We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good experience, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Correntoso Lake & River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good experience, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I chose this hotel because of its great location. Views are stunning, and the common areas are peaceful and very well attended.

The overall of the experience was pretty good, but there are a few things they should improve in my opinion. First of all, compared to the european standard, the featuring of the rooms is a bit too low. A refurbishment would give it a big plus. However, the size of the room was more than enough, and the isolation (climate and sound) worked perfectly.

Although service was efficient, I missed a bit of friendliness. In premium leisure hotels, I expected a little bit more, it definitely would add some value per money to this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhyNotATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    56
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
127
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Correntoso and enjoyed our stay very much. Hotel is very cosy with nice location at the lake. We stayed every night at the hotel for dinner as we found the quality of food and wine very good.
We especially reommend the boattrip from the hotel with Max to the Los Arrayanes National Park where whe walked for 12 kms and had the luck to see the Magellanic Woodpecker twice. This symbol of Patagonia stays for ever in our memories. Thanks Max fot the nice picnic afterwards !
The trip was worth every penny! Thanks to Augustin (?) for recommending us this trip.

Room Tip: Some rooms offers better views on the lake because of one big window instead of two smaller ones. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KREEFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Correntoso_Lake, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Correntoso Lake & River Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear KREEFT,

Thank you very much for the review. We are happy that your stay was pleasant.
We hope to have you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is a very nice hotel in a beautiful setting on the lake. Great views, but be aware that it is ~ 2 miles from the town and any other restaurants or services. The staff is friendly but not as fluent in English as other places we visited in Argentina and Chile. We were with a group and were stuck with a ground floor room - it faced the water, but we had to keep the drapes closed most of the time because people in the dining area could see into the room.

The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and comfortable - the best showers we've seen in South America. We did have a problem with temperature control - they use radiators, with no thermostats. Despite turning everything off, we could not quite get the room cool enough (during cool weather) to sleep comfortably - and due to the ground floor location we could not prop a door or window open to let air in.

We were here in November - just before the summer season - and the hotel was yet to be running smoothly, especially in the restaurant. The service staff there seemed poorly trained, and dinner there was excessively slow. We also had a group meal in the "boathouse" down the hill - interestingly, that one was very efficient and tasty.

I can't comment on value, as this was part of a group tour.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdrobac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
177 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Correntoso Lake & River Hotel is a "Small leading hotel of the World". It's an historical hotel, with a century history. Very nice, very cozy, you are just over the lake. You have a panorama that you will not forget.
This hotel has an unbelievable swimming pool, one part inside the building and one part outside, just over the wonderful lake!
All the staff was very cool. The hotel is outside the town, but the excellent restaurant permit you to don't need to go to Villa La Angostura.
It's not a cheap hotel, but if you can afford it, do it, you will be not disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Nice location, nice attention to details, lunch OK, dinner not good. Lovely bar, lobby and restaurant areas. Good massage at Spa. But it is quite overpriced. We had booked a one week stay approx. 8 months in advance and didn't take the reports about vulcanic ash seriously. We arrived in a thick fog of ASH and were the only guests in the hotel. Everything in the area incl. forests were covered with grey ash. The situation improved a lot after two days of rain but as we were leaving it was snowing ash again. The hotel itself is lovely with very friendly stuff but I found it overpriced. As the only guests we got an "ugprade" to a suite room with panorama views of the lake even from the bed. Otherwise the price/value ratio would have been even worse. Didn't visit the alternative hotels in the neighbourhood but I am sure I wouldn`t book the hotel again if I returned one day to Villa la Angostura again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joys_R_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the view, simply breathtaking! When I got my room the view was not what I expected from the site because there was a large roof under my window, but they changed it and even gave us a small upgrade. The Spa and pool is lovely. My husband loved it bacause he could do some fly fishing. Great Place to relax, have some good food and dinner. Dont forget to try their delicious doce de leite icecream!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farodivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This lodge is super cozy, with what has to be one of the best locations in Villa La Angostura. It is right where the Correntoso River meets the lake, and you can watch fisherman catching big trout right from your window! The rooms are warm, with comfortable beds. The lodge is heavily wooden, and decorated with lots of Mapuche-type textiles. The common areas are large, with a great lounge that has an impressive collection of books on Patagonia. While it seems to be a lodge more for couples or high-end fly fisherman, there is a big kids room downstairs complete with foosball, ping pong, movies, and toddler toys, so if you are planning to come with litte kids you are all set. The spa is where I spent most of my time. There is a great steam room made of adobe, a sauna, and an indoor-outdoor pool with great views (although the outside part was closed while I was there due to the ash). Speaking of the ash...don't let the volcano aftermath deter you from visiting Villa La Angostura. Its still breathtakingly beautiful, and almost even better than before because news stories have scared a lot of the tourism business away, making it so that you have to share this stunning place with far fewer people.
The breakfast offered inpressed me - I happen to like granola, and the amount and quality of things that I could add to my granola were enough to make me laugh. Bowls of all sorts of seeds, dried fruits - for me it was heavenly, especially when accompanied by a properly made coffee and enjoyed out of the patio overlooking the lake.
All in all this hotel has a good reputation which I felt that it lived up to. : )

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villa La Angostura
0.8 mi away
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
Sol Arrayan Hotel & Spa
#3 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa
Don El Faro Boutique Hotel & Spa
#1 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
6.0 mi away
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes & Spa
La Escondida Casa de Huespedes &...
#8 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Las Balsas
Las Balsas
#5 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.0 mi away
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
La Posada Hosteria & Spa
#2 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luma Casa de Montana
Luma Casa de Montana
#10 of 48 in Villa La Angostura
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Correntoso Lake & River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Correntoso Lake & River Hotel

Property: Correntoso Lake & River Hotel
Address: Ruta de Los 7 Lagos y Rio Correntoso, Villa La Angostura 8407, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Villa La Angostura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#2 Family Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Villa La Angostura
#8 Romantic Hotel in Villa La Angostura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Correntoso Lake & River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Correntoso Lake & River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Correntoso Lake And River Hotel
Correntoso Lake & River Hotel Argentina/Villa La Angostura, Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing