We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best view. Best hostel 2013-2014” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penthouse 1004

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse 1004
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best view. Best hostel 2013-2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Such a great experience with the Penthouse. First and foremost the people who work at penthouse are awesome and helpful. In particular Juan and Cecilia were super helpful for booking activities, recommending food and nightlife. The hostel is at the top floor of the tallest building in Bariloche and it makes for one of the best views in town and sunsets. Almost Every room in the hostel has a window looking over the lake making it hard to miss out on the view and peace of mind. It has one of the best hostel kitchens I have seen and kept very clean and organized. The living spaces are very comfortable and this place generally puts all who visit in a good mood. I would really recommend this hostel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ftelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    61
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
104
88
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We sooo badly wanted to stay in this hostel leading up to our trip, but it was fully booked. We arrived in Bariloche after a 22 hour bus, and were tired, and so looking forward to getting to our hostel. Sadly, the hostel we were booked into was vile, and the owner, disgraceful. We desperately looked for somewhere else to stay before it got late, and tried our luck with the hostel. We were really pleased to hear they had a room become free for our 5 days in Bariloche! Yay!

When we arrived we were greeted by Annie and given a tour of the hostel, which was a first for us in any hostel, so it was much appreciated.

Staff: EXCELLENT..... REALLY, really excellent. The kindest, sweetest people. Go out of their way to help you. After we checked out and said goodbye, we went to catch our flight to El Calafate but it was cancelled, and we ended up going back to the hostel begging for a room!! We were told that there may be a cancellation, and we put at the top of the list, so to speak. We went for dinner, left out bags at the hostel, and when we returned, we had a couple of beds in a dorm, perfect! Just in case our flight was cancelled again the next day they allowed us to provisionally book a room, with the understanding if they hadn't heard from us by a certain time, they assumed we had boarded and the room could be freed up - just excellent service!! I forget the mans name but he is also lovely, and cute! ;o)

Breakfast: simple, homemade breads, cereals etc. Basic, like most hostels, but better quality. The homemade bread, delish!! The best thing is it is regularly replenished and never runs out!!

Rooms: we had a double room, with a shared bathroom (no private bathrooms). Bed super comfy, view excellent, clean. Bathrooms cleaned very regularly, and you're encouraged to clean it after each use, which gladly, people did.

Wifi: Excellent in the common areas, depending on the room you were in, also good in your room too, but not as fast.

Security: taken seriously, and we felt completely at home and at ease.

Kitchen: wow!! Every gadget and appliance and spice and herb you might need. They also have a shelf where people leave free food, that they don't want or need, that others can use - we made a whole meal from that shelf one night. Great idea!!

Any cons? One! The Centro Civico (main square) is where all the boy racers from the whole of Argentina it would seem, gather nightly, revving engines. It usually quietens down pretty quickly. But, Wednesday nights..... OMFG!!!! Organised parties every week, with cars revving so loudly you feel the car is in the room with you. Drinking, chanting, fighting in the streets. The police know (they do it outside the station....) but do very little. The hostel is 10 floors up and you hear every last bit of it, from 9pm to 8am, every Wednesday. Noting the hostel can do, but, I'd rather be upfront and let you know. However, when we were in the dorm on the other side, we didn't hear a peep. However, as excruciating as the noise was, and as annoyed and tired as people were the next morning, it in no way takes away from how great the hostel is.

Thank you for a great experience!

Em & J x

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back (facing the lake not the central square) then you don't hear a thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsibelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Annie and the attentive staff are a great welcome to the hostel who are very informative and helpful. The views from the top over the lake are the best in town and the central location means very accessible for buses. The rooms are comfortable and have numerous bathrooms to help with the comfort. No TV but then not required as views to enjoy and loads to keep you busy. Breakfast is delicious homemade bread and jam with filter coffee. Highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I checked into Penthouse 1004 for the weekend after a couple days in another good hostel (41 Below). I had already decided on staying another night but after another day in and around the amazing Bariloche and at the hostel, I subsequently booked in for two more nights with the added expense of adjusting my bus ticket to Buenos Aires...it simply had to be done.

Inevitably, the first thing you notice is the view, what a fantastic way to see Bariloche from above. I was lucky enough to have the corner bed in room 5 that gave me a view east along the lake every morning and the living area has the balcony looking west. The sky colour around sunset is beautiful. However, whilst its view is clearly a major selling point, that is not only what the hostel is about...

The sizeable kitchen and cozy (family home living room) common areas are fantastic and create a friendly family atmosphere that allows you to simply chill and hang by yourself, or engage with other travelers. I always felt so chilled and at peace when I was there, which was exactly what I needed after many physically strenuous days around Bariloche (self inflicted).

The rooms were clean and tidy, and the bathrooms were all fine, in particularly the one next to room 5, which looks out onto the lake and is the biggest and most convenient of them all.

The staff were all incredibly friendly each morning and afternoon, all at least bi-lingual. They were happy to depart limitless information of how to get around, what to do, what to eat and anything else. They also offered to call for taxis and other services as needed...I couldn't fault them for their service.

The location is also right in the middle of everything, 1 minute from one of the main bus pick-up points and 1 minute from the main square. What more could you want?

I absolutely loved Bariloche and I hope to return again soon. If and when I do, I will definitely be staying here so will ensure I book in advance as I wouldn't want to miss out. One more thing from me...don't miss the steak at El Boliche de Alberto followed by ice cream and/or chocolates at Rapa Nui when in town. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much Randell for this wonderful note!!
Thank you for taking your time to write and explain everything in such a lovely, warm and detailed way.
We are very happy that you liked your stay here with us and that you felt good and comfortable! Enough to even change your ticket..!
We really hope to see you someday in the future!
We send you all our love!
Cecilia, Annie and Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

An awesome place in the center of the town, amazing view of the city and the lake from the windows and the balcony of the 10th floor. spaced and clean rooms, big kitchen with every thing u need, a lot of space to hang out, read or sit down with friends or the other guests. very good environment for a vacation and good prices, great for solo travelers. but the most important thing is the welcoming, professional and helpful staff! always wiling to help in every thing u need with patient and a big smile! very recomended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ehudkogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you very much Ehud for the lovely things you say!
It was really nice to have you here in our home. We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again someday!
Love!
Cecilia, Annie and Juan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

As soon as you enter you are mesmerized by the amazing view of the lake, then you notice the open place living room with lots of sitting areas, big kitchen very well organized.
The staff is amazing, there is freshly bake bread for breakfast/butter jams and dulce the leche apart for cereals.
I arrived on dec. 30th and they organize a meeting/party that night to organize a NY eve party, Everyone made something we had a lovely NY eve dinner and afterwards the hostel living room was transformed into a disco.
I was one of the first person getting up on jan 1st and everything was back to normal the staff made sure breakfast was ready the placed cleaned and all.
I highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LILIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penthouse1004, Gerente at Penthouse 1004, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hello Lilia!
Thank you so much for this lovely note!
It was really nice to celebrate New Year with you! It was a very lovely evening with everyone making such a delicious dinner with all kind of food, and after… nice dancing! Thank you for appreciate everything so much.
We hope to see you soon again!
Lots of love
Penthouse 1004 Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in in all my time in Latin America.
The staff are very pleasant & helpful: One lady even called ahead to the next town for me to make a hostel reservation as I was having problems with their website.
The kitchen is huge & has absolutely everything you need.
The dorms are comfortable with big lockers & enough bathrooms as well (be sure to check the "bathroom with a view")
The communal area is nice & spread out with plenty of chairs & tables.
The location is right in the center of town.
The breakfast is nice as well.
And of course, then there is the spectacular 10th floor view!
Definitely stay here: A unique hostel well worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#19 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hotel
Cacique Inacayal Lake & Spa Hote...
#10 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#24 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#29 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
Alma del Lago Suites & Spa
#12 of 136 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#18 of 251 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse 1004? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse 1004

Property: Penthouse 1004
Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 127 | Piso 10 - Dpto. 1004, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 251 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penthouse 1004 is the most famous lodge in Bariloche not only because of the stunning panoramic views, but also for its cozy and homely atmosphere. You can enjoy the scenery from every area of the house, including all bedrooms. We have dorms with 4,5,6 and 7 beds. As well 3 beautiful double rooms, two matrimonial and one with a twin option. All of the rooms are spacious and luminous! They have central heating and individual lockers.The large living room invites you to chill out on the comfortable couches after a long day of hiking. The size and the furnishing of the dining room make the perfect place for socializing with guests from all over the world. An eclectic selection of music helps to create the right atmosphere for each moment!The Penthouse 1004 was born due to the human quality and warmth of all its visitors. We don’t want to break this important spirit of friendship, that’s why we decided not to have a TV. We have a fully equipped large kitchen with utensils and basic ingredients (spices, salt, oil, tea, coffee, sugar), three big stoves and a microwave.The free breakfast includes fresh homemade bread, butter, homemade jam, dulce de leche, a healthy cereal mix, milk, coffee and tea.There is free internet access and Wi-Fi. You can’t miss sun bathing, having a drink, reading a book or just relaxing on the large balcony looking at the lake and the mountains. As the house is non-smoking there is a smoking gallery on the balcony.We offer free luggage storageBook exchangeOther services: laundry and a small selection of drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks). There is a parking area in the building. We have lots of information about things to do in Bariloche. We can help you to organize different tours, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, paragliding, rafting, fishing and so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Penthouse 1004 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing