We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable family hotel”
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Establo
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Establo (the stable) is a small, family operated hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, there is a nice little garden perfect for reading or conversation. The town center, with lots of restaurants and shops, is only a block or so away. The breakfast was fine. Very comfortable little hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

As we drove the Lakes District of Argentina, we weren't sure where we would end up stopping for a day or two and ended up in Villa La Angostura without a reservation. We stopped by the Info Center for some suggestions and El Establo was on their list. Thankfully they had a room and we ended up staying two evenings at the hotel. The entry into the house and then the front sitting room is calming and reminded me of bed and breakfasts of Ireland. I loved all of the little touches, including special keychains and rooms with local pioneer names.

We did have issues with our heat the first night. The area wasn't nearly as cold as it normally would be and our heat kept pumping out warmth like it was freezing outside. I didn't sleep well because of this the first night but staff was more than happy to turn it down for the following day. The morning staff member is incredibly pleasant and helpful. We found the afternoon staff to be a bit more difficult to ask questions and get answers, but it may have been due to language barriers.

The location is one of the best parts of the hotel as it's just two or three blocks from the main downtown area and the views of surrounding mountains are great. I found the breakfast to be a bit disappointing as the breads/pastries didn't seem as fresh as at other places.

I definitely recommend El Establo when visiting Villa La Angostura. It's a great place to stay in this little gem in the Lakes District!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelrenee_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This small hotel is close to town with clean, comfortable rooms and a very welcoming feeling. There is a large common area with a great fireplace and views out on to the garden. A wonderful spot to relax and enjoy a book or some quiet conversation. Wifi is available and the staff is very accomodating. Very good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room on the second floor so you can open a window and catch a breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My sister and I arrived in Villa la Angostura and did not know where to stay. But we discovered this nice small B&B and right away felt at home. Very clean, pleasant host, nice cosy ambiance, near the centre.... I really can recommend this to everyone!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjoleinC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for only one night in October and would have loved to have stayed longer - despite the effect of the recent volcanic eruption in Chile. The town has been devastated but is fighting back and needs visitors - go and see firsthand what has happened as we had no idea what damage had occurred in this beautiful area. El Establo is extremely well run, very comfortable and in a good position. The room was large, clean and had a really comfortable bed with excellent linen. Nothing was too much trouble and the breakfast ample and delicious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

This hotel combines all the comfort anyone needs with beauty and peace. We loved it. Lots of wood, well chosen furniture, good taste, all set in a refreshing green garden. Great location three blocks from the main drag. Delicious breakfast. The price is excellent considering the quality you receive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Hard to find anything negative about this place. Cosy rooms, very friendly staff, good beds, clean bathrooms, good breakfast. At least off-season it was excellent value.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Villa La Angostura hotels
3 mi away
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
Hosteria Encanto del Rio
#6 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
288 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
#4 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
501 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Roca de la Patagonia
La Roca de la Patagonia
#27 of 47 in Villa La Angostura
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hosteria Pichi Rincon
Hosteria Pichi Rincon
#9 of 32 in Villa La Angostura
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Traunco Hosteria
Traunco Hosteria
#8 of 77 in Villa La Angostura
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Address: Calle Los Maquis 56, Villa La Angostura Q8407BUB, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Villa La Angostura
Price Range: $130 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Establo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The High-comfort amenities and personalized service during all four seasons, make a space where the warmth and good taste are combined in every detail, ensuring that you will enjoy your business trip or family vacation and friends, as if you are at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing