We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facility. Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great facility. Great service.”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I would highly recommend Eco Hosteria to anyone travelling to Puerto Piramides Two friends and I stayed here in November of 2011. The rooms are simple but comfortable with some creative decorative elements (e.g., small slabs of slate for soap dishes). Towels were nice and fluffy. The hosteria provides a tasty cold breakfast with yogurt and baked goods, both made in house. While we stayed there guest services were provided by two young women, Lala and Marina. They were terrific. We asked Marina to chill a bottle of Argentinian for us, which she obligingly did. When it came time to drink the wine, Lala gave us a cork screw, wine glasses, and even a dish of tasty little crackers that went well with the wine. Marina expedited whale watching tour reservations for us. They gave credible recommendations on local restaurants. And both Lala and Marina helped us juggle car rental arrangements when our flights to and from Puerto Madryn were cancelled due to volcanic ash and we had to take the bus. They managed getting the car brought to us at the bus station in Puerto Madrn and picked up at the bus station in Trelew--late, on a Sunday when the car rental agency's office was closed and we could not reach the car rental agency by phone. I don't know what we would have done without Lala's help when we were trying to catch the bus in Trelew.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HgihRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    56
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
55
123
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very disappointed for so many reasons...
1. When we arrived the girl at the desk acted like she spoke ZERO english because our room wasn't ready, when we came back 2 hours later our room was ready and her english was perfect. Weird!!! and RUDE!!!
2. The room is basic and would have been nice if I was paying Hostel prices not $160 USD per night.
3. The breakfast is so incredibly poor for $160/night. It was just toast, coffee, corn flakes, and sweets. The fruit was just apples, black bananas, and peaches. It was extremely disappointing.
4. The internet did not work in our room... which would have been fine... but the WiFi doesn't work in the lobby either because the girls who work there spend all day on Facebook (which was clearly always on their screen when I walked by... you would have thought they were really working...) making it really slow.
5. What set me off completely was the answer one of the girls had to a woman who wanted her to make a phone call the following morning for a cab... the receptionist said "i cannot help you tomorrow morning because at 8am we are really busy" WRONG answer! You are in the hotel service industry so give some service... what, do you need to respond to some facebook posts... because at 8am there was no one around!
6. The hot water runs out... there was none left after our neighbors took showers and at one point there was no water at all.
7. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone's conversations with one another and with their toilets... gross!
8. Eco, really? Because last time I checked Panteen ProV (which is what they offer for shampoo) was one of the most non-organic or eco friendly products on the market...
9. Does the toilet water drain straight outside? because at 2pm everyday we were there the smell of sewer was so strong we had to close our one and only window... disgusting!
10. Fan anyone? There was no airflow in our room either...

For $160USD/night this was a complete waste of money... and not even on the beach! So disappointed! The only reason I gave it two stars instead of one is because the bed was comfortable and it was clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrvlTrth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Stayed at del Nomade at beginning of November & definitely chose the right place in this charming resort of Puerto Piramides. As previous guests have said, I can only repeat that the people at this hotel especially Laura, Marina & Lala were so helpful and friendly and provided a really warm welcome. The hotel is nicely situated and so near everything but then this a is a very small place anyway. As there are just 8 rooms at del Nomade it's very sociable and it was nice to chat and swap stories with other guests over breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and facilities good.
Nearby you have so many options to experience the wonderful marine life without needing to travel too far. In the evening there are some excellent restaurants to sample especially La Estacion, only a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel. All in all, Peninsula Valdes was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Argentina.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Really nice place, staff is extremely friendly and willing to help. The hotel decoration is awesome, modern with a touch of environmental friendly. I love the fact they are conscious about the environment.
If you visit Puerto Piramides you must stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bairesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUATEMALA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Lala an Laura are simply the best hostesses by far. My husband and I went in for a night and decided to stay two more days on the recommendation of this lovely ladies. The anticipated our needs, were always ready to go farther than the call of duty. Argentina is full of lovely places but when you are treated with impeccable care, your traveling experience is enhanced. Not only were they helpful in assisting to the tours we wanted, they made our reservations and were so wonderful. They even make the breakfast food, fresh yougurt and assorted breads. Love an tender care. Don't think about it twice, an experience in this hidden paradise will be the best! Gracias por todo LALA y LAURA. Fernando from Argentina and Michelle from Guatemala.

Room Tip: They are all great rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THE WONDERING B... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The girls who run this place, it's eco-credentials, and location make it. Laura was cheerful and happily greeted us. She was very helpful in organising a whale watching tour for the following day and giving us advice about where to drive/walk to see the wildlife. Our room was nice and clean, though basic for the price.
I wouldn't necessarily go with their recommendations for where to eat though. We were sent down to the Fawlty Towers style Las Restingas with a discount voucher where several customers were close to walking out, and the owner was too preoccupied with playing "hilarious" host, waiter, and cook than making things run smoothly

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

del Nomade, located in Puerto Piramide, is a great location from which to view the whales, penguins and Patagonian wildlife (and orcas if you are lucky) - plus much more - on Peninsula Valdes.
The booking was easily organised by email - with helpful information and advice, as required, provided before arrival. We stayed three nights.
The room was modern, clean and functional. It was on the ground floor, so no sea view, but we were not in much during daylight hours! Wifi was free and worked well in the room. Good shower and bathroom facilities (with an understandable request to be careful with water usage), comfortable bed. Great breakfast, with many "home" prepared breads, cakes, yoghurts etc. Very helpul and friendly staff - happy to help organise trips or provide advice. Car parking outside the premises. The english speaking staff made a genuine effort to help us enjoy our stay.
The accommodation was pricey. But this is an unique location - where you can see whales from the shore (a short distance from the premises), and which makes trips around the Peninsula Valdes (eg Punta Norte for elehant seals, south of Caleta Valdes for penguins up close, sea lions and elephant seals plus lunch at Ea La Elvira) an alternative option than from Puerto Madryn. There is much other Patagonian wildlife to watch for on the Valdes landscape - and we were also fortunate to see orca's on two occasions (a pod of 9 and a pod of 3) during our November stay. An obvious highlight is a boat trip from Piramide, with advice from Nomade on best timing, to see the Southern Right Whales and that is a truely spectacular experience.
This is not a big "village" to stay at - a max of 350 local people - so local facilities are going to be limited. But there are places to eat out (which are priced reasonable and are good).
We also stayed in Puerto Madryn prior to Piramide, for four nights. We took an excellent english speaking full day tour of Peninsula Valdes with Ryan Travel to get a better and clearer understanding of what what was "on offer" and that certainly helped. Ryan Travel also were very helpful and efficient in organising the transfers to and from Trelew airport late at night.

Room Tip: Our room on the gound floor was fine - but other rooms may be better, who knows. we were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Piramides hotels
0.2 mi away
Oceano Patagonia: Wild Coast Residence
Oceano Patagonia: Wild Coast Res...
#1 of 14 in Puerto Piramides
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa de La Tia Alicia
La Casa de La Tia Alicia
#2 of 11 in Puerto Piramides
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
Motel ACA Puerto Piramides
#1 of 4 in Puerto Piramides
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hospedaje La Posta
Hospedaje La Posta
#4 of 14 in Puerto Piramides
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Caracoles
Posada Caracoles
#3 of 14 in Puerto Piramides
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Floridita Puerto Piramides
La Floridita Puerto Piramides
#5 of 14 in Puerto Piramides
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica

Property: del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica
Address: Av. de las Ballenas s/n, Puerto Piramides U9121XAQ, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Piramides
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Piramides
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
del Nomade has 8 double capacity rooms, 4 on the ground floor with a small private terrace. There is a breakfast and community space on each floor. In a conscious effort to minimize environmental impact we use solar energy and water recycling technologies. Solar panels assist in the hotel’s heating system and for hot water. Eco Lodge concept. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Nomade Hosteria Ecologica Puerto Piramides, Argentina - Patagonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing