We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort Golf Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Casco Art Hotel(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cristal(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$196
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NH Bariloche Edelweiss(San Carlos de Bariloche)(Great Value!)
$235
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$218
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$264
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lirolay Suites(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Villa Huinid Bustillo(San Carlos de Bariloche)(Great Value!)
$157
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nido del Condor Hotel & Spa(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$134
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel(San Carlos de Bariloche)
$188
$144
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveler rating
256
66
6
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
66
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing viewshomemade breadtallest buildingbest view in towncommon areasliving roomfilter coffeetop floorfantastic kitchenwell equipped kitchenshared bathroombariloche centreevery morningcomfortable bedshot waterstayed nightssouth america
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 332 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything about this hostel is EXCELLENT! You can't fault it at all... If you were ever to open a hostel staying here would show you how to do it and do it well.. It's so well run and everything is spot on. The staff are helpful and happy. The kitchen is awesome, it's huge, and basically had 3 kitchens so there's always space to cook. You can tell the guests care because they wash up and put away which just shows how well the hostel is run because guests respect it. Rooms and views are AMAZING!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

THANK YOU!
What an amazing note! You really warm our hearts!
It was a placer having you both here in our home and sharing some very nice days together.
We really appreciate taking your time and effort to write this note. Thank you!
Wish to see you again someday!
Lots of Love
Ceci, Annie and Juan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

As hostels in South America go, Penthouse 1004 is pretty fancy! The view is why most people will recommend this spot, however in addition it's centrally located, has delicious homemade bread and jam for breakfast, dorms and bathrooms are big and clean. The dining area is sociable and there's a super comfy couch area too. Kitchen is big so there's lots of cooking space. You could easily set up camp in Bariloche purely for this hostel. Only suggestion would be to shop around for tours (such as rafting) I discovered penthouse charges more commission then others.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank LivvvyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience with the Penthouse. First and foremost the people who work at penthouse are awesome and helpful. In particular Juan and Cecilia were super helpful for booking activities, recommending food and nightlife. The hostel is at the top floor of the tallest building in Bariloche and it makes for one of the best views in town and sunsets. Almost Every room in the hostel has a window looking over the lake making it hard to miss out on the view and peace of mind. It has one of the best hostel kitchens I have seen and kept very clean and organized. The living spaces are very comfortable and this place generally puts all who visit in a good mood. I would really recommend this hostel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ftelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We sooo badly wanted to stay in this hostel leading up to our trip, but it was fully booked. We arrived in Bariloche after a 22 hour bus, and were tired, and so looking forward to getting to our hostel. Sadly, the hostel we were booked into was vile, and the owner, disgraceful. We desperately looked for somewhere else to stay before it got late, and tried our luck with the hostel. We were really pleased to hear they had a room become free for our 5 days in Bariloche! Yay!

When we arrived we were greeted by Annie and given a tour of the hostel, which was a first for us in any hostel, so it was much appreciated.

Staff: EXCELLENT..... REALLY, really excellent. The kindest, sweetest people. Go out of their way to help you. After we checked out and said goodbye, we went to catch our flight to El Calafate but it was cancelled, and we ended up going back to the hostel begging for a room!! We were told that there may be a cancellation, and we put at the top of the list, so to speak. We went for dinner, left out bags at the hostel, and when we returned, we had a couple of beds in a dorm, perfect! Just in case our flight was cancelled again the next day they allowed us to provisionally book a room, with the understanding if they hadn't heard from us by a certain time, they assumed we had boarded and the room could be freed up - just excellent service!! I forget the mans name but he is also lovely, and cute! ;o)

Breakfast: simple, homemade breads, cereals etc. Basic, like most hostels, but better quality. The homemade bread, delish!! The best thing is it is regularly replenished and never runs out!!

Rooms: we had a double room, with a shared bathroom (no private bathrooms). Bed super comfy, view excellent, clean. Bathrooms cleaned very regularly, and you're encouraged to clean it after each use, which gladly, people did.

Wifi: Excellent in the common areas, depending on the room you were in, also good in your room too, but not as fast.

Security: taken seriously, and we felt completely at home and at ease.

Kitchen: wow!! Every gadget and appliance and spice and herb you might need. They also have a shelf where people leave free food, that they don't want or need, that others can use - we made a whole meal from that shelf one night. Great idea!!

Any cons? One! The Centro Civico (main square) is where all the boy racers from the whole of Argentina it would seem, gather nightly, revving engines. It usually quietens down pretty quickly. But, Wednesday nights..... OMFG!!!! Organised parties every week, with cars revving so loudly you feel the car is in the room with you. Drinking, chanting, fighting in the streets. The police know (they do it outside the station....) but do very little. The hostel is 10 floors up and you hear every last bit of it, from 9pm to 8am, every Wednesday. Noting the hostel can do, but, I'd rather be upfront and let you know. However, when we were in the dorm on the other side, we didn't hear a peep. However, as excruciating as the noise was, and as annoyed and tired as people were the next morning, it in no way takes away from how great the hostel is.

Thank you for a great experience!

Em & J x

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back (facing the lake not the central square) then you don't hear a thing!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsibelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Annie and the attentive staff are a great welcome to the hostel who are very informative and helpful. The views from the top over the lake are the best in town and the central location means very accessible for buses. The rooms are comfortable and have numerous bathrooms to help with the comfort. No TV but then not required as views to enjoy and loads to keep you busy. Breakfast is delicious homemade bread and jam with filter coffee. Highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews