We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveler rating
258
66
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
66
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen homemade bread living room fantastic kitchen awesome views shared bathroom hostel floor wifi lockers patagonia region
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 334 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

What a lively place to be at..one of the best hostels i have stayed at for sure!

Staff: The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and easy to talk to. In fact we forgot a package there, and they kept it for us to pick up on the way back!

Lounge: AMAZING place to hang out at, its got good music playing all the time and the seating area is good with nice couches to sit on.. they have a good collection of books as well, however the patio (when it is not crazy windy) is the best place to hang out at.

Rooms: All of the rooms have a stunning view of the city and lake, it was absolutely amazing to wake up and open the blinds to a breath taking view of the sun over the lake

Breakfast: They have fresh baked bread/yoghurt/tea coffee/ dulce for breakfast; or you can make your own in the amazing kitchen

Room Tip: all rooms have amazing views!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkai1234nth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you very much for taking you time to write this detailed and wonderful description! We really appreciate it! It’s important for us that you had a good time here with us and that you felt comfortable. Thank you for letting us know!
We really hope to see you again in the future!
Thank you again and take care!
Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I enjoyed my stay, found the staff friendly and the rooms very nude. Showers might need a refurb soon but that's splitting hairs - the one I used was perfectly ok.

Will likely go back if I need a place in the centre.

Homemade bread for breakfast is nice as is the free tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hostel is INCREDIBLE. The views, the environment, the staff, the people staying in the hostel, the kitchen....I could go on and on. Juan, Annie, and Cecilia are fantastic and really went out of their way to make everyone's experience the best it could possibly be. They make you feel like you're at home and treat you more as a friend than as a client. Would recommend this hostel to anyone. Wish I could have stayed longer and really hope I can go back at some point.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Thank you very much Kyle! It makes us really happy to hear that you had a good time with us and that you felt comfortable. There’s nothing more important than that.
Thank you for taking your time to load up the photos! They look amazing!
We really hope that you’ll have the chance to visit us again someday.
Take care and until next time!
Lots of Love
Juan, Annie and Ceci

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything about this hostel is EXCELLENT! You can't fault it at all... If you were ever to open a hostel staying here would show you how to do it and do it well.. It's so well run and everything is spot on. The staff are helpful and happy. The kitchen is awesome, it's huge, and basically had 3 kitchens so there's always space to cook. You can tell the guests care because they wash up and put away which just shows how well the hostel is run because guests respect it. Rooms and views are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

THANK YOU!
What an amazing note! You really warm our hearts!
It was a placer having you both here in our home and sharing some very nice days together.
We really appreciate taking your time and effort to write this note. Thank you!
Wish to see you again someday!
Lots of Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

As hostels in South America go, Penthouse 1004 is pretty fancy! The view is why most people will recommend this spot, however in addition it's centrally located, has delicious homemade bread and jam for breakfast, dorms and bathrooms are big and clean. The dining area is sociable and there's a super comfy couch area too. Kitchen is big so there's lots of cooking space. You could easily set up camp in Bariloche purely for this hostel. Only suggestion would be to shop around for tours (such as rafting) I discovered penthouse charges more commission then others.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank LivvvyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews