We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as the name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
View Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not as great as the name”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I agree with the Feb. 23 2012 review published here. Everytime that I read it, I voted for it...Not a great hotel. Since it is only a 12 room hotel, owned by a family, one does not get the free leisure feeling in comparison to other hotels operated by "external employees". Everything is "tight" at this hotel.
Let me make it clear - there were no issues like limited juice or limited shampoo, one could ask and get everything. They also carried our luggage up the stairs.
Breakfast is more of a continental style, not the abundance of breakfast items you are used to back home.
They spend time to provide advise as much as they know (limited), will call to collect info and make reservations for you. The hotel is clean. Every room is facing the lake, either on the first or on the second floor. No airconditioning, if it is too hot, one must open the window and hear the dog barking across the street. Most of the hotel guests seemed to be retired couples from Europe, traveling as groups.

Location - a 10-15 minutes walk up the hill is not the most convenient, but it is tolerable. If I will visit Bariloche again, I will consider other locations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    106
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
56
193
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

After a long bus journey, lots of hikes in the rain and the onset of a cold, I booked a room at the View Hotel as a last minute little treat to myself before the long journey back to the US. I couldn't be happier I did so!

The hotel is well located and the views from my room, the breakfast area and lounge are incredible. My room was spacious, warm, clean, and modern. The shower was hot and they provided shampoo, conditioner and soap (first place in Argentina I stayed in to do this).

Breakfast was good - plenty of baked goods, cereal and the best variety of fresh fruit. The staff was helpful too. I would definitely recommend staying here. It's well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The View hotel is the BEST hotel from all other hotels we stayed in our vacation (1 month in Argentina).
We made a reservation for 2 nights and decided to stay 6 more nights!!!
The staff is very kind and helpful, Oliver is great!
The view from the Room is amazing, the room is very clean and big.
Fast Wi-Fi, nice breakfast, bottom line- The perfect hotel in Bariloche:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sefi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile



This is a fantastic little hotel. It is located a few streets away from the main plaza in a safe area. It is a short 5-10 min walk to the start of 'chocolate street'! The hotel is very modern, finished in wood and with sleek fittings. Our room was lovely with a well appointed and functioning bathroom and super comfortable bed. The view from the window over the lake was really picturesque. Breakfast was very tasty, but we could not get an early breakfast when we had an early bus inflicted checkout. Oliver, our host for most of the time we were there was really helpful and clearly enjoyed welcoming visitors to his adopted home of Bariloche. If you like small, modern, well located boutique hotels then Hotel View delivers in spades!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

The pluses: the Hotel is neat, clean and orderly. Lobby area and rooms are minimalist in decor but comfortable enough. The beds and pillows were soft. Oliver, the man who greeted us most days was very helpful with restaurant suggestions, making reservations and calling us taxi services. The negatives: it was very warm in the room. The hotel does not have air conditioning. We slept with the window opened only to be kept awake by the barking Rotweillers on the street below all night long. The breakfasts were poor. One glass of juice, coffee, a basket of breads and some fruit and cereal. No meats, cheeses or eggs. No bottled water in the rooms. No plugs for bath tubs. One packet of shampoo and conditioner ( not per person, but meant only for one person). It didn't matter because we brought our own, but the point is the decor was not the only minimalist thing about this hotel. We carried our bags up two flights of stairs which was ok, except the handrails on both stairwells were detached from the outside open area. Overall, it was ok but I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Very beautiful view of the lake. The bedrooms are just like the Booking.com pictures and are nice too.

Breakfeast is Argentina style... No ham or cheese. But is ok.

Localization is so so, but if you're willing to use taxi is no big deal. Near to downtown than the hotels like Design Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

12 bedroomed hotel, all with great views of lake in quiet neighbourhood on hill, but close to lots of good places to eat at and drink at, and only 5 minutes walk downhill to the central town area.
Friendly staff, and Oliver had lots of good recommendations both for activities and eateries.
Continental breakfast with fresh orange juice and lovely croissants, as well as cereal, toast, fresh fruit.
Great place to enjoy our 5 days in Bariloche from, would come back.
We really enjoyed the local Cerveza Manush, great beers and nosh and would thoroughly recommend the walk from Los Cohiues to Playa Munoz with side trip to see the waterfall(return trip 10 miles with some steepish climbs)

Room Tip: All 12 rooms over 2 floors have good lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnslowBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
Hotel Tirol Bariloche
#17 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloche
Hotel Carlos V Patagonia Bariloc...
#23 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
NH Bariloche Edelweiss
#28 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#67 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
Villa Huinid Hotel Pioneros
#21 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cristal
Hotel Cristal
#32 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Boutique Hotel

Property: View Boutique Hotel
Address: Calle Tucuman 221, San Carlos de Bariloche R8400AWA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 131 Hotels in San Carlos de Bariloche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — View Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in hotel design made especially for the comfort of the visitor. Located in the heart of Bariloche, View Hotel offers marvelous panoramic views. As is common with this style of lodging, the hotel combines a sophisticated level of design, ambiance, modern technology, impeccable service and personalized attention, creating an unforgettable experience for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your View Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing