We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old place but helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Retorno Travellers' Hostel
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old place but helpful staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The place is a bit worn. The rooms are somewhat cramped. We were not 100% satisfied about our stay. However, the owner is very friendly and helpful. Note: They were a bit pushy about selling us a tour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltoknowtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    28
    11
    7
See reviews for
13
68
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We only stayed one night in Puerto Madryn as such we emailed in advance of our booking to see if Glady’s could help us book a tour for the following day to see the killer whales, southern right whales and penguins. Glady’s was extremely helpful booking the tour (which had an English speaking guide) and in advising us on the buses departing to Bariloche the next day. We stayed in the private double room which was clean and warm. There are a couple of bathrooms, which can make it tricky in the morning when everybody is needing to use them before the tour so get up in plenty of time if you want to shower. Breakfast is a little limited, bread rolls and tea or coffee. Puerto Madryn is a good base to explore the peninsula although I would say you only really need to stay a couple of days.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Nederland
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We had been refered to this hostel after our initial pick was full. In hindsight we were very happy about this. El retorno is a nice clean hostel, but the biggest plus are the wonderful owners. Owner Gladys is a very warm hostess, providing us with good information and some nice conversations. The tours we arranged here were all good fun. Small groups and proper English speaking guides made our experience in Puerto Madryn great.

We ended up staying four nights instead of the planned two nights, partly because we found this little gem of a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in October 2011, in a double room with small private bath. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We booked a day-long excursion that included whale-watching and a tour of Peninsula Valdez, and another tour involving dolphins near Trelew and penguins in Punta Tombo, through the hostel and they were pricy but both high-quality. Trust Gladys' suggestions!

The entire hostel is very very clean, well-kept, and airy. The breakfast was a bit bland (by this point, we were getting pretty sick of Tang, white buns and peach jam), but they did offer us a choice of coffee or hot chocolate, which was nice. The location was perfect for our needs. A couple of downsides: our room overlooked the street and was a bit noisy, and the shower was about 2 feet wide. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed in El Retorno for 2 nights in Oct 2011, and found it to be a very pleasant place with very helpful owners. Gladys and Mathais welcomed us from the very first moment and made us feel at home. We had a matrimonial room with shared bathroom - the room itself was great, and the bathrooms although quite small, were perfectly adequate (only 1 bathroom each for men and women, so may be a small wait, but to be honest we didn't really have this problem). The communal kitchen is clean, and there is plenty of room to eat.

Gladys also helped us arrange tours to the Valdes Peninsula to go whale watching and see elephant seals and penguins - a great tour with small group and very knowledgeable bi-lingual guide (Spanish & English).

Breakfast is warm bread, butter & jam, juice and good coffee - simple, but good and all that is needed really. You also get served by the owners - a nice touch.

WiFi quite fast, but only available downstairs in the common room. To be honest, this is the only negative we had with the place, but the hospitality of the owners and the quality of the service more than made up for this - they even remembered my birthday !!!

Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed two nights in this lovely place. Owners, Gladys and Mathias are very nice and closed to the needs of their guest. They were very helpful with us and thanks to them, we have enjoyed many activities. their hostel is cosy and secured

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietiutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

We stayed here a few nights. The best thing about the hostel was probably the location, it’s only a few minutes walk from the beach.

The hotel is quite tired and worn, the sheets thin and towels small and old. We had a room with a private bathroom, but the bathroom was separate from the room, we knew this in advance of booking, but it was quite inconvenient none the less. Our room had a window opening to the courtyard so it lacked privacy and we could hear peoples’ conversation from the dining area. The owners have plans to refurbish the place so it may be different in the future.

The owners were very friendly and helped us organise our tours to the Peninsula and to see the Penguins. The Penguin tour is well worth it during February, but skip the Peninsula tour unless it’s the whale season.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mandarinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Madryn hotels
0.2 mi away
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
Dazzler Puerto Madryn
#2 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Madryn
Hotel Gran Madryn
#12 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Tulipanes
Los Tulipanes
#4 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
Hotel Peninsula Valdes
#6 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piren
Hotel Piren
#1 of 23 in Puerto Madryn
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Patagonia
Hi Patagonia
#5 of 62 in Puerto Madryn
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Retorno Travellers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Retorno Travellers' Hostel

Property: El Retorno Travellers' Hostel
Address: Calle B Mitre 798 | Mitre 798, Puerto Madryn U9120AOP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Chubut > Puerto Madryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Madryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you´re looking for a cosy place to chill out after travelling around for such a long time, Hostel El Retorno offers you the peace and quiet that you would expect from your own home.Free pick up from bus station! Please!! Send´s your arrival time and bus company name.From 12am the hostel has a calm and relaxed atmosphere,so you can finally enjoy a good night´s sleep!!!Gladys and Matías will look after you and help you on your way to having a fantastic time here in Patagonia.Friendly and family atmosphere!! Located downtown, 2 blocks from the seashore and also close to restaurants, shops etc.Private or shared accomodation in large brigth rooms:- Private rooms with a choice from 2 to 6 beds and doubles ensuite, with tv cable, wi fi,heater,ceiling fan, lockers. Linen blankets and towels are included in the price.Room is serviced every day. Constant hot water available.-Shared rooms with 4/6/8 beds with individual lockers, heater, wi fi, 24 hs hot water.Linen and blankets are included in the price.Room services every day.Three large common area:-Fully-equipped kitchen with dining room and patio.-Bright and spacious living room with a nice balcony.-Comfortable dining room with tv cable, internet and wi fi. Excursions to península Valdés and Punta Tombo at discount prices!!!! If you want to know the rates please contact us in advance.Pick up from Trelew airport $arg 35.00. Send us your arrival time and flight number 24hrs access to the hostel..If you need apartments in front of the sea for rent( 2 bedrooms, bathroom- kitchen- big living room with tv cable-garage) contact us, we´ll be able to inform you.We look forward to meeting you soon!!! Regards ! Gladys and Matias. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your El Retorno Travellers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing