing, having a drink, reading a book or just relaxing on the large balcony looking at the lake and the mountains. As the house is non-smoking there is a smoking gallery on the balcony.We offer free luggage storageBook exchangeOther services: laundry and a small selection of drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks). There is a parking area in the building. We have lots of information about things to do in Bariloche. We can help you to organize different tours, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, paragliding, rafting, fishing and so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse 1004 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing