We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place and great hosts!”
Review of Hostel El Gaucho

Hostel El Gaucho
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel El Gaucho
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I went to bariloche by myself and thanks to El Gaucho I was never alone. The place is full of international travelers who you meet in their comunal kitchen.
Their breakfast is very complete and delicious.
The rooms are cozy. I had 2 bunk beds in my room although only one other person was sleeping there. To this date, we're still friends :)
The owners are extremely helpful and will engage in fun conversations.
If I were to go back to Bariloche- scratch that- when I go back, this is where I'll stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

We originally booked our stay at Pudo Hostel-- which is a short walk away-- but they somehow "lost" our reservation (despite our email confirmation of the booking). Pudo was nice enough to call around and El Gaucho offered to take us in for the same price.

While pudo had more of a backpacker vibe and a good community area(with bar), we were very pleased with El Gaucho. The best thing about the hostel was the owners-- very friendly people who waxed ecstatic about Bariloche and gave us awesome tips about where to go and what to do.

Bariloche was beautiful and this hostel was great.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BearGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

This place is gourgeous. We stayed in the double rooms, which are very comfortable and quite cheap considering its cathegory. The dorms are reasonable, just 4 beds per dorm, which makes it really good and cosy. the owners are very friendly and helpful, giving you advise for things to do. They can book virtually everything you like for you.
Dorms cost 40 pesos, doubles are 130 and have private bathroom.
Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The owner, Huber, is a very nice german guy. The service it´s OK and the price is very low. You can find there people from all around the worl and is in the middle of Bariloche downtown.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
Thank dprotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

A clean hostel, run by a slightly mad, but friendly and very helpful couple. There are two communal kitchen and dining areas, that were very clean and well stocked in terms of cooking implements. They also had boxes for people to put food / cooking items they didn't want, that could be used by others, eg - oil.

It is a couple blocks from the centre of town, and therefore quiet. You are given croissants every day for breakfast, much better than most hostel breakfasts.

If you are looking for a good steak place, check out El Boliche de Alberto, just go hungry, or share "a portion".

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Albergue El Gaucho lies a couple of streets back from the main shopping street in Bariloche. We tried it out after a few nights elsewhere, looking for something a little more homely, helpful and at a better price.

On arriving to enquire about rooms, owner Uwe met us and within a few minutes, we'd struck up a conversation about our trip and he'd planned out the next few weeks for us! Needless to say, we booked our room there and then and returned the next day to stay for a few days - which quickly turned into a week!

The hostel itself is clean, warm and has all the facilities you'd expect. Breakfast is simple but tasty and there's ample cooking facilities. Uwe and his wife are very helpful at suggesting and booking activities and brilliant guides to the whole of Argentina.

We had an amazing time there, met some great people and I can recommend you try this place out.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank paulb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alejandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2 mi away
Marcopolo Inn
Marcopolo Inn
#10 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
283 reviews
10.6 mi away
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf-Spa
Llao Llao Hotel and Resort, Golf...
#7 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
2,280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
Hosteria Del Viejo Molino
#77 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Surena Hosteria
La Surena Hosteria
#115 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
97 reviews
2 mi away
Tangoinn Downtown
Tangoinn Downtown
#105 of 259 in San Carlos de Bariloche
147 reviews
2.1 mi away
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private Spa
Charming Luxury Lodge & Private ...
#2 of 131 in San Carlos de Bariloche
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Gaucho

Address: Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 259 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing