We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value, very good location, okay breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Portal de Suenos
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Neuquen
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed one night at Portal de Sueños enroute to San Martin de los Andes. The bed in the 6-bed dorm was excellent and Juan at the front desk was helpful getting me squared away. But there were no lockers in the room, so security could be an issue on a longer stay.

I was grateful that Portal de Sueños had frozen food, beer/wine available for sale since I arrived after 10:30 p.m. following a 12+ hour bus ride and there were no restaurants/markets nearby that were open.

The Portal de Sueños breakfast earned 4.0 points on my 10-point scale for ‘healthy/nutritious breakfasts’, with its oranges for juice squeezing and fresh-brewed coffee and tea choices. (Some more whole grain bread/roll/cereal alternatives and more fruit -- bananas, mandarin oranges, apples -- would improve Portal Sueños’s breakfast.)

The hostel location is within walking distance to Neuquén’s bus terminal. But Portal de Sueños needs to improve its walking instructions to its hostel to say that once you exit the bus terminal, the main street in front of the terminal is 'Teniente Solalique St', and you go to the RIGHT to reach Pilar St. Unfortunately, the instructions were vague, there were no street signs identifying 'Teniente Solalique St', and no one on the street after 10:30 p.m. to ask instructions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 41 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose to book here having seen it on hostelworld and based on the fact it said it had a swimming pool. When we arrived we found the pool was empty except for cigarette butts. Our room was ok, clean enough and big enough. The kitchen wasn't very clean - the surfaces were fine but the cupboards holding the utensils were filthy. The location is excellent for the bus station which is probably the most important facility in Neuquen. The staff in the hostel were very friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

i stayed for two nights..my staying was pleasant! the hostel is five minutes away from the bus station-the best if interested to visit some 'dinosaur places', since the city itself doesn't have that much to do...the room was a little bit warm (january) but with a fan it was cooler..the matress was brand new(i really appreciated that!)..the staff was really helpful and nice! wifi and breakfast free! kitchen was always clean and ready to be used! the swimming pool-that i read in the guide- wasn't that real(small and half-drained)...undoubtedly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisdombeginsinwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a great location if you want to be close to the bus station. We ended up in a room with 2 sets of bunkbeds so can't really compare to other places we've stayed (normally have a double or twin beds), but the room and bathroom were fine and we didn't have to share the bathroom with many others.
The staff were really helpful and looked into different tour options for us. The kitchen was probably the best thing though, it was really big and well equipped and kept clean.
The review in Get South mentioned a patio and swimming pool, but when we stayed (Feb) the pool was drained and there was just a little patch of grass, so not much to get excited about.
The only problem we had was when checking out. We had mentioned a Get South discount when we checked in, but there were so many different staff on reception that they didn't pass the info on and we had to have quite a discussion to get our discount and ensure that they didn't take our deposit twice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you're coming to Neuquen to visit the dinosaurs, this is an inspired location, just five minutes from the bus station. And while it isn't close to the town centre, there are buses just a block away. Great kitchen, wifi, even a tiny swimming pool for the summer. Best of all, the owners and staff are all very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We were there just one night. It is conveniently located near the bus terminal, but not so close to attractions, restaurants, etc. They treated us well, and we were comfortable except that the room was very warm. They didn't have space and arranged another hostel for us the second night. The breakfast was the standard light breakfast for Argentina.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank st130811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Tuliopb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neuquen
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Prado
Hotel El Prado
#13 of 21 in Neuquen
93 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel El Cortijo
Hotel El Cortijo
#19 of 21 in Neuquen
36 reviews
59.4 mi away
Antu Malal
Antu Malal
#5 of 21 in Neuquen
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Land Express Hotel
Land Express Hotel
#3 of 21 in Neuquen
359 reviews
6.7 mi away
Costa Limay Hotel
Costa Limay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plottier
104 reviews
1.8 mi away
De Paso Hostel
De Paso Hostel
#5 of 36 in Neuquen
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Portal de Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Portal de Suenos

Address: Calle Pilar 3257, Neuquen Q8304FEC, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Neuquen > Neuquen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Neuquen
Price Range: $43 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Portal de Sueños, has been created to give the best quiality for our guests, this is a hostel made from families to families, who are looking for a confortable and clean site to sleep for one night or more. We give all the tourist information to have a really good time. We are constantly looking for things to improve, from atention to comodities, so we invite you to stay here and enjoy Neuquen city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Portal de Suenos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing