We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel El Gaucho

Hostel El Gaucho
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel El Gaucho
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The main thing that stays in my mind from staying at this hostel is how helpful the owners were. They gave us so much great advise about sight seeing, buses, walking, cycling etc etc. Also the showers were AMAZING, which makes such a difference when you're travelling. The breakfast was really good as well and the hostel was warm and clean. Really recommend staying here if you want to explore beautiful Bariloche.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie_lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
3
23
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My family and I had a great stay at El Gaucho. Tito and his family were so helpful and kind. We stayed in room 9 which was a private room for 4 people. It had a nice view and was very comfortable. It's location is great. Far enough away from the main street to be quite at night but very close to restaurants, grocery store, Club Andino Bariloche, and the lake. It is definitely not a party hostel but perfect for recovering from difficult trekking adventures.

Room Tip: Room 9 is great! 4 person private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

This family run hostel is ace! We stayed in a double room (with en-suite) which was clean, light, spacious and quiet. The bed (and pillows!) were great, very comfortable, and as it is a short walk from the centre of the city (less than ten minutes) it is quiet but without being too far from the action. Titto (the gent who runs the place) is v.friendly and helpful, he helped us with booking a car and a couple of trips. The kitchens are good, and Titto cooked an awsome BBQ for the guests when we stayed. I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was a very cozy hostel. The people were friendy, the rooms were decent anf the price was fair. Also, very close to 'down town' area and the bus stop to take you skiing/snow boarding is RIGHT outside of the house. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xprettyxeyesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

After staying 2 other places in Bariloche, we finally splurged on a double room with ensuite for 260 peoso/night (Bariloche is NOT cheap). It was well worth the splurge. The room was spacious and quiet. The communal kitchens (there are 2 of them) were well equipped. The wifi worked everywhere. The other guests were friendly and interesting. It's not a party hostel...which was fine by us. Better to go to the party and then come back for peace and quiet. And the owners were super helpful and knowledgeable about everything to do/see/get around. I highly recommend El Gaucho as you really do get what you pay for in Bariloche.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quesofundido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

I went to bariloche by myself and thanks to El Gaucho I was never alone. The place is full of international travelers who you meet in their comunal kitchen.
Their breakfast is very complete and delicious.
The rooms are cozy. I had 2 bunk beds in my room although only one other person was sleeping there. To this date, we're still friends :)
The owners are extremely helpful and will engage in fun conversations.
If I were to go back to Bariloche- scratch that- when I go back, this is where I'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiuska15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We originally booked our stay at Pudo Hostel-- which is a short walk away-- but they somehow "lost" our reservation (despite our email confirmation of the booking). Pudo was nice enough to call around and El Gaucho offered to take us in for the same price.

While pudo had more of a backpacker vibe and a good community area(with bar), we were very pleased with El Gaucho. The best thing about the hostel was the owners-- very friendly people who waxed ecstatic about Bariloche and gave us awesome tips about where to go and what to do.

Bariloche was beautiful and this hostel was great.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Carlos de Bariloche hotels
0.8 mi away
Green House Hostel Bariloche
Green House Hostel Bariloche
#21 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Penthouse 1004
Penthouse 1004
#1 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
2.4 mi away
Periko's Youth Hostel
Periko's Youth Hostel
#3 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hostel Los Troncos
Hostel Los Troncos
#17 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hostel Inn Bariloche
Hostel Inn Bariloche
#19 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
Moving Hostel Travel Bar
#50 of 252 in San Carlos de Bariloche
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel El Gaucho

Property: Hostel El Gaucho
Address: Belgrano 209, San Carlos de Bariloche 8400, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Rio Negro > San Carlos de Bariloche
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 252 Specialty Lodging in San Carlos de Bariloche
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing