We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Views!”
Review of Penthouse 1004

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Penthouse 1004
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here with friends for two nights, and it was great! We had some trouble making a reservation, as you have to call to reserve weeks ahead, and then confirm two days beforehand (which can be difficult when you are traveling), but we ended up being able to all stay in one room. There were six of us in a seven person room (they did put a 7th person in there since the hostel was completely booked up). The location is great - a short ride in a taxi from the bus station, and its only a couple of blocks from the main square!

Every room (including ours) seemed to have giant windows with amazing views of the lake and city. The place was very clean and the lockers were small but good enough. Staff was helpful when it came to booking excursions, but they seem to have strict quite hours. The kitchen and common areas can't be used after 1:30 AM, which can be a pain when you're hanging out with friends after a late dinner. The balcony is amazing, and we spent a good deal of time out there, including watching the fireworks on Easter! This is overall a good place and I would return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnappleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 322 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a conversion of 2 apartments on the 10th floor of an apartment block in the centre of town. One of the apartments originally belonged to the owner of the building, who built his apartment extra large to cater for his huge family

I loved this place - felt so at home like I was in my own place with awesome flat mates

The girls that work (and also live) there are wonderful - they make fresh bread for breakfast every day and are super friendly and know everyone by name

Other pluses:
- views are 360 degrees and incredible
- they provide towels
- comfy beds
- hot showers
- massive kitchen area - you never feel like you are battling for space
- amazing common area - just like sitting in my own living room. Perfect for socialising or for curling up with a book and a glass of wine

Couple of things which would make it better:
- I put my jacket in to wash and it America back dirty as I didn't know you had to separate it. Would have been great to have been told instead of finding or myself
- couple of extras at brekkie - some fruit perhaps? That would make it the best brekkie ever!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoJo_JoJo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We really loved this hostel, it was the best we had in Argentina. A beautiful view over the lake. The staff is really nice and helpfull. The kitchen is really big, 3 ovens, everything you need to cook a good and big meal and its is really organized and clean. Also really nice for people who travel alone, because everybody is talking to eachother and drinking in the night. Also a nice relaxing livingroom with soft stairs with good working wifi. There are enough bathrooms, which are quite large and the showers are warm. I really loved the atmosphere. So there is nothing i am not pleased with.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabelvanlieshout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Seriously the best hostel ever. Annie and Cecilia were the most accommodating and professional staff we've encountered throughout a year of travel. They actually introduced themselves and showed us around the hostel when we first arrived (not a difficult thing to do, but we've been horribly surprised at how many places just wave you off in the direction of your room). The view of surrounding mountains and Lake Nahuel Huapi is incredible (from the dorm room!) or from the balcony whilst enjoying a breakfast of REAL bread - not sweet or stale stuff. Comfortable common rooms, clean bathrooms, spacious dorms, good wifi in all areas, big and well stocked kitchen, central location, all at an affordable price for Argentina... what more can I say? They have everything you want from a hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We loved the the Penthouse Hostel. We stayed over Christmas 2012 and enjoyed a great party - at the suggestion of our hosts all the guests cooked a dish and then we all sat down for an enormous feast.

The rooms are all clean and the bathrooms well maintained. One of the bathrooms has the most spectacular view over the lake - see photos!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hostel is simply outstanding. It was not in my travel guide, I was refered to it by someone I met in an airport 3000 km away. It's on the 10th and last floor of a quite big building, and the view on Nahuel Huapi Lake is simply awesome. The atmosphere is really nice, big kitchen, you'll definitely meet interesting people there if you want to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico373849487362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Friendly, nice atmosphere, great hosts, spacious and clean kitchen, comfortable and spacious common areas and a big balcony with no any doubts one of the best views in Bariloche.
my first hostel experience and I'm happy that it was 1004. flawless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viannka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.3 mi away
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
Apart Hotel del Arroyo
#15 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#4 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#9 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#10 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#11 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nachoanas
Nachoanas
#1 of 256 in San Carlos de Bariloche
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse 1004? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse 1004

Address: Avenida Gral San Martin 127 | Piso 10 - Dpto. 1004, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400ALB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 256 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range: $27 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penthouse 1004 is the most famous lodge in Bariloche not only because of the stunning panoramic views, but also for its cozy and homely atmosphere. You can enjoy the scenery from every area of the house, including all bedrooms. We have dorms with 4,5,6 and 7 beds. As well 3 beautiful double rooms, two matrimonial and one with a twin option. All of the rooms are spacious and luminous! They have central heating and individual lockers.The large living room invites you to chill out on the comfortable couches after a long day of hiking. The size and the furnishing of the dining room make the perfect place for socializing with guests from all over the world. An eclectic selection of music helps to create the right atmosphere for each moment!The Penthouse 1004 was born due to the human quality and warmth of all its visitors. We don’t want to break this important spirit of friendship, that’s why we decided not to have a TV. We have a fully equipped large kitchen with utensils and basic ingredients (spices, salt, oil, tea, coffee, sugar), three big stoves and a microwave.The free breakfast includes fresh homemade bread, butter, homemade jam, dulce de leche, a healthy cereal mix, milk, coffee and tea.There is free internet access and Wi-Fi. You can’t miss sun bathing, having a drink, reading a book or just relaxing on the large balcony looking at the lake and the mountains. As the house is non-smoking there is a smoking gallery on the balcony.We offer free luggage storageBook exchangeOther services: laundry and a small selection of drinks (wine, beer and soft drinks). There is a parking area in the building. We have lots of information about things to do in Bariloche. We can help you to organize different tours, biking, kayaking, horseback riding, paragliding, rafting, fishing and so… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Penthouse 1004 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing