We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephant Seals!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punta Delgada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia Rincon Chico
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Punta Delgada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We decided to stop here for 2 nights on our visit through coastal Patagonia. And yes to what everyone else said - the graciousness of our hosts Agustin & Maria, the serenity of the ranch, and the unique access to elephant seals made our long drive through the rainy night completely worth it. When we arrived late in the evening at 11, Agustin was there to greet us and feed us our 3 course meal.

The next full day we took a trip out to see the elephant seals with Agustin. As a former student of marine biology he patiently answered my barrage of curious questions, sharing his deep love for the unique ecosystem. Although our stay was short, we were able to take a morning walk out to the sand dunes on the property before leaving.

If you are looking for a luxurious "hotel" by city standards, this is not that place. This is a comfortable working estancia with personal touches. yes, the drive is long, and its proximity to other areas is not necessarily convenient. But, the remote location gives visitors access to the elephant seals and an experience which are not possible in other places.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dailln4n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 110 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Had the privilege of staying at Rincon Chico for 2 nights as part of a whirlwind tour of Argentina to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. The highlight of the entire trip was Rincon Chico. Spending time with the elephant seals on the beach was surreal. They are truly majestic and haunting creatures from the depths of the ocean. We just couldn't get enough of them...and with over 10 miles of coastline as part of the estancia, we had ample opportunity. What an experience to ride bikes for hours, just the two of us, to the cliffs above the seals. Agustin and Maria made our time there a homey and welcomed retreat from the impersonal hotels we stayed at during the rest of our trip. Maria is an amazing chef. Meals were spectacular and Agustin is absolutely hilarious. What stories he has! Fifth generation estancia owners in the area...so humbling to see their commitment to continue the tradition and share it with visitors from afar like us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Augostin and Maria were great. Agostin gives great advise, I am so grateful I listened to him. He told us to take a whalewatching tour in Puerto Pirimades on the way to him, drive up to San Lorenzo to see the penguins and to do my souvenir shopping in puerto pirimades, which was the most reasonible place--cheaper then Buenos Aires, El Calafate or duty free.. Now the Estancia is lovely. and remote. We loved walking on the cliffs overlooking and on the beach with the elephant seals. the ocean views are amazing and you can take walks on the prop[erty, too. They were able to accomodate our dietary requirement, also.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shulamit657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thanks to Malena & Augustin, we spent a great stay with our kids in Rincon Chico. Nature is surrounding all around. Childrens remained under the spell of domesticated animals (sheep and cats) and numerous marine mammals that can be approached along the 15km of Estancia's beaches. Grandiose!

Room Tip: A nice spot to learn a lot about wildlife with a lot of information provided by Augustin who guided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Leaving Rincon Chico was really difficult. Having spent long days watching elephant seals, orcas, sea lions and birds on the grounds of this amazing estancia, reentering the outside world wasn't high on our list. We loved staying here, sharing the true joy and appreciation of the place and its wildlife with our hosts Augustino and Maria.
One truly remarkable experience was sitting on the beach very close to the massive elephant seals - not least when two massive bulls started roaring and fighting. What a spectacle!
We're already planning our next visit - this is worth traveling a long way for!
:-) Anne Mette & Martin

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annemettemennecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Get up close to nature at this Estancia.

The passion of Augustino and Maria is infectious. We took my parents and they would have loved to spend longer. getting up close with the wildlife is out of this world.
Food was good and plentiful, house was warm and comfortable, just a little expensive.
we will no doubt be back when we have saved again!
highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelmontGuestH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed in November 2011

Food is ok but not gourmet however this is not a place for eating but watching elephant seals on the private beach with no other people than the Estancias guests.
We know of no other place where you can be a meter away from the elephant seals!!
Augustino and his wife Maria runs the Estancia with their 5,000 sheep and some horses in an excellent way and you are really felt welcome
The Estancia has only 8 rooms so the maximum people that can be there is 16
Augustino is extremely knowledgeable about all animals and plants and will stop at nothing to help you see everything
We stayed 4 nights and almost 5 days and were busy all the time.
You can make excursions to Piramides for whale watching, Punta Norte for elephant seals, have excellent lunch at San Lorenzo and be guided among the pingvins or have lunch at Punta Elgado and then look at seals again but again not as close as at Rincon Chico!!
Electricity is only between 1900 and 2345 about and the
same time WiFi is available via satellit at no cost
This is the place to stay at on the Peninsula Valdes!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estancia Rincon Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Rincon Chico

Address: Peninsula Valdes | Patagonia Argentina, Punta Delgada 9120, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Punta Delgada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Punta Delgada
Hotel Class:4 star — Estancia Rincon Chico 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rincon Chico Ranch is an exclusive property located in the southeast corner of the Valdes Peninsula on the Patagonian Sea coast, one of the richest marine areas on Earth harboring populations of right whales, elephant seals, sea lions, orcas, penguins, and numerous species of birds and fish. For this reason the site was declared "World Heritage Site" by UNESCO in 1999. The owners are the fifth generation of settlers that inhabited the Peninsula over 120 years ago, and continuing with pride the tradition of their ancestors to breed extra fine Australian Merino sheep for wool production since 1897. In 1996 they incorporated into the activities with a prestigious group of scientists the study and conservation of wildlife, and since 2001 opened the doors to share with guests from all around the world the experience of living in this unique place surrounded by nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estancia Rincon Chico Hotel Puerto Madryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing