We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent place and great hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel El Gaucho

Hostel El Gaucho
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Carlos de Bariloche
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel El Gaucho
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent place and great hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I went to bariloche by myself and thanks to El Gaucho I was never alone. The place is full of international travelers who you meet in their comunal kitchen.
Their breakfast is very complete and delicious.
The rooms are cozy. I had 2 bunk beds in my room although only one other person was sleeping there. To this date, we're still friends :)
The owners are extremely helpful and will engage in fun conversations.
If I were to go back to Bariloche- scratch that- when I go back, this is where I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
23
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We originally booked our stay at Pudo Hostel-- which is a short walk away-- but they somehow "lost" our reservation (despite our email confirmation of the booking). Pudo was nice enough to call around and El Gaucho offered to take us in for the same price.

While pudo had more of a backpacker vibe and a good community area(with bar), we were very pleased with El Gaucho. The best thing about the hostel was the owners-- very friendly people who waxed ecstatic about Bariloche and gave us awesome tips about where to go and what to do.

Bariloche was beautiful and this hostel was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BearGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

This place is gourgeous. We stayed in the double rooms, which are very comfortable and quite cheap considering its cathegory. The dorms are reasonable, just 4 beds per dorm, which makes it really good and cosy. the owners are very friendly and helpful, giving you advise for things to do. They can book virtually everything you like for you.
Dorms cost 40 pesos, doubles are 130 and have private bathroom.
Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatGoesRoundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

The owner, Huber, is a very nice german guy. The service it´s OK and the price is very low. You can find there people from all around the worl and is in the middle of Bariloche downtown.

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dprotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

A clean hostel, run by a slightly mad, but friendly and very helpful couple. There are two communal kitchen and dining areas, that were very clean and well stocked in terms of cooking implements. They also had boxes for people to put food / cooking items they didn't want, that could be used by others, eg - oil.

It is a couple blocks from the centre of town, and therefore quiet. You are given croissants every day for breakfast, much better than most hostel breakfasts.

If you are looking for a good steak place, check out El Boliche de Alberto, just go hungry, or share "a portion".

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

Albergue El Gaucho lies a couple of streets back from the main shopping street in Bariloche. We tried it out after a few nights elsewhere, looking for something a little more homely, helpful and at a better price.

On arriving to enquire about rooms, owner Uwe met us and within a few minutes, we'd struck up a conversation about our trip and he'd planned out the next few weeks for us! Needless to say, we booked our room there and then and returned the next day to stay for a few days - which quickly turned into a week!

The hostel itself is clean, warm and has all the facilities you'd expect. Breakfast is simple but tasty and there's ample cooking facilities. Uwe and his wife are very helpful at suggesting and booking activities and brilliant guides to the whole of Argentina.

We had an amazing time there, met some great people and I can recommend you try this place out.

  • Liked — the host and his wonderful advice
  • Disliked — No real negatives!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank paulb123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
2.3 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#17 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
#38 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hostel Los Troncos
Hostel Los Troncos
#18 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostel Achalay
Hostel Achalay
#12 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bariloche Hostel
Bariloche Hostel
#21 of 246 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Gaucho

Property: Hostel El Gaucho
Address: Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 246 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing