We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Place to Stay”
Review of Hostel El Gaucho

Hostel El Gaucho
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel El Gaucho
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“GREAT Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2011

After staying 2 other places in Bariloche, we finally splurged on a double room with ensuite for 260 peoso/night (Bariloche is NOT cheap). It was well worth the splurge. The room was spacious and quiet. The communal kitchens (there are 2 of them) were well equipped. The wifi worked everywhere. The other guests were friendly and interesting. It's not a party hostel...which was fine by us. Better to go to the party and then come back for peace and quiet. And the owners were super helpful and knowledgeable about everything to do/see/get around. I highly recommend El Gaucho as you really do get what you pay for in Bariloche.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
23
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I went to bariloche by myself and thanks to El Gaucho I was never alone. The place is full of international travelers who you meet in their comunal kitchen.
Their breakfast is very complete and delicious.
The rooms are cozy. I had 2 bunk beds in my room although only one other person was sleeping there. To this date, we're still friends :)
The owners are extremely helpful and will engage in fun conversations.
If I were to go back to Bariloche- scratch that- when I go back, this is where I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We originally booked our stay at Pudo Hostel-- which is a short walk away-- but they somehow "lost" our reservation (despite our email confirmation of the booking). Pudo was nice enough to call around and El Gaucho offered to take us in for the same price.

While pudo had more of a backpacker vibe and a good community area(with bar), we were very pleased with El Gaucho. The best thing about the hostel was the owners-- very friendly people who waxed ecstatic about Bariloche and gave us awesome tips about where to go and what to do.

Bariloche was beautiful and this hostel was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This place is gourgeous. We stayed in the double rooms, which are very comfortable and quite cheap considering its cathegory. The dorms are reasonable, just 4 beds per dorm, which makes it really good and cosy. the owners are very friendly and helpful, giving you advise for things to do. They can book virtually everything you like for you.
Dorms cost 40 pesos, doubles are 130 and have private bathroom.
Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The owner, Huber, is a very nice german guy. The service it´s OK and the price is very low. You can find there people from all around the worl and is in the middle of Bariloche downtown.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dprotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

A clean hostel, run by a slightly mad, but friendly and very helpful couple. There are two communal kitchen and dining areas, that were very clean and well stocked in terms of cooking implements. They also had boxes for people to put food / cooking items they didn't want, that could be used by others, eg - oil.

It is a couple blocks from the centre of town, and therefore quiet. You are given croissants every day for breakfast, much better than most hostel breakfasts.

If you are looking for a good steak place, check out El Boliche de Alberto, just go hungry, or share "a portion".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Albergue El Gaucho lies a couple of streets back from the main shopping street in Bariloche. We tried it out after a few nights elsewhere, looking for something a little more homely, helpful and at a better price.

On arriving to enquire about rooms, owner Uwe met us and within a few minutes, we'd struck up a conversation about our trip and he'd planned out the next few weeks for us! Needless to say, we booked our room there and then and returned the next day to stay for a few days - which quickly turned into a week!

The hostel itself is clean, warm and has all the facilities you'd expect. Breakfast is simple but tasty and there's ample cooking facilities. Uwe and his wife are very helpful at suggesting and booking activities and brilliant guides to the whole of Argentina.

We had an amazing time there, met some great people and I can recommend you try this place out.

  • Liked — the host and his wonderful advice
  • Disliked — No real negatives!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paulb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
3.0 mi away
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
Hopa Home Patagonia Hostel
#8 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
250 reviews
3.1 mi away
The House Hostel, Resto & Bar
The House Hostel, Resto & Bar
#39 of 113 in San Carlos de Bariloche
84 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#21 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
280 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Gaucho

Property: Hostel El Gaucho
Address: Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 252 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing